1/18 Jackson PMPS 100 +1 148 +2 133 +3 83 +4 91 +5 86+6 115

Status
Not open for further replies.

JacksonCatson

Member Since 2012
Jackson had a nice mostly blue/green day yesterday after coming off a short bounce and even had his personal record lowest PMPS (140).

Today:
AMPS: 218
+6: 97
+11.75: 89
+12.25: 92

Well, tonight PMPS, we have a new record -- 89! I don't feel terribly comfortable shooting at that number, but I'm not sure what to do. I could stall, but given that I stalled for 45 minutes last night, we're soon going to be REALLY off schedule. But I'm not sure that skipping is the best idea either (my vet said that she'd prefer I shoot a half-dose rather than nothing).

Advice?

Thanks, and happy Friday, all!
Sarah
 
Re: 1/18 Jackson AMPS 218 +6 97 PMPS 89 -- Now what?

30 mins later and he's at 92. With meter variance, I don't think that's evidence of him rising. I'm going to be at the point of skip or shoot soon, I think.
 
Re: 1/18 Jackson AMPS 218 +6 97 PMPS 89 -- Now what?

You have a couple of options -- most of which you've been thinking about already.

If you don't want to skip then that leaves stalling or shooting a reduced (big chicken sh*t or BCS) dose or shooting your full dose.

You could stall a bit to see if numbers are dropping or rising. It looks like Jackson has been surfing since mid-cycle. Based on last night, it's not clear what Jackson will do. (Silly cat!)

Shooting a reduced dose has it's pros and cons. There's no way to know if the effect of the reduced dose will be felt this cycle. Sometimes, due to the insulin depot, the effect is seen a cycle later.

Or, if you shoot the full dose, you'll be feeding and it will be an hour or two before the insulin kicks in.

My inclination is to suggest you stall for about 30 min. so you know whether this is a surf, rising or dropping number. If it's rising or a surf, I'd shoot. However, do you have high carb food and a stock of strips in case Jackson is angling for a dose reduction (which I think he's doing).
 
Re: 1/18 Jackson PMPS 89 +12.25 92 -- Now what?

Thanks, Sienne.

I will test again in 30 and hope for some slightly higher numbers. Meantime, Jackson and brother Ollie are letting me know that they are H.U.N.G.R.Y and tapping at their watches. I made them the deal that I wouldn't eat until they do.

I am running low on strips, so I will go out the minute after I shoot and will be back within 35 mins or so...

Actually, I'm going to go out RIGHT NOW. This gets me away from the hungry cats and I'm waiting around anyway. Then will test when I get home and certainly will be able to shoot. And then I can start testing as soon as I need to post shot.

Thanks. Back in a bit!
 
Re: 1/18 Jackson PMPS 89 +12.25 92 -- Now what?

OK, I'm back, thankfully after the most efficient trip I've ever made to WalMart.

So at +13.25, Jackson is at 100. I did have to give him a tiny bit of FF Appetizers as a bribe to get the last number before I left (another 92).

So I'm thinking we can call this a surf. Which you're advocating for shooting? I think I'm OK with that.
 
Re: 1/18 Jackson PMPS 89 +12.25 92 +13.25 100 -- Now what?

Eating and shooting has been done. Let it be known that we are now 2.5 hours off our original schedule...but we'll start dealing with that tomorrow. This is a good problem to have. :mrgreen:

I'll test in an hour at +1 and will post right after.

Thanks!
 
Re: 1/18 Jackson PM +11.75 89 +12.25 92 +13.25 100

Sarah --

Can you edit your subject line so your PMPS and +1 and the subsequent tests are visible? It's easier to know what's going on if I can see the numbers.
 
Re: 1/18 Jackson PMPS 100 +1 148

Hi Sarah

Sienne PMd me that you might need some company tonight and I usually "man" the late hours so I'm just checking in. Nice food spike for Jackson. I'll be waiting for your +2.
 
Re: 1/18 Jackson PMPS 100 +1 148 +2 133

Very nice +2. Although he's not low, if you can, I'd just get a +3 and see how quick he onsets.

I'll be here. Good job.
 
Re: 1/18 Jackson PMPS 100 +1 148 +2 133

Thanks Marje (and Sienne)!

At +2, Jackson is at 133. Looks like the insulin is starting to kick in (or the food spike is wearing off? Does is wear off that fast?). I'll plan to check again at +3.

And so I'm not asking this question at 3 in the morning, can you give me some ideas of how to approach the morning shot? His numbers tend to be higher in the morning (and he's been bouncing after a couple of low days), but if they should be low, what should I do? I can't stall many more times, as we're already 2.5 hours off our typical schedule. Are we getting close to a reduction, maybe?

