? 1/17 Pudge AMPS 179

kitten68

Member Since 2024
1/16/26 Prev Thread Pudgles

been up since early to be w nugget.. he’s still eating pretty well and drinking good. gave him a snack at 5 am he ate well ❤️‍🩹.. another at 6:35 am he ate pretty good. Im wondering on the Cerenia.. they said to give it only if he needs it.. but it can be given an hour or two before to give it time to kick in.. what to do?.. 😪 I was also advised on the kidney board to probably just give it to him everyday for the time being while hes dealing with things as they are rn.. any thoughts appreciated. 🫶🏼

Last night he was so hungry around the 10-12 hr mark of the Mirataz.. i was giving snacks hourly. Glad hes gotten food in..

His little nostril is a little whistley.. but had been told the FD etc. can make more susceptible to respiratory things..

Hes also constipated. What should we do? :( He went yesterday but it wasnt much. Thats not going to help him continue eating either.. 🥺 All of a sudden a number of things dropped off..

Im monitoring his numbers.. seeing how things go.. taking it moment to moment generally and regarding his Lantus.. rn i feel like we need to address these things and focus on getting his eating well. if we can get away with it good otherwise we’ll start up again (?).. and im sad about any missed progress. but idk what. :( but numbers arent terrible.. was advised tho if hes eating to start back up again. idk. where we’re trying to get back to. ❤️‍🩹 we’re taking it slow..

hope all hanging in there.. we doing best. x

::update::
❓: thinking just to give the Cerenia for now.. cuz last thing we need is to have nausea happen w the stimulant, and then just gotta go back and get another shot.. was told to do so for now w his kidney things, and that it doesnt hurt either way to give it to him (?)
 
Last edited:
He got his Cerenia.. but think too late. Hope it helps him soon.. 😭 he got it down tho. yayy..

It makes me sad tho to see him like this.. :(

❓: Also, any advice on treating constipation much much appreciated!! He went yesterday but not much.. doctor said he was then didnt offer something to do (and i say nothinf cause he was still going ok at the time.. 😪😪😪😪😪) 🫶🏼

@Suzanne & Darcy he is indeed having trouble now.. 🫠💖 things we can do?.. his probiotic was pretty sufficient all this time but think he needs more help now..
 
1/16/26 Prev Thread Pudgles

been up since early to be w nugget.. he’s still eating pretty well and drinking good. gave him a snack at 5 am he ate well ❤️‍🩹.. another at 6:35 am he ate pretty good. Im wondering on the Cerenia.. they said to give it only if he needs it.. but it can be given an hour or two before to give it time to kick in.. what to do?.. 😪 I was also advised on the kidney board to probably just give it to him everyday for the time being while hes dealing with things as they are rn.. any thoughts appreciated. 🫶🏼

Last night he was so hungry around the 10-12 hr mark of the Mirataz.. i was giving snacks hourly. Glad hes gotten food in..

His little nostril is a little whistley.. but had been told the FD etc. can make more susceptible to respiratory things..

Hes also constipated. What should we do? :( He went yesterday but it wasnt much. Thats not going to help him continue eating either.. 🥺 All of a sudden a number of things dropped off..

Im monitoring his numbers.. seeing how things go.. taking it moment to moment generally and regarding his Lantus.. rn i feel like we need to address these things and focus on getting his eating well. if we can get away with it good otherwise we’ll start up again (?).. and im sad about any missed progress. but idk what. :( but numbers arent terrible.. was advised tho if hes eating to start back up again. idk. where we’re trying to get back to. ❤️‍🩹 we’re taking it slow..

hope all hanging in there.. we doing best. x

::update::
❓: thinking just to give the Cerenia for now.. cuz last thing we need is to have nausea happen w the stimulant, and then just gotta go back and get another shot.. was told to do so for now w his kidney things, and that it doesnt hurt either way to give it to him (?)
I would give Cerenia a few days to make sure he’s still doing well.
You don’t want to remove all his helping meds immediately because he had one ok night.
Give it a few days of support before stopping.
Maybe Mirataz too. (See what advice you get today. I’d use the ?? Mark in your title too).

Wendy said this before: Ondansetron dosing is 0.5-1.0 mg/kg of cat, up to 4 times a day. It doesn't last that long in a cat.
You can start with 3 times a day.
I’ve also read this:
Ondansetron is dosed up to 3x a day at .5 mg per kg.(2 lbs).
So an 8 lb cat gets 2 mg, up to 3x a day.
*Pudge could probably take 4 mg up to 3x a day.

Cerenia is dosed once a day at 1 mg per pound.

It’s best to work up to full dosage as it can make some cats sleepy. (Vets often underdose Cerenia)

Elise told me you don’t want to remove their support immediately. And slowly remove one thing at a time to make sure they’re still stable.

