1/18 Johnny PMPS 312 ~ +2 (135) +3 (89) +4 (70) a.m. shot?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Janice & Johnny

Member Since 2010
This morning's #s:

AMPS 101
+1.5 - 56
+2 - 36
+2.25 - 44
+2.5 - 48
+2.75 - 44 (just a few minutes ago)

Brian needs to leave soon for classes (in fact, he should have already left, but he's a good kitty daddy). I'm at work. Should we just leave out some HC and make sure Johnny eats some before Brian leaves? Is this leftover from the 0.25u "fat" last night or is he rejecting 0.25 too?


Yesterday:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=34632
 
Re: 1/18 Johnny Cat AMPS 101 +1.5 (56) +2 (36) ** Need advic

Brian needs to leave home in about 15 minutes. I'm thinking he should leave out a little HC. Does that sound right with these numbers? Just nervous after yesterday.
 
Re: 1/18 Johnny Cat AMPS 101 +1.5 (56) +2 (36) ** Need advic

Hi guys, no advice here unfortunately .. hang tight if you can, I'm sure someone will be along soon ...
 
Re: 1/18 Johnny Cat AMPS 101 +1.5 (56) +2 (36) ** Need advic

Start feeding Him some HC right now--Retest in 15 minutes..If he doesnt come up he will need more--The carbs are in the HC gravy, so make sure he gets that--
I hand feed Moonie in a small plate--You can also give some karo syrup. like 2 drops in his food or directly in mouth--I would not leave a cat with a 36 BG home alone
Please feed & post number
 
Re: 1/18 Johnny Cat AMPS 101 +1.5 (56) +2 (36) ** Need advic

Based on Johnny's ss it looks like he has an early nadir....having said that I am not sure I would be comfortable leaving a cat surfing the 40's.
He could drop again.
 
Re: 1/18 Johnny Cat AMPS 101 +1.5 (56) +2 (36) ** Need advic

I just talked to Brian. He's up to 57 @ +3. Brian decided to just miss this morning class session and go for the afternoon portion. He was hesitant about the HC to bring him up this a.m. Sorry to sound an alarm. B just decided to stay home.

We'll definitely need some help determining tonight's dose...
 
Re: 1/18 Johnny Cat AMPS 101 +1.5 (56) +2 (36) ** Need advic

Much better....although there is still a chance when the food wears off he could drop again.
 
Re: 1/18 Johnny Cat AMPS 101 +1.5 (56) +2 (36) ** Need advic

Thanks, everyone! Brian will keep Johnny's ears busy and report back.

Question, Brian said that last night he shot the minimal of what could be called a fat .25u. This a.m., he slightly skinnied the 0.25u since we wouldn't be around. Which dose it to blame for the 30 nose dive?
 
Re: 1/18 Johnny Cat AMPS 101 +1.5 (56) +2 (36) ** Need advic

Janice & Johnny said:
Thanks, everyone! Brian will keep Johnny's ears busy and report back.

Question, Brian said that last night he shot the minimal of what could be called a fat .25u. This a.m., he slightly skinnied the dose. Which dose it to blame for the 30 nose dive?

Most likely Johnny is still working off of last nights dose considering onset usually starts about +3.
 
Re: 1/18 Johnny Cat AMPS 101 +1.5 (56) +2 (36) ** Need advic

Good Catch today you two! You did well waiting to see his numbers today. Moonie has had a low number, I brought it up & then she dropped a bit again, so again,I had to do the routine--We call it Lather, Rinse, Repeat--Test, feed, wait 15-20 minutes, and test again to see if numbers come up--This is what we do when the cat goes into low numbers..Keep doing it until cat gets into safe numbers-like 70's..It is gruelng, but necessary..You know how to do this-Johnny went OTJ once already!
Just remember, you are in control, you have hc & mc foods (& karo), strips, and are there to test-- That's all you need.
Nice numbers--BTW 36 is a low number which should get a dose reduction--Do a +11 test & post the number & put Dosing advice in your heading--That will alert people you need dosing help+OK?? Have a good rest of the day--
 
Re: 1/18 Johnny Cat AMPS 101 +2 (36) +2.5 (48) +3 (57) +3.5

what a morning :mrgreen: for Johnny he is keeping you guys very busy looking very good with those greens :mrgreen:
 
Re: 1/18 Johnny Cat AMPS 101 +2 (36) +2.5 (48) +3 (57) +3.5

Send a Brian clone to boise, please!!

nice day, J-Cat!
 
