1/18 Jax- PMPS 232

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lisa & Jax

Active Member
Good Morning All!

Got up early to see if we had a bounce overnight. We did not.
+11/ 226 Oy vey...low and not expected, throwing a small curve ball my way on what to shoot. But PM cycle was a nice curve without any sharp decreases/increases along the way. Thinking...if he comes in at:

under 260 go with 1.6U..?
260-290 1.8U
over 290 2U

Does the difference between 1.6 and 1.8 even matter??

Depending on AMPS and this dose...I may not get work done at work. My mind will be all Jax. The next hour will prove interesting.
 
Re: 1/18 Jax- Getting ready to put dancing shoes on

That is a great +11, and means he is surfing low which is great,
I agree with your thoughts on dosage.
The one think I learned from reductions is you need to test to see what works best
I learned that if I reduced .5 for Shakes that was too much , but .2 was perfect for Shakes!
and I did that by collecting data and each time I needed to reduce,
reduce by different amounts until I learned what was best.
it take time but you will soon learn what is the best reduction for Jax
 
Re: 1/18 Jax- Getting ready to put dancing shoes on

AMPS 316 2U given.

He made it nice and easy on me. He was seriously complaining over the last hr for food. More confirmation for me that his BG can skyrocket when he's hungry. Almost 100 pts in the hour. Whew.
 
Re: 1/18 Jax- Getting ready to put dancing shoes on

You and I think alike, Lisa. :smile: And like Denise, I found .5u too much of a decrease.

This may sound selfish, but if I'm worried Poopy may go too low while I'm not here, I'll bump it down .2u. Would rather him ride a bit higher than too low. And I don't have to fret as much when I can't be here. Make sense?

Watching you and others go through hypo scared the bejesus out of me and I'd like to avoid that experience, if at all possible.
 
Re: 1/18 Jax- Getting ready to put dancing shoes on

Morning Teresa, ~O)

Fortunately I haven't been in a hypo situation with Jax, nor do I ever want to be! I do get concerned when @ work for him but what can I do? Like another poster said..(was it Dr. Lisa or Carl??) one day Mr. P can just wake up when I'm not home...then what? I hate to think about that and just do what I can (such as leaving frozen food out on ice packs) to try to prevent what I can't see or measure when not home.

It's a rough situation on all of us but it is what ties us all together under this FD family. I don't know any of you but last night I was talking to my DH about all of you and your sugarbabies as if you lived next door. Amazing.
 
Re: 1/18 Jax- Getting ready to put dancing shoes on

We have noticed .2 can mean a lot in either direction. Also holding a dose is helpful to us (3 cycles or more).

It is scary when things may change when you are not home. We are self employed an can work from home often, but some days Tom and I both have to be gone all day, sometimes a real long day. What else can you do but leave food out. And pray. Or shoot a tad lower if you are really concerned.

This dance is crazy but yes, it is so great we all have each other to bounce ideas off of and that we have people who understand our joys and frustrations. Indeed fdmb is a special place :)
 
Re: 1/18 Jax- Getting ready to put dancing shoes on

Lisa & Jax said:
Fortunately I haven't been in a hypo situation with Jax, nor do I ever want to be!

Fantastic! Sorry my memory isn't what it used to be. :oops: (My mom says her memory is great! It's her recall that's shot.)
 
Re: 1/18 Jax- Getting ready to put dancing shoes on

I also think you are doing wonderful Lisa and Jax is lucky to have you for moma cat_pet_icon we drive ourselves nuts with worry about high numbers, low numbers if there eating enought or feeling good, ketones, ect. you are doing such a great job pat yourself on the back Jaxs love his moma :-D
 
Re: 1/18 Jax- 232 PMPS

Good evening everyone. 15 mins till shot time and Jax's BG is at 232. Another curveball. Going to test again in 15 mins to keep him closer to the schedule that I need him on.

He shot up almost 100 pts this AM in one hr when he was hungry and he doesn't seem hungry now. Looking at that 232 and wondering what on earth should I shoot. Leaning toward 1.6 still if sub 260.

Hate to lose any momemtum I have here. Ugh.
 
Then again...I shot a 1.8 on a 264 and he was fine. Didn't get real low... Perhaps I should stick with 2U. :-|
 
Why do I bother. Just checked and he is 329. Does he see me and the BG goes up on sight anticipating mealtime? 2U
 
Please keep in mind while data is awesome....every day is different, just like ECID
sometimes they will ahve just a flat day where others they will dip low
if his preshot is 232 I am thinking you might want to reduce
even if it is jus .2.....
just thinking and dont want you to be up all night worrying
 
Yes...just not understanding why he has been jumping close to 100 points within the last 3 or so cycles before shot time.
Makes no sense...
+11 looks good then BAM the preshot BG jumps 80-100 pts. Going to keep an eye on this and try to get more +11 data in.
 
The insulin is wearing off which is why the jump,
I know how frustrating that can be!
Hang in there!
 
Jumping Jax? Is that what I'm hearing? :lol:

Sometimes it's easy to forget the meters can have a 20% variance. If Jax tested at 232 then 329 the numbers could easily have been 278 (232 + 46) and 265 (329 - 64). :-D Besides it is time for his next shot, right? Sounds like he has down pat when the insulin is supposed to wear out. ohmygod_smile

This dance looks like the Quick Step! dancing_cat

Hang in there, Lisa! You're doing great!
 
Lisa callie does the same for me she sky rockets and them she drops like a lead balloon after her shot ! she has dropped over 300 points at times and she has rose 300 very quickly at times :shock: that makes dosing so hard !!! hang in there :YMHUG:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top