1/18 Fistuk AMPS 104, +2.5 131, +6 56, +11 99 PMPS 104, +2 99, +4 113, +6 113

Fistuk & Shelly

Member Since 2023
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...9-6-86-9-85-92-pmps-115-3-115-5-5-101.285716/

Good morning :)

Can anybody tell me what Fistuk is doing with the insulin? because it looks like he's hiding it. Tell him its not a candy to keep for later :banghead::woot:

He's been blue since PMPS yesterday! He hasn't pooped yesterday. He looked like he was thinking about it but each time I put him in the box he just came straight out.

It's 5th cycle on 1U. Do I keep waiting for him to work the dose? @Bandit's Mom

Tomorrow morning I go to work and I won't be here to monitor until the early evening.

Question about arthritis injection: Bhooma recommend Cartrophen or Solensia and @cecile & bella recommended Adequan. Do you know if any of these can be administer at home by me? I don't think it'll be sustainable for me to get a vet here on a monthly basis. Nor do I want that dependency however great the vet is.

Fistuk is in a good mode, that us when he's awake. He's eyes are bright and he's being very cute. Though he does sleep a lot. I know it's cold but in the flat here it's actually too hot. I think it's from the arthritis.

Wishing you a great day :joyful::bighug:
 
It's 5th cycle on 1U. Do I keep waiting for him to work the dose? @Bandit's Mom

Tomorrow morning I go to work and I won't be here to monitor until the early evening.
You can increase after 6 cycles if he doesn't decide to work the dose tonight, but if you're not going to be at home tomorrow in the day, do you want to wait till Saturday to increase? His numbers aren't so bad that you can't hold the dose another day.


Question about arthritis injection: Bhooma recommend Cartrophen or Solensia and @cecile & bella recommended Adequan. Do you know if any of these can be administer at home by me? I don't think it'll be sustainable for me to get a vet here on a monthly basis. Nor do I want that dependency however great the vet is.
Adequan is what you get in the US and Cartrophen is what you get in the rest of the world (including Canada). These 2 injections can be given at home subQ like insulin shots. I know of caregivers who have gotten prefilled syringes from their vet to administer at home. I was able to buy a vial of Cartrophen (India the land of pharmacies not insisting on prescriptions :-)). I don't know if Solensia is available all over Europe and whether it can be administered at home. Even though it's a subQ shot, I think!
 
You can increase after 6 cycles if he doesn't decide to work the dose tonight, but if you're not going to be at home tomorrow in the day, do you want to wait till Saturday to increase? His numbers aren't so bad that you can't hold the dose another day.
Bhooma, you did it again :woot: Look at the +6- - 56!!
I guess we're not increasing for now :p
(btw I tested twice to make sure it's not a wonky strip)

Adequan is what you get in the US and Cartrophen is what you get in the rest of the world (including Canada). These 2 injections can be given at home subQ like insulin shots. I know of caregivers who have gotten prefilled syringes from their vet to administer at home. I was able to buy a vial of Cartrophen (India the land of pharmacies not insisting on prescriptions :)). I don't know if Solensia is available all over Europe and whether it can be administered at home. Even though it's a subQ shot, I think!
Thanks! I sent her this question by email. See what she says. But I wanted first to know by for myself what's possible.

I do remember that when I travelled in India. Must say I loved it! I was able to get myself AB when I got a nasty parasite. I think params in the west are getting too rich over our backs.
 
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...9-6-86-9-85-92-pmps-115-3-115-5-5-101.285716/

Good morning :)

Can anybody tell me what Fistuk is doing with the insulin? because it looks like he's hiding it. Tell him its not a candy to keep for later :banghead::woot:

He's been blue since PMPS yesterday! He hasn't pooped yesterday. He looked like he was thinking about it but each time I put him in the box he just came straight out.

It's 5th cycle on 1U. Do I keep waiting for him to work the dose? @Bandit's Mom

Tomorrow morning I go to work and I won't be here to monitor until the early evening.

Question about arthritis injection: Bhooma recommend Cartrophen or Solensia and @cecile & bella recommended Adequan. Do you know if any of these can be administer at home by me? I don't think it'll be sustainable for me to get a vet here on a monthly basis. Nor do I want that dependency however great the vet is.

Fistuk is in a good mode, that us when he's awake. He's eyes are bright and he's being very cute. Though he does sleep a lot. I know it's cold but in the flat here it's actually too hot. I think it's from the arthritis.