Re: 1/18 Johnny Cat AMPS 101 +2 (36) +2.5 (48) +3 (57) +3.5

AMPS 101
+1.5 - 56
+2 - 36
+2.25 - 44
+2.5 - 48
+2.75 - 44
+3 - 57
+3.5 - 60
+4 - 63
+8 - 116
PMPS 312

Summary of today is above. We shot 0.25u tonight. I'll be honest, if he dips down to the 30s again, it's going to be hard to convince me to give any shot tomorrow a.m. I just am a big chicken now about shooting low numbers. I don't think Johnny read the sticky yet...
 
Re: 1/18 Johnny Cat PMPS 312 (bounce)

If you don't get a response from one of the wise ones, maybe PM someone about tomorrow. I know we sometimes sat out a shot in your situation -- empty the shed a bit.

It was when Kitty was starting to round the corner toward OTJ that this happened to us. I ain't saying... I'm just sayin'... :mrgreen:

Isn't a 36 a flat out reduction? I will look for the protocol.
 
Re: 1/18 Johnny Cat PMPS 312 (bounce)

Here's the quote I was looking for:

Reducing the dose...

If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.
If an attempted reduction fails, go right back up to the last good dose.
Try to go from 0.25u to 0.1u before stopping insulin completely.

IMO, Johnny would qualify for a shave, since his reductions are coming quickly.

Also IMO, Brian qualifies for a trophy or ribbon or something! :-D
 
Re: 1/18 Johnny Cat PMPS 312 (bounce)

Numbers in the 30s definitely earn a reduction. There was clearly some carry over this morning from yesterday. I think leaving the dose at 0.25u makes sense.

Are there days when you can loan Brian out?
 
Re: 1/18 Johnny Cat PMPS 312 (bounce)

Thanks for all the support today! I know I'm not the best at visiting all the condos, but I'm trying. I get so caught up in trying to determine what's going on and whether to cheer or give a pat on the back for good days to come...and it takes me fur-ever. You guys are awesome. LOL Kathy @ "just sayin, just sayin."

Tonight:
PMPS 312 (bounce)
+2 - 135
+3 - 89

Looking for any advice from the dosing queens! I'd really feel most comfortable skipping tomorrow a.m. and going from there. But, I know I don't completely understand the intricacies (sp?) of the shed and the mighty P.

I'm sorry I couldn't post the +11 tonight. The commute was a doozy. I averaged 11 mph for 18 miles and arrived in a funk, just as the shot was being given. Brian is beaming over all the accolades! I was pleasantly surprised that he was so "okay" with missing the morning class today. He's just a guy who wants to be where he said he would be. And I guess this morning, he knew he should be with Johnny! No convincing needed.
 
Re: 1/18 Johnny Cat PMPS 312 ~ +2 (135) +3 (89) - a.m. shot?

Johnny is 70 @ +4. I really don't think I have it in me to shoot anything tomorrow, regardless of amps. I know tonight was a bounce, but we may be back to the point of "shoot a drop", "don't shoot a drop" in my mind. Happy, but nervous (am I ever not, lol?!).
 
Re: 1/18 Johnny PMPS 312 ~ +2 (135) +3 (89) +4 (70) a.m. sh

I heard Sienne weigh in on the dose, but not on skipping a shot. Unless you hear otherwise from someone more knowledgeable... I can understand skipping, and it sounds like that's what makes you comfortable. We all have the occasional "fur shots." You just might be due for one.

As we used to say in LL (does anyone say this anymore?) Ni Ni!
 
Re: 1/18 Johnny Cat PMPS 312 ~ +2 (135) +3 (89) - a.m. shot?

I was gonna say it might be time to decrease to the Magic Drop/Whiff level...
 
Re: 1/18 Johnny PMPS 312 ~ +2 (135) +3 (89) +4 (70) a.m. sh

Sienne and I posted just about simultaneously, so I'm not sure she weighed in knowing tonight's numbers. Technically, Johnny earned a dosecrease yesterday and today (30s both days). We shot the .25 tonight with a bounce and he went from 312 to 70 in four hours. I just don't know what to expect tomorrow. If he's higher, we'll shoot. But I guess I'm basically looking for a hall pass that says we're good 'not' to shoot given the numbers, early nadir, etc.

Just tried to post and saw MJ's response...I love that you remember that! Maybe I'll do a faux shot in the a.m. ;-)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top