1/17 Moo; AMPS 155, +7 128, PMPS 166

Status
Not open for further replies.

Moosmommy

Member Since 2012
i like that nadir! (would that be condsidered nadir at +7? Id always been doing around +6 but today I couldn't get one in until +7 because my lunch break was later than normal)
 
I think that 128 it is a mighty fine number nadir or not! I sort of call anything around mid-cycle a "nadir" although it technically refers to the lowest point. If in doubt you can always just say you're diggin' the +7!
 
Thanks Tara! :) Here's hoping for more good numbers!

Quick question for you... Do you have a place you get test strips at that you find is cheaper than others?
I called around and it seems like for 50 for my TruTest strips is about 39.99 anywhere ya go...
Can you get them cheap online or anything? (i know this isnt a supply forum, just wondered if you had a suggestion)
 
Hmm - I use the ReliOn Prime and the test strips are about $9 for 50. But I know some folks get other brands from Ebay and other online sources. You just need to be sure and check the expiration date on them. I started out with the OneTouch Ultra Mini and those dang things were over $100! :shock:
 
Yeah I just found them for $20 for 100 on amazon!!! However I only have 6 strips left, so I need them sooner then they will get here! Ack!
 
Yikes! Well you might just have to suck this one up and then order ahead next time. Glad you found a better price! I like to keep a stock of about 100 onhand. As in, when I get down to about 75 strips, I order 2 bottles online.
 
Hi Annie

You found OT test strips 100 for $20 on amazon? Did you check the expiration dates? I've been using a OT since Gracie was dx in Sep, 2010 and the cheapest I've found them is $20/50 on eBay if I'm lucky. But I'm really picky about expiration dates and from whom I buy. I only buy from top rated sellers, only buy when shipping is free, and make sure the expiration date is three or four months down the road at the least. I just got a really good deal on 300 strips that expire in 4/2013 for $120 but my eBay bucks brought it down to $100. :-D I also buy in bulk...usually no less than 300 and order more when I'm down to 150 strips.

Moo is looking very good! You're doing a super job with him :-D
 
Thanks Marjie!

I did buy the ones on Ebay. One of the packs expires in April... But I will use 50 by then for sure.
The other expires in like October. And the seller was 99.9% rated. So hopefully I will be ok. It was like $4 shipping. So my total was only $20 with shipping.
I'm going to see if maybe my vet would possibly give me a few to get me through until the strips come in the mail. Now I know next time to order early! I just thought Id get them from the vet last minute, but I guess it's smarter to buy cheaper online!

Oh and they are TrueTest, not OT
 
OOOH it does? lol
Whoops Typo!!!
I better go change that.
Sorry!

I did just find a guy on craigslist selling his supply of TrueTest strips for $10 a box and expiration dates are in 2014!
 
Yup, just checked the ad again to make sure... Says they are factory sealed...
He is selling 8 boxes at $10 a box... wonder if I should get as many as my $ allows right now.
 
I would :-D

From the other condo you started:
moosmommy said:
Ok, so right now at +5 Moo is at 98.
I want to ask now; before I am crunched for time between his reading/shoot in the morning and when I go to work.

What would be the 'safe' number to shoot at in the morning at his AMPS time? based on his numbers recently?

I just want to get it out there now so I am ready to go with it in the morning based on whatever reading I get.

You shot a 112 with a higher dose :-D So if you get anywhere near that, you should be fine to just shoot because he will be on his way up since he's at 98 now. Really, any number above 50 is safe to shoot if you have supplies and will be there to test BUT for new members, we do ask that you post if you get a number that is lower than what you've shot before. That way, someone can walk you through it and stay with you if need be.

What you want to look closely at is if the AMPS is a dropping number or a second dip. If he continues down into the AMPS from the 98, get a +11.5 and post for help. If he comes down, heads back up, and then drops again, that a second dip and typically very safe to shoot.

Two things...any time you shoot a number lower than you've shot before, you need to get a +1 and a +2. Also, please read "Dealing with Low Preshots" linked in my signature block in case no one is around ( doubtful).

Does that help?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top