Wishing you a great day :joyful::bighug:
Good morning, Shelly, Fistuk must be hiding his insulin for a rainy day.
I hope when you do that increase it’s a good one for him. Sounds like good advice from Bhooma to wait until you’re home to closely monitor him :)

Interesting if you can get an injection to do at home for arthritis. I know you’re using various supplements for this already.
Wishing you the best of luck with the new job tomorrow! Will the new pet sitter come to visit while you are out each day? How many days a week will you be out?
Wishing you a peaceful day :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Good morning, Shelly, Fistuk must be hiding his insulin for a rainy day.
Staci, it's actually raising mad here so it0's time to use the juice :p:p:p

Interesting if you can get an injection to do at home for arthritis. I know you’re using various supplements for this already.
The vet actually told me to not stop the glucosamine supplements even when he gets the injection. That's good to know.

Wishing you the best of luck with the new job tomorrow! Will the new pet sitter come to visit while you are out each day? How many days a week will you be out?
Thanks, Staci :) I guess tomorrow I won't be posting until the evening when I get back.
I asked the pet sitter to come over and test at +6 in light of his drop today. She doesn't have much time so she'll be here only 10 minutes and I told her that incase he goes lime she can give him the 15% carb I left on the counter. I trust that should be enough to bring him up to safety and Robert will be back home and hour later. I feel ok with that so it's a good sign already.

Wishing you a wonderful day :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Shelly,
Looks like Fistuk is snooping in to read your posts. :smuggrin::smuggrin::smuggrin:
Hope he opens the bakery soon - any correlation between pooping and BGs?
Hope you are enjoying the day! :bighug:
Hi Kit:)

He does! such a snoopy snoop. He also did a poop poop hooray. Feels like he read the blog and wanted to make his mummy proud :woot:
Yes, his numbers normally go up if he doesn't poo. After this drop at +6 we'll see what he does tinge and tomorrow.
I hope you had a good start to your day :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Shelly! I give Bella Adequan, I do the injection myself, I buy a vial twice a year from the vet's pharmacy and I give it to her in SC, like the insulin. I would try Solencia if needed but for now she's good with the Adequan. Adequan is also glycosamine, like a lot of arthritis supplements, but it's better absorbed in an injection. You cannot really overdose it so keeping both per os and SC is OK, if you feel that he needs it. Solencia is a completely different type of drug, more like an anti-inflammatory, but it is not one, it's a new type of treatment for arthristis. I cannot recommend it or not, because we never tried it ;)
Have a good day!
 
Staci, it's actually raising mad here so it0's time to use the juice :p:p:p


The vet actually told me to not stop the glucosamine supplements even when he gets the injection. That's good to know.


Thanks, Staci :) I guess tomorrow I won't be posting until the evening when I get back.
I asked the pet sitter to come over and test at +6 in light of his drop today. She doesn't have much time so she'll be here only 10 minutes and I told her that incase he goes lime she can give him the 15% carb I left on the counter. I trust that should be enough to bring him up to safety and Robert will be back home and hour later. I feel ok with that so it's a good sign already.

Wishing you a wonderful day :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Sounds like you have a great plan in place for tomorrow! I will look forward to your after work post tomorrow!
I feel that Fistuk will be fine!!

I was also recalling a time several years ago we were in Italy and my DH decided he had a tooth infection. (He always thinks he has something wrong when we are getting ready to go or are away on a big trip :) )
We walked into a local pharmacy and he bought an antibiotic with no problems (his dentist back home told him what to ask for).
Easy peasy.
It was such a different experience for us, coming from the US! :rolleyes:
 
That can be really bad in terms of antibiotic resistance, though. Not in your husband's case, but in general. Antibiotics are not something to just put on the shelves of a supermarket :D
 
Omg, that’s nuts, Bhooma! o_O
Yup! We can buy any drugs except anti-depressants/anti-anxiety meds and sleeping pills, without a prescription. No complaints! I don't need to go to a vet and beg/pay for a script for meds for my brats. And of course, we can always go and buy meds for ourselves as well! That includes insulin. By law they are required to ask for a prescription but they don't bother.
 
As long as they are real meds! I bought Ventolin in Mexico a few years ago, meds here are expensive and insuraance even more. But it did not work, not sure if it was even really Ventolin or old or what, but that’s dangerous.
 