For constipation you could try 1/16 tsp psyllium husk 2x daily. (Can get at grocery store.
I buy NOW brand on Amazon).
(Maybe others have other ideas).
I sprinkle it in Ivy’s food and mix well. Helps keep her regular.
Hope he feels well today and it’s a better day for both of you 🫂🙏❤️‍🩹💝
 
I would give Cerenia a few days to make sure he’s still doing well.
You don’t want to remove all his helping meds immediately because he had one ok night.
Give it a few days of support before stopping.
Maybe Mirataz too. (See what advice you get today. I’d use the ?? Mark in your title too).

Wendy said this before: Ondansetron dosing is 0.5-1.0 mg/kg of cat, up to 4 times a day. It doesn't last that long in a cat.
You can start with 3 times a day.
I’ve also read this:
Ondansetron is dosed up to 3x a day at .5 mg per kg.(2 lbs).
So an 8 lb cat gets 2 mg, up to 3x a day.
*Pudge could probably take 4 mg up to 3x a day.

Cerenia is dosed once a day at 1 mg per pound.

It’s best to work up to full dosage as it can make some cats sleepy. (Vets often underdose Cerenia)

Elise told me you don’t want to remove their support immediately. And slowly remove one thing at a time to make sure they’re still stable.

For constipation you could try 1/16 tsp psyllium husk 2x daily. (Can get at grocery store.
I buy NOW brand on Amazon).
(Maybe others have other ideas).
I sprinkle it in Ivy’s food and mix well. Helps keep her regular.
Hope he feels well today and it’s a better day for both of you 🫂🙏❤️‍🩹💝
THANK YOU DEAR FRIEND 💖💘💞💖 i was thinking same.. i feel bad tho i was late w the Cerenia.. :/ oral route takes an hour or two.. but he got it and keeping it down so far.. hopefully will kick in very very soon.. 😰 i dont want an interruption in the medicine.. geez. 😪

feel slightly lost still w the Ondansetron.. one thing w Ondansetron too is id have to make pill pocket treats for him.. and hed have to take more pills, but thats easy; just hope we can always get em in time to continue dose.. if it works better/or good ok! i think Wendy 💕mentioned both could be used together, but unsure how.. when to use and how tho? Cerenia seems ok so far.. but idk. whatever gonna help him and when @Wendy&Neko

also! the needles and the binder due to come today!! 😭 just got an email.. was supposed to be next week..

thank you for that!! psyllium husk.. hm. i was told Miralax to help w occasional consitpation.. but that also a laxative. 🫠
 
You could try Miralax if you have that. It should also help.

Make sure you separate the Ondansetron and the Mirtazapine.
Give the ondansetron time to work (30-45 minutes) before giving mirtazapine. Otherwise you'll have appetite stimulant while nauseated and could cause food aversion.

*I’ve read you can give Cerenia & Ondansetron at same time.
Then give the Mirtazapine 30-60 mins later, just to be sure the other two are working.
 
For Cerenia, it's exactly as Staci said. Keep giving it, keep on top of the pain/nausea. Plus, Cerenia has analgesic properties that go beyond simply treating nausea.

Slippery Elm is great for constipation and loose bowels, and helps settle the tummy as well.
When our cats have tummy upsets, it can be hard to figure out what to do. Constipation, diarrhea, nausea and vomiting, overnight bile pukes - all of the distressing signs that something isn't right. Often, vets have advised the antacid Pepcid (Famotidine) used off-label, but although it can give short-term results, its effectiveness can lessen over time, and its isn't suitable for all cats. (The Problems with Pepcid and Other Antacids.)

Slippery Elm (specifically the inner bark of Ulmus rubra) is often referred to by holistic veterinarians as "nature’s Pepto-Bismol." Its primary power comes from mucilage, a fiber that turns into a slick, soothing gel when mixed with water.

For cats, this gel acts like a "liquid bandage" for the internal linings of the body. Here are the main benefits:

1. Digestive Relief (The "All-in-One" Solution)
Slippery elm is unique because it can help with two opposite problems:

Diarrhea: The fiber and mucilage add bulk to stools and soothe the inflamed intestinal lining.

Constipation: Its lubricating properties help "slide" waste through the colon more easily.

Nausea and Vomiting: By coating the stomach lining, it can reduce irritation from stomach acid, which is particularly helpful for cats with Chronic Kidney Disease (CKD) or acid reflux.

2. Hairball Management
Because it lubricates the digestive tract, slippery elm can help swallowed fur pass through the system more smoothly instead of getting stuck in the stomach to form a hairball.

3. Urinary Tract & Bladder Support
While it doesn't travel directly to the bladder, slippery elm contains pentosans, a type of sugar that may help soothe the lining of the urinary tract. This makes it a popular supportive supplement for cats suffering from Feline Lower Urinary Tract Disease (FLUTD) or cystitis.

