? 1/17 Silver AMPS 297 PMPS 349 +4=355 - higher at +4 than at PMPS??

Status
Not open for further replies.
It will be interesting to see if stopping the Temptations makes a difference with Silver's numbers. It may or may not. ECID. I ran out of freeze dried treats once and had Temptations around. I gave those to Furball as a post test treat and it didn't affect her numbers. Some cats are more carb sensitive than others.
 
It will be interesting to see if stopping the Temptations makes a difference with Silver's numbers. It may or may not. ECID. I ran out of freeze dried treats once and had Temptations around. I gave those to Furball as a post test treat and it didn't affect her numbers. Some cats are more carb sensitive than others.
Good to know. I didn’t notice any difference last night but I’ll give it to the weekend.
 
I figured out that I was giving Gizmo MC treats just last week. They were in his last turn of his feeder. I have been giving these treats (Instinct Raw Boosters) for over a year. :banghead:

Not sure if 4 little MC treats were influencing his numbers or not but i discontinued them. I am bummed because Gizmo loved them. Gismo gets the Purebites (which he loves) after his shot and likes those as well. I buy the Duck Liver Purebites. Be sure to check the dog section as they are the same product but a larger bag that is more economical than the "cat" bags.

https://smile.amazon.com/gp/product/B0058R11OO/?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20

818L3s8ocGL._SX522_.jpg
 
I still use them for bumping up numbers but Jones doesn't sky rocket on them. I also use them to test how bad he is feeling. Last time he wouldn't eat them I ended up rushing him to the ER. The wet KD gets a bigger rise in numbers.

ECID and it worth exploring and understanding Silver better.

That said....everyone enjoys a slice of good cake every now and again.:)
 
I still use them for bumping up numbers but Jones doesn't sky rocket on them. I also use them to test how bad he is feeling. Last time he wouldn't eat them I ended up rushing him to the ER. The wet KD gets a bigger rise in numbers.

ECID and it worth exploring and understanding Silver better.

That said....everyone enjoys a slice of good cake every now and again.:)
Agreed. Good to know if they do spike because then I can use them if he drops too low.
 
We are in no danger of that right now tho
:cool:

But look how much you are learning for when you do get him in good numbers. Same with the testing you are doing currently. It is giving you his nadir and patterns which, hopefully, will translate to usable data when you find the right dosing. Don't lose hope. You are doing great. I know how frustrating this dance can be. :bighug:

How is Silver feeling?
 
Hey, just wanted to pop in and say sometimes it's just the way their body works. A quick peek at Chuck's SS and you'll see that he almost ALWAYS goes up after eating. Sometimes a lot and sometimes barely at all. Most of the times at least 100+ points. He's on LC (5% or less) food and these days he's only eating about 2.5oz of his 4.5oz main meals. 2 hours later he comes back for the rest.
I know the frustration. Just wanted to offer some kind words of encouragement and support from someone who knows the struggle of the +2 food spike!
Hopefully the treats might make a difference for you but if not, it's okay. Once you get to a dose that controls the BG better, you might see it get smaller or go away. Paws crossed!
 
:cool:

But look how much you are learning for when you do get him in good numbers. Same with the testing you are doing currently. It is giving you his nadir and patterns which, hopefully, will translate to usable data when you find the right dosing. Don't lose hope. You are doing great. I know how frustrating this dance can be. :bighug:

How is Silver feeling?
Silver is doing great. No symptoms of diabetes at all. It’s me that gets discouraged by the numbers.
 
Hey, just wanted to pop in and say sometimes it's just the way their body works. A quick peek at Chuck's SS and you'll see that he almost ALWAYS goes up after eating. Sometimes a lot and sometimes barely at all. Most of the times at least 100+ points. He's on LC (5% or less) food and these days he's only eating about 2.5oz of his 4.5oz main meals. 2 hours later he comes back for the rest.
I know the frustration. Just wanted to offer some kind words of encouragement and support from someone who knows the struggle of the +2 food spike!
Hopefully the treats might make a difference for you but if not, it's okay. Once you get to a dose that controls the BG better, you might see it get smaller or go away. Paws crossed!
Thank you. That’s sweet of you. The food spike is annoying for sure. Takes him to +4 to get over that and then we only have a couple hrs til nadir.

