1/17 Ivy AMBG 166, +3 193, +6 291, +9 309, Pmps 252, +3 164 Libre

Staci & Ivy

Member Since 2022
1/16/25
AMBG: 166 Libre

Good morning, we are headed to the vet this morning for an exam and lab work. Ivy is fasted and sedated. We will have labs drawn around +5.5. I will bring her home and feed her.
Skipped her insulin dose this morning and gave her half dose last night (so she did didn’t drop too low without food).

Paws crossed everything goes smoothly and we get good results. Hoping her T4 has improved.

Just as another observation, I used the longer needle length last night, the 8 mm needle, to administer the Lantus and I seem to have gotten a better cycle.
I still am questioning whether the 6 mm needle length that I was using (the prior day and earlier yesterday) are long enough and adequate for her. Maybe they’re just not long enough for Ivy? Is that actually a thing.,. is that possible?:bookworm:

Hope everyone has a safe day, stay warm :cat:
 
Hi Staci ,I hope all goes well at the vet.
Saying a prayer that the T4 has improved. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
I know you said on yesterday's thread that
Next day or two will be not so great until we can get on the other side of this and get her Depot and stabilized again .
It will happen
I hope what you give her to sedate her wears off soon. Poor baby.
 
Last edited:
1/16/25
AMBG: 166 Libre

Good morning, we are headed to the vet this morning for an exam and lab work. Ivy is fasted and sedated. We will have labs drawn around +5.5. I will bring her home and feed her.
Skipped her insulin dose this morning and gave her half dose last night (so she did didn’t drop too low without food).

Paws crossed everything goes smoothly and we get good results. Hoping her T4 has improved.

Just as another observation, I used the longer needle length last night, the 8 mm needle, to administer the Lantus and I seem to have gotten a better cycle.
I still am questioning whether the 6 mm needle length that I was using (the prior day and earlier yesterday) are long enough and adequate for her. Maybe they’re just not long enough for Ivy? Is that actually a thing.,. is that possible?:bookworm:

Hope everyone has a safe day, stay warm :cat:

I hope Ivy does very well on her vet journey and that the results are what you're hoping for. Very interesting comment about the needle length. I've done a little reading on needle size, and read that some didn't like the longer needle because it could accidentally go through to the other side of the "tent." For that reason I avoided it and opted for the shorter one, but if it's inserted correctly, and if it gets the insulin into a "better" layer under the skin, then you might be on to something.
 
I hope Ivy does very well on her vet journey and that the results are what you're hoping for. Very interesting comment about the needle length. I've done a little reading on needle size, and read that some didn't like the longer needle because it could accidentally go through to the other side of the "tent." For that reason I avoided it and opted for the shorter one, but if it's inserted correctly, and if it gets the insulin into a "better" layer under the skin, then you might be on to something.
I’ve been using an 8 mm needle length and I like it very much. Not too short, not too long. And I have good success with it. As soon as I tried the short ones, being 6 mm length, her glucose was high for a few days, but again it could’ve been a bounce cycle so still not sure.
As soon as I switched back to the 8 mm last night her numbers looked better. Again, it could be completely coincidental.
I was using the Relion 8 mm syringes, but they have recently discontinued them
So I will have to find a new brand if I would like to stick with 8 mm length, which I probably will do. I don’t need any more variables to make my brain hurt any more :banghead:
 
Hi Staci ,I hope all goes well at the vet.
Saying a prayer that the T4 has improved. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
I know you said on yesterday's thread that
Next day or two will be not so great until we can get on the other side of this and get her Depot and stabilized again .
It will happen
I hope what you give her to sedate her wears off soon. Poor baby.
Thank you so much for the support Diane, we really appreciate it. Sleepy Ivy sends her love back. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I hope things go well at the vet today. I think the needle length is just whatever you feel comfortable with. If you're used to the 8 mm and you tried the 6 mm, you may not have gotten the needle all the way under the skin and may not have gotten all the insulin in. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I hope things go well at the vet today. I think the needle length is just whatever you feel comfortable with. If you're used to the 8 mm and you tried the 6 mm, you may not have gotten the needle all the way under the skin and may not have gotten all the insulin in. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Thanks, Carla. That’s exactly what I’m wondering is if maybe it’s just not getting all the way in with the shorter needle. I think I’m just gonna have to find a way to stick to the 8 mm length that I’m used to so bummed they got rid of the syringes I like :blackeye::(
 