4. Respiratory & Throat Health
If your cat has a dry cough or a sore throat (sometimes seen after dental surgery or during respiratory infections), slippery elm coats the throat to reduce the urge to cough and makes swallowing more comfortable.

5. Skin Healing (External Use)
When mixed with a little cold water into a paste, it can be applied to "hot spots," rashes, or minor wounds as a cooling, protective poultice.


Making a slippery elm syrup is the most effective way to use this herb for nausea or throat irritation, as the pre-thickened gel coats the digestive tract immediately.

Stovetop Recipe

This method creates a smooth, molasses-like consistency that is easy to dose.

Ingredients

* 1 tsp Slippery Elm Bark Powder (pure inner bark)
* 1/2 cup Cold Water

Instructions

1. Whisk while cold: Place the water and powder in a small stainless steel saucepan. Use a small whisk or fork to mix them while the water is still cold—this prevents the powder from clumping.
2. Simmer: Place the pan over low heat. Bring the mixture to a very low simmer, stirring constantly.
3. Thicken: Continue to simmer and stir for about **2–3 minutes**. You will see it thicken into a consistency similar to watery egg whites or light syrup.
4. Cool: Remove from heat and let it cool completely. It will continue to thicken slightly as it cools.

---

Storage & Dosing

* Storage:** Store in a glass jar in the refrigerator. It stays fresh for about **5 days**. If it changes color significantly or smells sour, discard it and make a fresh batch.
* Dosage:** For a typical 10lb cat, give **1/4 to 1/2 teaspoon** (approx. 1.25–2.5 ml) up to 4 times a day.
* Administration:** * **For Nausea/Acid Reflux:** Give it 30 minutes **before** a meal to coat the stomach.
* For Diarrhea/Constipation:** You can mix it directly into wet food.
* For Mouth Ulcers:** Use a syringe to gently dab or drop it onto the affected areas.



Pro-Tips for "Picky" Cats

If your cat isn't a fan of the plain syrup, you can try these tricks:

* **The Broth Swap:** Use plain, sodium-free chicken or beef broth (ensure it has **no** onions or garlic) instead of water to make the syrup.
* **The Food Topper:** Mix the dose of syrup with a tiny amount of Churu or their favorite wet treat.
* **Syringe Method:** If they refuse to eat it voluntarily, the syrup is smooth enough to be administered via a needleless plastic syringe into the side of the mouth.



Sources

Slippery Elm Bark
Safe and natural treatment for relief from nausea, stomach acid and other digestive ailments.
Slippery elm bark for FIP cats


DIY Cat Tummy Soother (Slippery Elm Syrup!)


Slippery Elm
Slippery Elm | Little Big Cat - Dr. Jean Hofve



Important tips for use

The "2-Hour Rule": Because slippery elm coats the digestive tract, it can interfere with the absorption of other medications. Always give other meds at least 2 hours before or after slippery elm.

Wait for the Gel: For the best results, mix the powder with water to form a "gruel" or syrup before feeding. Most cats find the taste mild and slightly sweet.


Check the Source: Ensure you are using inner bark powder (light tan/cream color). Avoid products containing the outer bark, which can be irritating.
 
You could try Miralax if you have that. It should also help.

Make sure you separate the Ondansetron and the Mirtazapine.
Give the ondansetron time to work (30-45 minutes) before giving mirtazapine. Otherwise you'll have appetite stimulant while nauseated and could cause food aversion.

*I’ve read you can give Cerenia & Ondansetron at same time.
Then give the Mirtazapine 30-60 mins later, just to be sure the other two are working.
oooh! so far.. Cerenia is going ok i think (??) but i am very happy to have both.. very happy if we need it. need to drop off the script. 🫠🫶🏼 I found a goodrx coupon.. around $25 for the 20 melt tabs.. sound ok?

also.. im thinking of letting the Mirtaz go by a little.. see if he’ll eat.. see if needed? cuz i am hearing i need to be careful of overdose and giving too much..
 
Butch has pancreatis and gets flares. I give him Cerenia daily (16 mg) 1/4 tablet (I cut 1 tab into 4) and I use Mirataz as needed (sometimes less than a full dose for couple of days). I also give him 1/4 tsp 2x daily of MiraLAX for his constipation.

Sending healing vines to Pudge 🍃🍃🍃💕💕
 
Pudge's blood sugar numbers are creeping up as the depot goes away. You might want to consider giving him insulin again.

Cerenia takes a little longer to take effect. I'd give it a couple hours before Mirataz, if using it. Ondansetron you can give 3-4 times a day. With his weight, his dose can range from 3-6 mg. Try 4 and see how it goes. It can take around 30 minutes or so to take effect, so give it that much before his main meals.
 
For Cerenia, it's exactly as Staci said. Keep giving it, keep on top of the pain/nausea. Plus, Cerenia has analgesic properties that go beyond simply treating nausea.

