1/17 Toby's AMPS=329+4=226+8=328+9=379+10.5=313 PMPS=362

Status
Not open for further replies.

Peg and Toby

Member Since 2014
Toby is higher today. he was in the blue most of the day yesterday. Had a bounce at the end of the day.
Julie will post at 2:00 pm my time. See you then. Peg and Toby
 
hmm, he may not be high enough to try today.

I see he's come down to 226 at +4 already. I think it's reasonable to try the R if he is over 250 or so, after his nadir.

There might be times when you use it under 250 after you have confidence in his responses, but not until then.

But let's see. That's another 40 minutes or so.
 
Do you want to try 0.1u or 0.25u? That's plenty high enough for either one, and we did make a try at the 0.1u in September. Your choice. Decide, shoot and I'll be back in an hour to check in.

Would you make sure and enter into the ss and update the subject line of this condo too, as we go along, please?
 
I don't think I did It right because I called that first mark one unit and went 1/4 of that. I looked at the chart again after I gave the shot and it shows the second mark on the right as being a whole unit . So the most he got was one drop because I took some water and tried it after and only one drop came out. Probably won't even do any good right? Should of tried it before the shot. Bummer!!! Didn't get the shot till 2:30. Peg and Toby
 
ok, well . . . we'll just see if it does anything or not. I think practicing with colored water or tea/coffee is helpful when you're drawing up small doses. you want to be able to repeat it another time and increase or decrease it - so being confident about the dose is pretty important. there are pictures on the New to the Group sticky too.
 
With the 379 now I pretty much know I screwed up. Should I give more or just wait for another time? Peg and Toby
 
wait for another time. you never want to reshoot insulin, just in case. Often with R it can take an hour to onset, too, so he may have been going up anyway and whatever got it may be just onsetting now. If I'm counting right, and you shot at 2:30, this is only 50 minutes right now.

Go ahead and test at R +2 anyway. I'll be back at 4:30 your time to see what it is. I wouldn't assume nothing will happen. Let's just continue to test and see what happens.
 
Ok ,Just sorry to have messed up your day if I didn't do it right. I looked at the pictures and thought I had it right until after the shot. I got thinking about it and tried some water in the needle and it only came out as a drop. Thanks for putting up with me. Peg and Toby
 
He may have gotten a little R he has come down some. Will see how he does later. Don't think he's in any danger of going hypo. If you want to go do something go ahead. We have taken up enough of your day. I will keep monitoring him. Thank-you so much Julie for your time. Peg and Toby
 
It's okay Peg. You haven't messed up anything. You do want to be as accurate as possible when using R of course.

Was the 313 just now?

Ah I see you just posted. Good. So a little did get in. Cool. See you in another hour or if you want to wait til +12 that's ok.

I'm just hanging out at home today. No worries.
 
When you record R in the ss, go to the cell where you shot it and write +8.5 0.1uR.

You'll have to manually color that cell using that icon that looks like a beaker pouring out.

Then to make sure you can look back and find it later, I'd make a comment in bold and use a color to say R used. Or whatever works for you so you can find it again.
 
Well if he got some of the R it didn't last very long. At least we tried. To bad I probably messed it up. If he is high tomorrow do you think I should give him .25 at 2:00 pm if i'm home. If he goes low do you treat it like you would any low bg? When would you give it only if he's over 250? Or do you think I should just forget it? Thanks again for your time. Peg and Toby
 
It's ok, Peg. I think you gave him 0.1u, which would be 1/4 of the 0.5u line. Let's try 0.25u next time. 0.1u doesn't usually do much with a highdose cat anyway.

Yes, you treat all lows basically the same, using carbs to bring them up. Of course consider where in the cycle it is. A low #at +2 may be more of a concern than a low at the nadir.

For tomorrow, let's see how high he is at +8. I can look for you at 2pm your time again.

Often I saw the most significant results of using R in the next cycle. He's starting lower than he would have if you hadn't used R. Also in cats with iaa the R's action can be longer.

This is all good for gathering data. Just keep an eye out tonight in case you see a delayed response. I don't think he's headed for low numbers, necessarily, I just mean not to assume there can't be more response still from today.
 
I should be home tomorrow and will post again at 2:00 pm. This time I will get it right. Have a good evening Julie. Will watch Toby Tonight. Peg and toby
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top