1/18 jebat amps 84 @20 mins 112 +3 95 +6 86

Waheeda

Member Since 2017
Hi! a question. I understand below 90 I don’t shoot. So I’m waiting 15 minutes to retest. If it’s above 90 later, do I shoot same unit? He’s on 2u.
 
Hey!

If Jebat is seeing numbers below 90 that means it’s time for a reduction on SLGS! Congrats! I would shoot 1.75u and make sure to grab a +2 if possible :)
Oh but I gave him 2u cos after 20 minutes it went up. I just increased the dose a day ago. So I should decrease it?
 
Yes I think so, SLGS states that a reduction of 0.25u is warranted if BG drops below 90. Let’s ask someone with more experience :)

@Wendy&Neko would you mind weighing in?

if you can, try and grab a +3 or +4 to make sure he isn’t dropping too low.
 
But he’s doing well now. If I reduce then he won’t be in the green.

You had greens on the 11th and the 13th at the 1.75 dose. Plus that (74) on the 17th after just increasing that morning so...I don't know that you won't see greens. It's only been a day - as you said. I don't know if it's a good idea to try and skinny the 2 unit dose to give less than that but more than 1.75, but it does seem like 2 units put you below (90) for three different tests now in a short amount of time.
It seemed like you were hesitant to shoot the (84) this time and even slightly unsure about the dose when if it reached (90). Going back down might mean you get shootable numbers that slowly start to trend downwards . This way you aren't skipping shots. Maybe that might be for the best right now and then you can reassess in a week?
 
You had greens on the 11th and the 13th at the 1.75 dose. Plus that (74) on the 17th after just increasing that morning so...I don't know that you won't see greens. It's only been a day - as you said. I don't know if it's a good idea to try and skinny the 2 unit dose to give less than that but more than 1.75, but it does seem like 2 units put you below (90) for three different tests now in a short amount of time.
It seemed like you were hesitant to shoot the (84) this time and even slightly unsure about the dose when if it reached (90). Going back down might mean you get shootable numbers that slowly start to trend downwards . This way you aren't skipping shots. Maybe that might be for the best right now and then you can reassess in a week?
Ok that makes sense. I don’t know if I can do skinny 2 though. It’s alrdy quite a challenge to do 1.75. I see what I can achieve for pm shot. thanks for explaining to me. Appreciate it.
 
@Si am cat mom
May I know why 90 is the cut-off point for SLGS?


I'm not sure again about skinning the dose... I just agree that you need to reduce and 2 units is to much if it is giving you numbers that make you consider skipping doses currently. It's a micro-compromise. I think you should give the 1.75 more time since it will likely give you nice numbers that you can shoot consistently.

I read the page some of the information in the sticky notes came from and it all pretty much says the goal on Lantus is flat curves and BGs that are 90 and under. I think the goal is to find what dose gives you that BG range and hold. Then once it becomes a lower dose that gives you 90 same thing...rinse and repeat until you are able to hold numbers under 90 without insulin. That was my understanding... but someone with more experience can likely explain the protocols better.
 
I'm not sure again about skinning the dose... I just agree that you need to reduce and 2 units is to much if it is giving you numbers that make you consider skipping doses currently. It's a micro-compromise. I think you should give the 1.75 more time since it will likely give you nice numbers that you can shoot consistently.

I read the page some of the information in the sticky notes came from and it all pretty much says the goal on Lantus is flat curves and BGs that are 90 and under. I think the goal is to find what dose gives you that BG range and hold. Then once it becomes a lower dose that gives you 90 same thing...rinse and repeat until you are able to hold numbers under 90 without insulin. That was my understanding... but someone with more experience can likely explain the protocols better.
Ok thanks. I’ll do 1.75 for pm shot. N see how it goes.
 
The reason you reduce is for safety. A cat’s pancreatic cells can heal, meaning a smaller insulin dose is needed when that happens. They show you that they need less insulin by going under the reduction point number. SLGS says to go down to 1.75 units. The guidelines for flat numbers under 90 is part of TR which assumes an all low carb wet or raw food diet.
 
The reason you reduce is for safety. A cat’s pancreatic cells can heal, meaning a smaller insulin dose is needed when that happens. They show you that they need less insulin by going under the reduction point number. SLGS says to go down to 1.75 units. The guidelines for flat numbers under 90 is part of TR which assumes an all low carb wet or raw food diet.
Thank u. I’ll reduce.
 
Back
Top