Slippery Elm is great for constipation and loose bowels, and helps settle the tummy as well.
When our cats have tummy upsets, it can be hard to figure out what to do. Constipation, diarrhea, nausea and vomiting, overnight bile pukes - all of the distressing signs that something isn't right. Often, vets have advised the antacid Pepcid (Famotidine) used off-label, but although it can give short-term results, its effectiveness can lessen over time, and its isn't suitable for all cats. (The Problems with Pepcid and Other Antacids.)

Slippery Elm (specifically the inner bark of Ulmus rubra) is often referred to by holistic veterinarians as "nature’s Pepto-Bismol." Its primary power comes from mucilage, a fiber that turns into a slick, soothing gel when mixed with water.

For cats, this gel acts like a "liquid bandage" for the internal linings of the body. Here are the main benefits:

1. Digestive Relief (The "All-in-One" Solution)
Slippery elm is unique because it can help with two opposite problems:

Diarrhea: The fiber and mucilage add bulk to stools and soothe the inflamed intestinal lining.

Constipation: Its lubricating properties help "slide" waste through the colon more easily.

Nausea and Vomiting: By coating the stomach lining, it can reduce irritation from stomach acid, which is particularly helpful for cats with Chronic Kidney Disease (CKD) or acid reflux.

2. Hairball Management
Because it lubricates the digestive tract, slippery elm can help swallowed fur pass through the system more smoothly instead of getting stuck in the stomach to form a hairball.

3. Urinary Tract & Bladder Support
While it doesn't travel directly to the bladder, slippery elm contains pentosans, a type of sugar that may help soothe the lining of the urinary tract. This makes it a popular supportive supplement for cats suffering from Feline Lower Urinary Tract Disease (FLUTD) or cystitis.

4. Respiratory & Throat Health
If your cat has a dry cough or a sore throat (sometimes seen after dental surgery or during respiratory infections), slippery elm coats the throat to reduce the urge to cough and makes swallowing more comfortable.

5. Skin Healing (External Use)
When mixed with a little cold water into a paste, it can be applied to "hot spots," rashes, or minor wounds as a cooling, protective poultice.


Making a slippery elm syrup is the most effective way to use this herb for nausea or throat irritation, as the pre-thickened gel coats the digestive tract immediately.

Stovetop Recipe

This method creates a smooth, molasses-like consistency that is easy to dose.

Ingredients

* 1 tsp Slippery Elm Bark Powder (pure inner bark)
* 1/2 cup Cold Water

Instructions

1. Whisk while cold: Place the water and powder in a small stainless steel saucepan. Use a small whisk or fork to mix them while the water is still cold—this prevents the powder from clumping.
2. Simmer: Place the pan over low heat. Bring the mixture to a very low simmer, stirring constantly.
3. Thicken: Continue to simmer and stir for about **2–3 minutes**. You will see it thicken into a consistency similar to watery egg whites or light syrup.
4. Cool: Remove from heat and let it cool completely. It will continue to thicken slightly as it cools.

---

Storage & Dosing

* Storage:** Store in a glass jar in the refrigerator. It stays fresh for about **5 days**. If it changes color significantly or smells sour, discard it and make a fresh batch.
* Dosage:** For a typical 10lb cat, give **1/4 to 1/2 teaspoon** (approx. 1.25–2.5 ml) up to 4 times a day.
* Administration:** * **For Nausea/Acid Reflux:** Give it 30 minutes **before** a meal to coat the stomach.
* For Diarrhea/Constipation:** You can mix it directly into wet food.
* For Mouth Ulcers:** Use a syringe to gently dab or drop it onto the affected areas.



Pro-Tips for "Picky" Cats

If your cat isn't a fan of the plain syrup, you can try these tricks:

* **The Broth Swap:** Use plain, sodium-free chicken or beef broth (ensure it has **no** onions or garlic) instead of water to make the syrup.
* **The Food Topper:** Mix the dose of syrup with a tiny amount of Churu or their favorite wet treat.
* **Syringe Method:** If they refuse to eat it voluntarily, the syrup is smooth enough to be administered via a needleless plastic syringe into the side of the mouth.



Sources

Slippery Elm Bark
Safe and natural treatment for relief from nausea, stomach acid and other digestive ailments.
Slippery elm bark for FIP cats


DIY Cat Tummy Soother (Slippery Elm Syrup!)


Slippery Elm
Slippery Elm | Little Big Cat - Dr. Jean Hofve



Important tips for use

The "2-Hour Rule": Because slippery elm coats the digestive tract, it can interfere with the absorption of other medications. Always give other meds at least 2 hours before or after slippery elm.

Wait for the Gel: For the best results, mix the powder with water to form a "gruel" or syrup before feeding. Most cats find the taste mild and slightly sweet.


