1/17 Mini Me PMPS 519

Status
Not open for further replies.

MiniandShawti

Member Since 2013
This is the first night with Mini Me on Lantus. I gave him 1.25 units cause I wanted to see how he reacted to it and he's had all high numbers so far. Checked him at +2 and it was 419. He's being really playful with my other cat tonight for the first time I've seen. I'm not sure how much to give him in the morning though.
 
Hi Silvia!

Welcome to you and Mini Me. What a story he has and what a saint you are for rescuing him. He's a very lucky guy...and very handsome.

If you are planning on following the Tight Regulation Protocol, the starting dose is .25u/kg of the cats ideal weight. If kitty is underweight, then it would be .25u/kg of current weight. So if Mini Me is not underweight and his ideal weight is 10 lbs, then it would be 10/2.2 (there are 2.2 lbs to the kilo) x .25 = 1.13u so I'd start him at 1u. However, if a kitty has started on another insulin, we usually recommend he start at 70% of the dose he was on. For Mini Me, 70% x 2.00 would roughly be 1.5u.

what do you think his ideal weight is? Because he wasn't on novolin very long, I think you could use the TR formulation if you are going to follow TR. I'll be up for a while if you want to let me know his weight and then we can discuss dose.

Thanks so much for having his SS and profile up. We're going to also ask you to get at least a PS test every time and either a mid cycle test each cycle or, if you work, an out the door/in the door and before bed tests in addition to the PS tests.

I'll give you a little more info once we determine the dose.
 
Mini weighs about 11 pounds right now and it seems about right as he's a bigger cat. He could actually stand to gain a pound or two. He has been on the Novolin since July but I've only had him since the day after Christmas. Only been testing since last week. I'm planning on doing a BG curve this weekend and I can test him at lunch and before bed as well. Any more interferes with work and they aren't find of letting my stop by for the couple minutes it takes to get enough blood from him. He likes to twitch his eat right as I poke him so I miss and have to do it again.
 
If he was on Novolin since July, I would use the 70% of his current dose on Novolin which was 2.00 so the lantus starting dose comes to 1.4u so you could start him anywhere between 1.25 and 1.5u. Do you have any other numbers prior to the ones on the SS do you think he's been running that high all along?

Normally we hold the initial dose for 5-7 cycles but since he's transitioning from another insulin, Per the TR protocol, i would leave him at this current dose for no more than six cycles. If his nadirs are above 300, I'd increase him to 1.75u. The midcycle tests are important so we know his approximate nadirs. A curve (every two hours) would be great if he will let you but even spot checks at PS, +3, +6, 10 give us a good idea of his numbers.

Lantus is a depot insulin so it works differently from Novolin which is a short term insulin. It's in, then it's out and you dose on the PS. With lantus, and levemir, we dose primarily on the nadir with some consideration given to PS. The L insulins like consistency in dose and time. So, as much as you can, it's best to shoot the same dose every 12 hours unless his dose needs to be adjusted because his BG is too high or too low.

You say he had infection...is it resolved? What kind of infection and was he on antibiotics? Is he eating well and drinking? Has he ever been treated for high ketones or diabetic ketoacidosis? Do you test his ketone levels? If you don't, you should.
Ketones can develop from not enough insulin + infection + not enough food/water.

To check ketones, buy Ketostix at the pharmacy, dip in his fresh urine, and compare to chart on bottle exactly 15 seconds after dipping in urine.
 
It was a UTI and the antibiotic cleared it up. He ways everything I give him and seems to be constantly drinking still. I have to add water to their fountain once or twice a day.. He was over 400 when I took him to the vet last Wednesday but that the only number I have. His other owners never had him tested again after he was diagnosed. He hasn't been treated for anything at all really before I got him. I haven't tested for ketone levels but will once I can get the stuff to do so.
 
Ok...so I'd leave his dose at 1.25u for no more than six cycles unless you see some movement into blue numbers. Also...if you get mid cycle tests and he is in the 400s or higher all the time, we probably want to raise him after FOUR cycles to 1.75u. Test him daily for ketones. Add extra water to his food.

Sund like a plan?
 
Mini certainly is a lucky guy to have had you step in and care for him. I agree with Marje's suggestions. Let's see how he does on this dose. It takes a little while for Lantus to start working. It's much gentler than Novolin so you won't see immediate results.

In the meantime, if you've not already done so, you may want to look over the starred, sticky notes at the top of the Board. Please ask questions. The people here are very knowledgeable and very generous with their time. I hope you'll post on a regular basis so we all have a change to follow Mini's progress.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top