Chuck a high dose kitty. I was worried I’m now almost at 3u!
 
still use them for bumping up numbers but Jones doesn't sky rocket on them

I just to clarify - for Jones...it is when he looks like he is going to drop a bit faster then I want...I prop up with the whiskas as I want it to hit a little later, if I am happy with the numbers it is the freeze dried treat. And if it is a 911 number - then the KD and MC options come out. I have learned to finesse the method over time...still a hire wire act though.

You are learning lots Juliet and this trip is so different from his last one.
 
Yes definitely a different trip from 3 years ago....He was OTJ in a month. None of this giving blues and greens then changing his mind and rushing up the dosing ladder then @Tracey&Jones . Horrible PMPS tonight.....nothing working here....I guess another increase is on the cards. Each new increase does absolutely nothing for his numbers. I am switching to Freestyle Lite when these strips are done and I know I will see better numbers then but that will be deceptively lower numbers as FS Lite measures on the lower side.
 
Thank you. That’s sweet of you. The food spike is annoying for sure. Takes him to +4 to get over that and then we only have a couple hrs til nadir.

Chuck a high dose kitty. I was worried I’m now almost at 3u!
We don't usually see much movement until +4 or +6. I've accepted that this is how he works. He is a high dose kitty. We have found his ideal range for now. He's gone up and down a little in dose but not by much. No high dose tests done yet.
I think lantus typical onset is +4, correct me if I'm wrong. We can usually tell by +2 how his cycle is going to go but it's not a guarantee.
I still get discouraged by higher numbers. I think it's common. We want to fix them and get them in better health as soon as possible. :bighug:
 
We don't usually see much movement until +4 or +6. I've accepted that this is how he works. He is a high dose kitty. We have found his ideal range for now. He's gone up and down a little in dose but not by much. No high dose tests done yet.
I think lantus typical onset is +4, correct me if I'm wrong. We can usually tell by +2 how his cycle is going to go but it's not a guarantee.
I still get discouraged by higher numbers. I think it's common. We want to fix them and get them in better health as soon as possible. :bighug:
So now you've found the ideal dose - is he getting greens? Does that mean you now reduce dose? My goal really is to get him to greens and then hopefully he will go DOWN the dosing ladder again and I really would like to get him OTJ again. I know its a lot harder second time around though.
 
Just know that dry takes longer to get into the system so if you need Silver up NOW best to use gravy or honey (syrup).
Unfortunately, that's another one of those FDMB Urban Legends perpetuated from continuous repeat-speak. Prior to 2007 we used dry food to pull BG numbers up. It took about the same amount of time to get into kitty's system as gravy... about 20 minutes. In my opinion, the real down-side to using dry food to pull up kitty's numbers is dry food usually takes a lot longer than gravy or honey to clear kitty's system.
 
So now you've found the ideal dose - is he getting greens? Does that mean you now reduce dose? My goal really is to get him to greens and then hopefully he will go DOWN the dosing ladder again and I really would like to get him OTJ again. I know its a lot harder second time around though.
We are in range of his ideal dose... He's getting more greens. Blue preshots and green mid cycles. But the last few days have been thrown off because I couldn't get to the store and fed him friskies pate. Same carb level but he reacts different to it.
Chuck probably won't go down the ladder because of whatever underlying high dose condition he has.
 
Unfortunately, that's another one of those FDMB Urban Legends perpetuated from continuous repeat-speak. Prior to 2007 we used dry food to pull BG numbers up. It took about the same amount of time to get into kitty's system as gravy... about 20 minutes. In my opinion, the real down-side to using dry food to pull up kitty's numbers is dry food usually takes a lot longer than gravy or honey to clear kitty's system.
It also is bad for them right? Not just due to high carb. I took my civvie off it too and she has not thrown up a hair ball since. She used to throw up two or three times a week.
 
He hasn't had any wrong treats - yet he is higher at +4 than at PMPS. This is often the case. His nadir is at +6 or +7 so that only gives a 3 hour window to come down. No wonder he isn't coming down much at all. Yellow or pink AMPS, yellow or pink PMPS no matter what dose he gets lately. Not seen a blue this year although he was getting a few blues at 1.75u and 2u. Now we are at 2.75 and very likely going up to 3u after this weekend's curve. If I hadn't stopped the Temptations at treat time then I could understand why the high spike after preshot. But I don't understand it now. He gets FF, one can am and pm at preshot and half a can at bedtime. Am I missing something obvious?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top