Check the Source: Ensure you are using inner bark powder (light tan/cream color). Avoid products containing the outer bark, which can be irritating.
this is great!! i knew about Slippery Elm.. but didnt know all this. my head is spinning w everythigg we need to add.. is there a way to buy some or its best to make it? the ckd forum talks on it and recommends it.. tysm for adding all this too. ☺️🫶🏼
 
I buy the powder in a bag like this. You use so little each time that it's probably a lifetime supply.
If you buy it in capsules or a pre-mixed syrup, you're paying $$$

You know how manufacturers will invent some supplement with flashy marketing in a tiny bottle and sell it for $60 as "especially for cats"?
Just get a bag like this and mix it up at home. Because it's good for people too. And actually very tasty!
Whenever I've had flu or a digestive upset, I whisk a teaspoon of SE in a mug of hot water.

1768676933485.png
 
Butch has pancreatis and gets flares. I give him Cerenia daily (16 mg) 1/4 tablet (I cut 1 tab into 4) and I use Mirataz as needed (sometimes less than a full dose for couple of days). I also give him 1/4 tsp 2x daily of MiraLAX for his constipation.

Sending healing vines to Pudge 🍃🍃🍃💕💕
💖🫶🏼 thats really nice to hear it can be used whenever needed.. i am waiting to give more Mirataz if needed as hes been eating still pretty well 🥹.. im so sorry about about his pancreatitis tho.. i hope he feels better soon 😭 that sounds like a good regimen 🫶🏼 he hasnt gone well and its been like 3-4 days.. yikes!!
 
He got his Cerenia.. but think too late. Hope it helps him soon.. 😭 he got it down tho. yayy..

It makes me sad tho to see him like this.. :(

❓: Also, any advice on treating constipation much much appreciated!! He went yesterday but not much.. doctor said he was then didnt offer something to do (and i say nothinf cause he was still going ok at the time.. 😪😪😪😪😪) 🫶🏼

@Suzanne & Darcy he is indeed having trouble now.. 🫠💖 things we can do?.. his probiotic was pretty sufficient all this time but think he needs more help now..
Start with MiraLax at a small dose of 1/8 tsp. twice a day. If he wasn’t already constipated you could start with less, but I am thinking you should start here and reduce after he starts going again. You don’t want him blocked. The doctor can get you some Lactulose if you really need it (if-the MiraLax doesn’t work.)
 
You can also supplement with slippery elm bark, yes, but don’t dork around with that as the first line treatment if he’s already constipated. He needs to get his bowels moving ASAP so I would start with MiraLAX and then add some other things like Slippery Elm Bark syrup (you can even give that now if you want to, but also please give the MiraLax.)
 
There are some other things that can help too, like adding in a little psyllium husk powder to his food, although it changes the texture of the food and my cats generally hate that because it makes the food kind of sticky and pasty.

I have cats who don’t mind a little pumpkin mixed into their food for fiber. I keep freeze dried pumpkin on hand for convenience. Some cats don’t like the flavor though. You can run to the store and just buy a can of plain pumpkin and try a small amount mixed into wet food. The problem with a lot of these things is that you can put your cat off of eating if they already have an appetite problem. More to come…
 
Pudge's blood sugar numbers are creeping up as the depot goes away. You might want to consider giving him insulin again.

Cerenia takes a little longer to take effect. I'd give it a couple hours before Mirataz, if using it. Ondansetron you can give 3-4 times a day. With his weight, his dose can range from 3-6 mg. Try 4 and see how it goes. It can take around 30 minutes or so to take effect, so give it that much before his main meals.
💖 omg my SS is a mess btw.. will fix it asap sorry.. but the last few cycles are right. was just thinking on this too last night.. 🫶🏼 was thinking it too.. and considering tonite. so far hes eating ok thankfully 🥹 last dose of Mirataz was 1 pm.. if he goes off or cant eat, ill put another Mirataz dose, maybe a little smaller one?.. he got so hungry about 12 hrs in last night 😕 it was like snacks on the hour.. i woke to him eating some treats that was on the floor i didnt realize.. 🥺 ..thinking maybe 1/2 dose to start with? Or just go right back when we do?.. 🫠💖

is Mirataz also something not needed everyday depending on how its received?.. im noticing/finding out some do everyday.. others once/week.. or every few days.. i hear its good not to use too much.. as little as possible. Today i tried getting ahead of it cuz the Mirataz was started after the Cerenia yesterday and didnt want a gap in his anti nausea dose.. tysm for the directions.. ✨
 
I buy the powder in a bag like this. You use so little each time that it's probably a lifetime supply.
If you buy it in capsules or a pre-mixed syrup, you're paying $$$

You know how manufacturers will invent some supplement with flashy marketing in a tiny bottle and sell it for $60 as "especially for cats"?
Just get a bag like this and mix it up at home. Because it's good for people too. And actually very tasty!
Whenever I've had flu or a digestive upset, I whisk a teaspoon of SE in a mug of hot water.

