1/17 Simon PMPS 213 +4.5 177

Status
Not open for further replies.

Georgia and Simon (GA)

Member Since 2010
I do not like this AMPS! Yesterday, Simon was also in the 400's, but by bedtime, he was in the green lagoon. I have a feeling that he must have gone low last night but he didn't wake me to tell him to test him like he has done before. It is just so hard to figure out the best dose for him right now because of him going low during the night. I will see how it goes today and increase slightly if he doesn't drop tonight. Poor little boy -- I am trying my best to regulate him, but he just has other plans for me. He is very snuggly this morning and ate all his fuds.

I have a full day of activity today so will try to visit condos later on. I am not feeling great because I had a leg cramp last night and when I jumped up to try and work it out, I slipped on my bedroom floor and fell hard on my hip and scraped my arm. Ouch! Poor DH had to pick me up off the floor because my leg was still cramping and I couldn't stand up on my own. My lower back is now killing me! I feel like such an idiot. :banghead:
 
Ouch is right! I am sending you tons of healing vines, and positive thoughts, and am also wishing for you to make a full and speedy recovery. You're not an idiot... Accidents happen. :bighug:

It's interesting how he surfs nicely overnight, and then spikes during the day. I would hold the current dose for another 4 more days to see what he does. It looks to me like he doesn't like the microdosing, and prefers 0.25 unit increase/decreases instead. Some cats are like that. If you haven't done so already, and if it's at all possible, perhaps try leaving out some food for him during the night to keep him from dropping further. Good luck with this new dose.
 
I feel you're pain! I'm having hip issues and it is just not fun!

I'm wondering whether holding Simon's dose until he drops below 50 three times would help to flatten things out. It's a dosing strategy that's used not he German Lantus board. Also, just a reminder -- with a longer term diabetic kitty, you reduce when numbers drop below 40.

The other thing I do with Gabby is that I use HC to prevent her from getting a reduction. (It kind of works out like the 3 drops between 40 - 50 approach.) It's helped a great deal when it comes to flattening out her numbers.
 
Yikes on that bouncy AMPS, Simon!!! Sienne has some great ideas about trying to flatten him out. These kitties just have minds of their own, though...but hopefully he'll take some notes and get on board with no bouncing.

Ouch on the cramp-n-crash last night! I hope you heal up quickly. Have a great day, Georgia!!
 
Hi Georgia,
We do the "3 times under 50" and the "auto reduction under 40" also (for the most part) and it seems to work (we go up and down by drops--I measure with calipers--not by quarter units). In general, I tend to hold the dose and "wait and see". I'm sure you will find a technique that will work for Simon. It is frustrating, that's for sure.

Bummer on your fall! Feel better! Arnica gel does wonders for bruises.

Hugs and scritches,

Ella & Rusty
 
Oh no on your slip, Georgia. (I second Ella's Arnica recommendation -- it's good stuff to have on hand.)
I hope Simon comes down (safely!) for you today. It looks like you have some good advice for helping with his bounciness.
 
He is sliding down in the right direction. Keep it up, Mr. Simon!
Angela, I will definitely hold the dose and see what happens. I already do the automatic feeder at night.
Sienne and Ella, I do need to do the 3 under 50. The problem is that I have no clue how low he goes at night if I don't wake up and test. So strange he is doing this so much lately.
Ella and Josie, thanks for the tip on Arnica. A co-worker gave me some of that and I have been using it. I am feeling a little better right now.
Amy, thanks for the healing wishes!
 
I'm sorry about your fall. I hope you heal quickly. The arnica works great. I hope Simon settles down with his bouncing soon. I'm dealing with the same thing with Furball right now. It can drive you crazy.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top