

That's perfectly fine when first starting out. It takes some time to find the right dose and with R you start small due to its potency.Right now I'm not convinced the R has done anything.
There are many comments I’d like to make and will come back to do so when I have a bit more time but a couple thoughts for now.Plan for tonight and tomorrow
What will I do about Lantus?
Today is Yum’s 3rd day at 8 units.
I think a .5 unit increase in Lantus would probably give me more than a .5 unit dose of R, and with less risk for inducing a bounce.
I will increase her to 8.5 units of Lantus tomorrow. If you guys weren’t watching, I would increase her to 9uL. Her BG is too high by more than 400!!!
I see no way a 12.5% Lantus increase would drop her that far. But I will hold off.
I have reexamined her spreadsheet. I don’t believe anything is wrong with this new vial of Lantus.
However, I will probably shoot her with the old vial on Friday, the morning of day 2 at 8.5uL. My vet will be open, the ice will be long gone, and there is a nearby ER.
Of course this would interfere with R testing. So not sure.
What will I do about R?
What did it buy me today?
Yum’s onset today was at +3, the same as her historical onset for Lantus only.
Her nadir was at +5, her historical nadir for Lantus only.
[However, this month she seems to nadir at +5 for small drops from AMPS and at +8 for large drops from AMPS. See below.]
There is no smoking gun R footprint for .25uR, but see below.
It’s a pity she was anomalously high yesterday afternoon and evening, so I couldn’t compare today to a “usual” pattern.
On 1/14 (day 2 of 7.5uL) she started anomalously high at 604 and she nadired with a drop of 103 to 501 at +8.
Today 1/17 (day 2 of 8uL + new .25uR) she again started anomalously high at 602 and she nadired with a drop of 102 to 500 at +5: same drop but steeper.
On 1/8 (day 1at 6.5uL) she started at 631 and nadired with a drop of 61 to 560 at +5
On 1/9 (day 2 at 6.5uL) she started high at 639 and nadired with a drop of 225 to 414 at +8.
I need to plot all this stuff.
It’s possible .25uR caused a steeper drop.
We want to see R facilitate Lantus reaching a deeper nadir not a steeper nadir. Should I have shot her with .25u again at +6?
Yum has had so many ear pokes today.
I will skip R tonight. I am still deciding if I should continue with .25uR tomorrow morning.
I want to test multiple .25uR doses or .5uR, but not on the day I increase Lantus. A morning .25uR would be a continuation of today, but a single good Lantus dose would be so much easier.
A small amount of LC because you don’t want to stop the action of the R too much.I can feed her at Lantus shot time, right?
This is your decision but quite honestly, I don’t think it’s the vial. She was going up into black and red before you switched vials.However, I will probably shoot her with the old vial on Friday
Yum’s R onset today was at +2. Her R nadir was at +4 and then she was flat. 508 and 500 are the same number. I am not trying to be flippant at all, just honest, but you don’t have enough data in the last two weeks to tell what her Lantus onset is. We don’t typically look too much further past two weeks but even if I do, you didn’t historically test at +1 or +2 to know if she onset then. I’m also not seeing enough numbers to say she nadirs with L at +5. I understand that with these high numbers, you don’t want to be poking the heck out of her. I get that. I do see she’s been a little bit lower at +8 on a few cycles but not enough to call it a pattern.What will I do about R?
What did it buy me today?
Yum’s onset today was at +3, the same as her historical onset for Lantus only.
Her nadir was at +5, her historical nadir for Lantus only.
[However, this month she seems to nadir at +5 for small drops from AMPS and at +8 for large drops from AMPS. See below.]
There is no smoking gun R footprint for .25uR, but see below.
I’d just like to make the point that you don’t know the nadir was at +5 because you didn’t test at +6 or +7.On 1/14 (day 2 of 7.5uL) she started anomalously high at 604 and she nadired with a drop of 103 to 501 at +8.
Today 1/17 (day 2 of 8uL + new .25uR) she again started anomalously high at 602 and she nadired with a drop of 102 to 500 at +5: same drop but steeper.
On 1/8 (day 1at 6.5uL) she started at 631 and nadired with a drop of 61 to 560 at +5
On 1/9 (day 2 at 6.5uL) she started high at 639 and nadired with a drop of 225 to 414 at +8.
I need to plot all this stuff.
No, the goal is not to see R facilitate Lantus reaching a deeper nadir. The goal is for R to slowly help the Lantus bring down the overall curve. It does that slowly, we hope, by giving Lantus a lower number to grab onto over time each time you use it. As I said before, this doesn’t happen overnight and it took Gracie a few weeks for me to start seeing an overall better and lower curve....not just lower nadirs. Because if the nadir drops but the rest of the curve doesn’t, you are in a dive/bounce cycle.It’s possible .25uR caused a steeper drop.
We want to see R facilitate Lantus reaching a deeper nadir not a steeper nadir. Should I have shot her with .25u again at +6?
When she was getting dangerous greens, her nadir usually looked to be at +5 (+-1). It's been my impression that her low point is drifting around lately. I'm not comfortable poking her every 1 to 2 hours to chase a shifting daily nadir, unless I have to. She's not running away yet (probably because she is starving for a post test treat), but that could change and her ears do have some polka dots today. She free feeds or steals food a bit too: might that interfere with her exact nadir? Do you think 0 carb food affects her BG? I've seen her have a flat nadir lasting a few hours. Before R I was more interested in the value than the onset.Yum’s R onset today was at +2. Her R nadir was at +4 and then she was flat. 508 and 500 are the same number. I am not trying to be flippant at all, just honest, but you don’t have enough data in the last two weeks to tell what her Lantus onset is. We don’t typically look too much further past two weeks but even if I do, you didn’t historically test at +1 or +2 to know if she onset then. I’m also not seeing enough numbers to say she nadirs with L at +5. I understand that with these high numbers, you don’t want to be poking the heck out of her. I get that. I do see she’s been a little bit lower at +8 on a few cycles but not enough to call it a pattern.
I’d just like to make the point that you don’t know the nadir was at +5 because you didn’t test at +6 or +7.![]()
. Sounds good. You would advise the R at +12 and not at +10?If she were mine, I’d increase the dose to 8.5u Lantus in the morning and then look at where she is at PMPS tomorrow night and decide if it warrants shooting 0.25u.
I value and respect all the advice I get here. Yum would perhaps have died a while back without it. R is very tricky. I hope it is a short term solution.One other thing I’d like to add.
The last week of Gracie’s life, she went up into numbers we’d never seen before. I had been using R very successfully for many years by then. I still turned to Jill and Libby for help with the R doses and times to give them because I had to take the emotion out of my decision and put the trust in those two ladies. They could see things that I was just to close to the situation, and everything else that was going on with Gracie, to see.
Sometimes, we think we see something on a SS or it appears to be a pattern but we’re so close to all that is going on, that we really can’t step back and see it clearly. That’s why experienced, knowledgeable, and unbiased eyes are so helpful.

I'm not Marje, but how about seeing how things go before making a decision about giving R tomorrow? Giving R @ +10 may or may not be a better option than @ PMPS time. Who knows? You may not need it. Please open a new thread tomorrow. Post her numbers as you get them and watch the forum for suggestions, comments, and advice.You would advise the R at +12 and not at +10?
Right now I'm not convinced the R has done anything
Always keep in mind that there is no way to know what the numbers may have been had you not used R.What did it buy me today?
Working with 2 insulins can be very nuanced.Take it one cycle at a time and watch closely for the development of new trends.It’s a pity she was anomalously high yesterday afternoon and evening, so I couldn’t compare today to a “usual” pattern.