View attachment 76528
tysm! think will get him some MiraLax rn.. get him going.. will also try to do this. 🫶🏼
 
Start with MiraLax at a small dose of 1/8 tsp. twice a day. If he wasn’t already constipated you could start with less, but I am thinking you should start here and reduce after he starts going again. You don’t want him blocked. The doctor can get you some Lactulose if you really need it (if-the MiraLax doesn’t work.)
💖💖💖 ok! thats what one vet of his siggesyed years go.. but said once/day, he should get it twice for now til we see something? does it need to be spaced out? like morning/night? stick em in two snacks? i have a measuring spoon waiting..

You can also supplement with slippery elm bark, yes, but don’t dork around with that as the first line treatment if he’s already constipated. He needs to get his bowels moving ASAP so I would start with MiraLAX and then add some other things like Slippery Elm Bark syrup (you can even give that now if you want to, but also please give the MiraLax.)
will definitely get some today; also pick up his Ondansetron.. ty for mentioning on the Eleura.. wont be using that 😅🫶🏼

There are some other things that can help too, like adding in a little psyllium husk powder to his food, although it changes the texture of the food and my cats generally hate that because it makes the food kind of sticky and pasty.

I have cats who don’t mind a little pumpkin mixed into their food for fiber. I keep freeze dried pumpkin on hand for convenience. Some cats don’t like the flavor though. You can run to the store and just buy a can of plain pumpkin and try a small amount mixed into wet food. The problem with a lot of these things is that you can put your cat off of eating if they already have an appetite problem. More to come…
i will try what i can! cause right.. trying best to keep him on eating. i will think on all these options great ones tyyy 🥲💖🫶🏼
 
As for Mirataz on the ear. I have given every other day to my CKD cats and it was effective. CKD cats can’t clear many different medications as quickly as a cat with normally functioning kidneys so there are actually some that need a reduced dose as well as reduced frequency.
 
ty!!! right 💖🫶🏼 and will add the beech nut squash to list of options ~ how to give everyday? 1/8 tsp
Morning/Night, in a snack?..
Some cats will eat it straight but it can be mixed into food. I would try once a day at first. With these constipation “remedies” it’s what they call “dose to effect” meaning you increase the amount or frequency as needed for your individual cat. If he starts to get loose stools then you back off.
 
I see you are getting some good advice on the tanyackd group. I was just worried because I saw that you said you weren’t going to give fluids unless absolutely necessary. And you are going to take him to the ER for this??

But if he’s constipated he’s already dehydrated. The feline crf.org website does a pretty good job of explaining how when a cat has kidney disease, it’s body will try to suck up every bit of moisture from the body, including from the poop — and that is how the poop ends up so hard and dry — because the cats body is trying to use any moisture that it can get so that’s why I’m saying that constipation basically equals dehydration, and the constipation will only become worse generally speaking if the cat is dehydrated.
 
Mirataz is no more than once per day. On the felinecrf website, there are pointers to research saying every two days for cats with CKD. If Pudge reacted strongly to the last amount you gave, do less next time.

Squash can be mixed in with food.
right! For sure.. 💖 supposed to be 24 hrs, or more working too did i read that somewhere right? and it seems he sure did.. next time will def use less. ☹️😕 glad it helped him tho!! ten thousand percent.. 😭
Psyllium husk fiber is a good option for constipation. Start with a pinch, work up to 1/8 tsp AM and PM. Don't get it in the Metamucil form as that one has sugar in it.
oooh!! will look into ~ got the MiraLax tho tonite! ✨🫶🏼
 
I see you are getting some good advice on the tanyackd group. I was just worried because I saw that you said you weren’t going to give fluids unless absolutely necessary. And you are going to take him to the ER for this??

But if he’s constipated he’s already dehydrated. The feline crf.org website does a pretty good job of explaining how when a cat has kidney disease, it’s body will try to suck up every bit of moisture from the body, including from the poop — and that is how the poop ends up so hard and dry — because the cats body is trying to use any moisture that it can get so that’s why I’m saying that constipation basically equals dehydration, and the constipation will only become worse generally speaking if the cat is dehydrated.
dear me ~ will get back asap. Need to eat.. ans give Pudgles a bit of Lantus.. 💖 def respond more soon.. 😭😭
 
💖 omg my SS is a mess btw.. will fix it asap sorry.. but the last few cycles are right. was just thinking on this too last night.. 🫶🏼 was thinking it too.. and considering tonite. so far hes eating ok thankfully 🥹 last dose of Mirataz was 1 pm.. if he goes off or cant eat, ill put another Mirataz dose, maybe a little smaller one?.. he got so hungry about 12 hrs in last night 😕 it was like snacks on the hour.. i woke to him eating some treats that was on the floor i didnt realize.. 🥺 ..thinking maybe 1/2 dose to start with? Or just go right back when we do?.. 🫠💖

is Mirataz also something not needed everyday depending on how its received?.. im noticing/finding out some do everyday.. others once/week.. or every few days.. i hear its good not to use too much.. as little as possible. Today i tried getting ahead of it cuz the Mirataz was started after the Cerenia yesterday and didnt want a gap in his anti nausea dose.. tysm for the directions.. ✨
With the Mirataz, switch ears each day and wash off the previous ear each day (for good absorption).
And wear a glove or finger cot so you don’t absorb the meds. Wash hands well 💓
 