Morning Shelly, first good luck tomorrow with the job.
Nice +6 :D surf safely you handsome boy :cat:
I'm so glad he just pooped.
I'm sure he'll do fine tomorrow with the cat sitter checking on her plus you left her instructions if she drops too low to feed 15%, and Robert will be home an hour later.
Can't wait to hear how the job goes
Have a nice day :bighug::bighug::bighug: :cat:
 
Hi Shelly! I give Bella Adequan, I do the injection myself, I buy a vial twice a year from the vet's pharmacy and I give it to her in SC, like the insulin. I would try Solencia if needed but for now she's good with the Adequan. Adequan is also glycosamine, like a lot of arthritis supplements, but it's better absorbed in an injection. You cannot really overdose it so keeping both per os and SC is OK, if you feel that he needs it. Solencia is a completely different type of drug, more like an anti-inflammatory, but it is not one, it's a new type of treatment for arthristis. I cannot recommend it or not, because we never tried it ;)
Have a good day!
Thanks for sharing, Cecile :)
The vet said she's given it to a lot of cats and had a good experience with it. She also said it's safe for his kidneys so that's good to know.
It's good to now I can give it myself :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Morning Shelly, first good luck tomorrow with the job.
Nice +6 :D surf safely you handsome boy :cat:
I'm so glad he just pooped.
I'm sure he'll do fine tomorrow with the cat sitter checking on her plus you left her instructions if she drops too low to feed 15%, and Robert will be home an hour later.
Can't wait to hear how the job goes
Have a nice day :bighug::bighug::bighug: :cat:
Thanks, Diane :)
I feel quite excited towards tomorrow. but I'll be lying if I'd said I don't have some concerns about him dropping tomorrow seeing his +6 today....
I'll keep you posted about the job for sure :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I even use the same syringes, I fill it to "30 units". She gave me IM syringes and the needle is huge, so for SC I prefer to use the insulin ones. No that Bella cares, as long as I shoot while she eats, she does not even react.
That's great to know.
Fistuk can't do two things at the same time - get injection and eat :p
But as long as I do it properly he will continue eating once I'm finished
 
So I'm noticing that I started getting a bit concerned after his low +6 this Am cycle. I was wondering if I should give him, a tsp of MC just to make sure he won't drop during the day.
I hate thinking that I give him higher carb when 'm giving him more juice to get regulated but at the same time it's the first day I'm going to be gone all day wit ha new cat sitter....

What do you say?
 
I think you could do that, since it's the first day and you don't want to be stressed.
Or, you could try and give him his regular food but more often and in smaller amounts.
 
I think you could do that, since it's the first day and you don't want to be stressed.
Or, you could try and give him his regular food but more often and in smaller amounts.
No one is going to be here to feed him.
I'll have to leave right after shot time and Robert's already at work from 5am. The cat sitter will get here only at +6
 
Hello Shelly and Fistuk

I hope Fistuk opens up the bakery soon but hopefully not too early.

Good luck with your first day tomorrow. Please let us know how it went.

Have a good night meow
upload_2024-1-18_17-11-16.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2024-1-18_17-11-16.png
    upload_2024-1-18_17-11-16.png
    219.4 KB · Views: 231
+4 113
Not sure yet what his plans are. I went to sleep and woke up for the test and he was all too ready to eat. It still could be a jump before dive.
I'll get a +6
 
Yup! We can buy any drugs except anti-depressants/anti-anxiety meds and sleeping pills, without a prescription. No complaints! I don't need to go to a vet and beg/pay for a script for meds for my brats. And of course, we can always go and buy meds for ourselves as well! That includes insulin. By law they are required to ask for a prescription but they don't bother.
That just sounds so crazy different from our way of life here where it’s so strictly controlled!! I guess there’s good and bad with both ways of doing things!
 
That can be really bad in terms of antibiotic resistance, though. Not in your husband's case, but in general. Antibiotics are not something to just put on the shelves of a supermarket :D
I agree. We just walked out with them with the weirdest look on our faces. It felt surreal. Buying antibiotics in a beach town in Italy. Just wow. :rolleyes:
 
Looks like Fistuk is doing well, I'm happy to see hear he is in good spirits and did the poopies. I agree, as much as we can do at home, I try to. Good luck with the injections, whatever you choose. I really wish we could just get what we want/need here in the US....at this point I use the vet to write scripts I can't write myself. What a broken system!
Sending hugs and wishes for a safe, warm, happy weekend! :bighug::bighug:
 
Back
Top