1 /17 Monster AMPS 69, +2 52, +4 64

Monster's Mom

Member Since 2025
Previous

So Monster has been riding the wave so low that she is scaring me now. The alarm woke me up early this morning and I figured it would be 50 something as usual. No, it had been reading LO meaning under 40, I was able to test soon after that and it was 55. I think that is the lowest Contour reading I have, ever, for her. I second guessed shooting her this morning with her being at 69 but I wasn't fully awake yet and thinking she would get higher. She got a little food bump until onset and that's when she dove down again to 50. I'm thinking she's done with the insulin and honestly I'm afraid to give her anymore. I think I won't give her any tonight and see what happens. I think she's ready.
 
Good news, on another note. Mom got to be able to go home. They put in a picc line for home health to give the antibiotics for 5 more days. I've had to stay with Monster today while she keeps taking her low dips. If she liked going places, I would just take her with me. But she's more of a homebody, like me.
This is all too much to deal with at once!
 
On TR, a drop below 50 earns a dose reduction, and she earned that last night with the 44.

Some folks go straight to the OTJ trial after .10; others opt for the next dose below .10, which is the drop dose. Here is the sticky showing that dose (called "some insulin"). Sticky - Insulin Care & Syringe Info: Proper Handling, Drawing, Fine Dosing

I would definitely put up your "?" prefix to get some input on your decision. Check with Wendy, since she's been watching Monster.

One of the things about them going OTJ is that you want the numbers to be strong as they are going off insulin dependence because that can lead to a stronger remission.

I'm so glad your mom got to go home; I hope she continues to improve with the antibiotic regimen.

I can't imagine how stressful this ALL is; hang in there!
 
Back
Top