It’s okay. Don’t stress! You have lots to do! You can reply tomorrow if a reply is even necessary. You can let us know how Pudge is doing tomorrow.
hiiii 💖💖🫶🏼 thanks for understanding.. we appreciate the help so so much. ✨.. he got some Miralax last night; trying to get in the second one soon.. cuz he went a little today, but hes constipated for sure :( :( also got the Ondansetron! its not the melts, but is tablet.. can fit into a treat 😊
Yes. Spaced out morning and evening on the MiraLax

Remember that dehydration causes the constipation — so if he needs fluids he needs fluids.
doing best w spacing.. trying to fit and find a good routine now.. then can go frm here fitting everything else left 🫠.. he got one last night; will give soon again.

i am very concerned about dehydration.. man, he was going just fine too.. would like to do some fluids more regularly ~ was thinking instead of a giant dose once every few days.. maybe we could do like 50-75 every day, or next.. i think that 120 really made him uncomfortable :/ ive come up with a better routine i think would work better too. and if we have to yup! if i find it bothers and affects us really badly over time.. depending if still on them, then right.. the ER is willing to do it for you for free (the one near me anyway) for example in the past when we had meds i didnt think i could do, id take him there, and they did it for me no charge! :)
As for Mirataz on the ear. I have given every other day to my CKD cats and it was effective. CKD cats can’t clear many different medications as quickly as a cat with normally functioning kidneys so there are actually some that need a reduced dose as well as reduced frequency.
Don’t give the full 1.5 inch strip of ointment! (You know the line on the box of Mirataz that tells you how much to give — don’t do it!)
Didn’t your vet give you any guidance on how much to give?
omg why doesnt no one open their mouth and say this?? Suzannee he got that full strip!!! thats what we were instructed at the ER….. good thing i didnt do a fat line!! geez…. :/ and the regular vet didnt say nothing either. sigh. 🤧
Some cats will eat it straight but it can be mixed into food. I would try once a day at first. With these constipation “remedies” it’s what they call “dose to effect” meaning you increase the amount or frequency as needed for your individual cat. If he starts to get loose stools then you back off.
i see!! doing Miralax for rn.. like him to go. :( also.. is there a way to get ahead of the dehydration?.. like eventually your find a routine that straightens it out? or if dealing w this, theres always going to be some degree?.. 😭❤️‍🩹
I see you are getting some good advice on the tanyackd group. I was just worried because I saw that you said you weren’t going to give fluids unless absolutely necessary. And you are going to take him to the ER for this??

But if he’s constipated he’s already dehydrated. The feline crf.org website does a pretty good job of explaining how when a cat has kidney disease, it’s body will try to suck up every bit of moisture from the body, including from the poop — and that is how the poop ends up so hard and dry — because the cats body is trying to use any moisture that it can get so that’s why I’m saying that constipation basically equals dehydration, and the constipation will only become worse generally speaking if the cat is dehydrated.
tysm for seeing us there!! haha 💖💖 i think so too, definitely glad you think so as well.. right, again, if we have to.. we’ll go. im going to do try what i can tho at home.. maybe.. think will try some today. i think i will only do tho 50-75 at a time.. or is that just too little? i worry about his ticker.. 🫠❤️‍🩹
 
With the Mirataz, switch ears each day and wash off the previous ear each day (for good absorption).
And wear a glove or finger cot so you don’t absorb the meds. Wash hands well 💓
💖💕💞💘💖💘💝💞💖💕💓💗💓 we skipped a day tho.. if we need to use some more today, can just use the same ear u think? cuz i test on the other.. 😭😅💖 also, how to wash off?.. like water and a tissue/bounty ok? he wont let me use soap/sink.. 😕
 
💖💕💞💘💖💘💝💞💖💕💓💗💓 we skipped a day tho.. if we need to use some more today, can just use the same ear u think? cuz i test on the other.. 😭😅💖 also, how to wash off?.. like water and a tissue/bounty ok? he wont let me use soap/sink.. 😕
A wet paper towel is fine. Skipping a day is good after he had such a large amount before. Is he eating today?I had a vet tell me recently that she would do just a pea size amount of Mirataz every day with her cat so I guess it’s all in what will work for each individual cat.
 