Thanks for taking the night shift! Hopefully he'll surf on through and won't keep us up!
 
Re: 1/18 Jackson PMPS 100 +1 148 +2 133

Actually, I just read the dealing with low pre-shot numbers again and had a little talking-to with myself. Realistically, I'm guessing that he'll be in a shootable range in the morning. The challenge will be convincing him that he won't starve while we wait 2.5 hours longer than normal for breakfast. :?

On that note, how soon can I start moving his shot times back up in 15-minute increments to get closer to our normal sched--maybe the PM shot?
 
Re: 1/18 Jackson PMPS 100 +1 148 +2 133

If he's still running in the mid to low 200s or less in the morning, you can shoot 15 min early and do so every cycle until you are back to your time. Or you can shoot the same time in the morning as you did tonight and then shoot early 30 min each night until you are caught up.

If, at any cycle, he's up in the high 200s or above, you can shoot 1-2 hours early provided you will be there to monitor. You don't ever want to shoot early if you are also increasing the dose because shooting early acts like an increase.

Sound ok? :-D
 
Re: 1/18 Jackson PMPS 100 +1 148 +2 133 +3 83

Back to green-- +3 is 83. I guess I'll be getting a +4 (or should I try before that?).
 
Re: 1/18 Jackson PMPS 100 +1 148 +2 133 +3 83 +4 91

Good...he's got a surf going now! What about one more test in an hour and if he's up, you can call it a night.
 
Re: 1/18 Jackson PMPS 100 +1 148 +2 133 +3 83 +4 91

So, he's at 91 now, 30 mins after 2 tsp of LC and essentially at +4.

I've had him that low at +4 and he's been fine, but I also usually give him a 1/2 can of FF at +4 (which is usually right before I go to bed), which he hasn't had yet and he doesn't seem to be particularly hungry at the moment.
 
Re: 1/18 Jackson PMPS 100 +1 148 +2 133 +3 83 +4 91

Ah, yes, I guess that is a surf -- I'm learning.

Sounds good. I'll check back in an hour. Thanks!
 
Re: 1/18 Jackson PMPS 100 +1 148 +2 133 +3 83 +4 91

You're doing great. Sorry...I should have remembered he eats at +4 :roll: :roll: you can feed him after the next test :-D
 
Re: 1/18 Jackson PMPS 100 +1 148 +2 133 +3 83 +4 91 +5 86

Oops--drifted off before setting the alarm for +5. Anyway, he's at 86...think he'll be OK at that with his bedtime snack, or shall I plan to wait for a +6?
 
Re: 1/18 Jackson PMPS 100 +1 148 +2 133 +3 83 +4 91 +5 86

I like to have a rising number. Perhaps feed him his bedtime snack and snooze for a couple hours if you think he usually hits his nadir by now. If you're more comfortable to do it, check him at +6.

Shall I set an alarm and check backin with you?
 
Re: 1/18 Jackson PMPS 100 +1 148 +2 133 +3 83 +4 91 +5 86

Thanks, Marje. I will feed him his snack and probably will check him at +6. I think his nadirs tend to be a little on the early side, so I don't anticipate any big dips, but I'll check just to be safe.

I think I can take it from here -- feel free to go to bed! Thanks for staying up with me (I'd say "us," but Jack and his brother aren't exactly staying up and are curled up together on the couch, and one of them is snoring... zzzzzz....).

I'll post the numbers after I check at +6 so you can see them in the morning.

Thanks again!
Sarah and Jackson
 
Re: 1/18 Jackson PMPS 100 +1 148 +2 133 +3 83 +4 91 +5 86

Sounds great. He's at really nice, safe numbers right now.

Hope you get some sleep. And you are welcome...any time!

Great job tonight, Sarah. And now to cuddle with my baby Gracie girl cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 1/18 Jackson PMPS 100 +1 148 +2 133 +3 83 +4 91 +5 86+6

Jack has given me the all-clear at +6 --> 115. So we're all off to bed. Thankful at the moment for his late AM shot time!

Thanks for all the help and support, Marje and Sienne!
 
Re: 1/18 Jackson PMPS 100 +1 148 +2 133 +3 83 +4 91 +5 86+6

You're welcome and you did fantastic with your boy!!! Good job, Jack, too!!!

And thank you....Gracie is absolutely adorable ....but I'm partial.
 
Re: 1/18 Jackson PMPS 100 +1 148 +2 133 +3 83 +4 91 +5 86+6

Thanks, all! We did get SOME sleep. Some of us didn't understand that we were going to sleep in since breakfast and shot were going to be delayed. And thought that pawing at my nose would help the situation. :roll:

But hopefully tonight will be an easy affair and we can get to bed on time!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top