hiiii 💖💖🫶🏼 thanks for understanding.. we appreciate the help so so much. ✨.. he got some Miralax last night; trying to get in the second one soon.. cuz he went a little today, but hes constipated for sure :( :( also got the Ondansetron! its not the melts, but is tablet.. can fit into a treat 😊

doing best w spacing.. trying to fit and find a good routine now.. then can go frm here fitting everything else left 🫠.. he got one last night; will give soon again.

i am very concerned about dehydration.. man, he was going just fine too.. would like to do some fluids more regularly ~ was thinking instead of a giant dose once every few days.. maybe we could do like 50-75 every day, or next.. i think that 120 really made him uncomfortable :/ ive come up with a better routine i think would work better too. and if we have to yup! if i find it bothers and affects us really badly over time.. depending if still on them, then right.. the ER is willing to do it for you for free (the one near me anyway) for example in the past when we had meds i didnt think i could do, id take him there, and they did it for me no charge! :)


omg why doesnt no one open their mouth and say this?? Suzannee he got that full strip!!! thats what we were instructed at the ER….. good thing i didnt do a fat line!! geez…. :/ and the regular vet didnt say nothing either. sigh. 🤧

i see!! doing Miralax for rn.. like him to go. :( also.. is there a way to get ahead of the dehydration?.. like eventually your find a routine that straightens it out? or if dealing w this, theres always going to be some degree?.. 😭❤️‍🩹

tysm for seeing us there!! haha 💖💖 i think so too, definitely glad you think so as well.. right, again, if we have to.. we’ll go. im going to do try what i can tho at home.. maybe.. think will try some today. i think i will only do tho 50-75 at a time.. or is that just too little? i worry about his ticker.. 🫠❤️‍🩹
Good. 120 mL is too much for most cats (unless it’s a really large cat) and can give them a pleural effusion if they get over hydrated (water in the pleural space around the lungs) or worse.

I think doing it more regularly with less - like 75 mL and not more than 100 mL is safer than trying to do a larger amount less frequently.
 
Good. 120 mL is too much for most cats (unless it’s a really large cat) and can give them a pleural effusion if they get over hydrated (water in the pleural space around the lungs) or worse.

I think doing it more regularly with less - like 75 mL and not more than 100 mL is safer than trying to do a larger amount less frequently.
ty!!! i think so too.. and less difficult to deal with each time. ✨ due, tho, like now for more.. still waiting on the ER vet to get back?..

ty for the reminder! for me tho, outside of squishiness and coughs, the signs are similar to other things that are just associated w everything???.. 🥲🥲🥲🥲 unless i read it wrong? also cause my poor precious has lost weight.. his little skin hangs a little.. and im trying to judge whats normal and not for him.. 😰..
 
ty!!! i think so too.. and less difficult to deal with each time. ✨ due, tho, like now for more.. still waiting on the ER vet to get back?..

ty for the reminder! for me tho, outside of squishiness and coughs, the signs are similar to other things that are just associated w everything???.. 🥲🥲🥲🥲 unless i read it wrong? also cause my poor precious has lost weight.. his little skin hangs a little.. and im trying to judge whats normal and not for him.. 😰..
how much does he weigh?
 
You should be able to see and feel if there’s still fluid pooled somewhere like around his elbows. You should familiarize yourself with his normal respiratory rate by counting for 15 seconds— each rise and fall of his chest as one breath (when he is asleep and not purring). Then you will be able to tell if there’s an increase in his resting respiratory rate. Another good thing to do is to weigh him on a baby scale each day (and before any fluid is given.) Just make sure he isn’t gaining an abnormal amount of weight.
 
how much does he weigh?
hes 13 now.. maybe less.. used to be 15.. 😭😭😭

ty!! can try to follow that.. it went down his arm the last time and was easy to see.. was just thinking, can i judge hydration too by how his stools look?.. like if they start to improve?? or that doesnt work? 🧐
 
At 13 lbs. he probably can have 100 mLs as long as his heart is healthy. So try at least 75 on a regular basis (again, as long as his heart is sound) and possibly you cam do 100.
 
At 13 lbs. he probably can have 100 mLs as long as his heart is healthy. So try at least 75 on a regular basis (again, as long as his heart is sound) and possibly you cam do 100.
💖💖.. i heard it was like.. 10 mL/pound something?.. but w a healthy heart right.. im happy to do 25-50 also if its even safer.. he seemed to tolerate that just fine. 😊😊 that needle tho…… 🫠

Omg!!! Was 120 the other day too much???! Geez!!! 😰😰😰
 
Omg!!! Was 120 the other day too much???! Geez!!!
Not too much as long as his heart is good. There are different opinions among vets on this. Some say that you should never exceed 100 mL. Some will go with the 10 mL per Lb. I have to admit that, some of my cats who were big have done great on 120 mL (that is all I was willing to give) but other cats whom I was told to give 120-150 mL to got pleural effusion (BUT nobody told me she had developed dilated cardiomyopathy.
 
Back
Top