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B009LTE0DO?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20
From Amazon
@Staci & Ivy
What about these 8 mm syringes
These were the ones I used and really liked them . To bad they only come 60 in a box but they were really good

I remember giving you the same ones from ADW Diabetes
https://www.adwdiabetes.com/product/5739/ulticare-u100-vet-rx-half-unit-syringes-31g-3-10cc-60ct

ADW Diabetes Storewide Promotions
ADW5OFF
adw-coupon-adw5off.jpg

Take an additional $5.00 off all orders of $50.00 or more!

DIA10
adw-coupon-dia10.jpg

10% off your next order!
 
Last edited:
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B009LTE0DO?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20
From Amazon
@Staci & Ivy
What about these 8 mm syringes
These were the ones I used and really liked them . To bad they only come 60 in a box but they were really good

I remember giving you the same ones from ADW Diabetes
https://www.adwdiabetes.com/product/5739/ulticare-u100-vet-rx-half-unit-syringes-31g-3-10cc-60ct

ADW Diabetes Storewide Promotions
ADW5OFF
adw-coupon-adw5off.jpg

Take an additional $5.00 off all orders of $50.00 or more!

DIA10
adw-coupon-dia10.jpg

10% off your next order!
Thanks, Diane. I’ll figure something out. Just whining. Ignore me :kiss::kiss:
 
Hi Staci.
Glad the vet visit went as well as it could today, and I am sending prayers that Ivy's T4 has improved
I don't know much about the lengths, but I find that the 8mm is the best length for us. The other lengths were either too short or too long for Butch.
Wishing you a nice evening and safe surfing, Ivy! :cool:
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Staci.
Glad the vet visit went as well as it could today, and I am sending prayers that Ivy's T4 has improved
I don't know much about the lengths, but I find that the 8mm is the best length for us. The other lengths were either too short or too long for Butch.
Wishing you a nice evening and safe surfing, Ivy! :cool:
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
Hi Madeline, thanks for your input. I was starting to think I was going a little bit nuts, but that’s actually nothing new:blackeye:.
I just think for whatever reason the 6 mm are not gonna work for me. I’ve been trying to give it a good effort, but I’m just not satisfied I’m gonna just have to find an 8 mm that I like. Glad to hear you also are in camp 8 mm. We’re in good company.
Hugs to you and Butch and a safe surf as always :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I’ve been using an 8 mm needle length and I like it very much. Not too short, not too long. And I have good success with it. As soon as I tried the short ones, being 6 mm length, her glucose was high for a few days, but again it could’ve been a bounce cycle so still not sure.
As soon as I switched back to the 8 mm last night her numbers looked better. Again, it could be completely coincidental.
I was using the Relion 8 mm syringes, but they have recently discontinued them
So I will have to find a new brand if I would like to stick with 8 mm length, which I probably will do. I don’t need any more variables to make my brain hurt any more :banghead:

For what it's worth, I was just reordering my needles from Amazon, and I noticed that I've been using the 8mm length as well, and this is the brand I ordered the last time--brand was recommended by someone on this forum. I like them. https://www.amazon.com/dp/B009LTE0DO?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20
 
Hello Staci,

I'm glad to hear Ivy's vet visit went well today. Hopefully the results that come back on Monday are exactly what you wish for. In the meantime boys and I are sending lots of PAWsitive thoughts and vines and kisses.
Wishing you and Ivy a peaceful night with lots of sleep.
:bighug::cat::bighug::kiss::bighug::cat::bighug::kiss:
 
Back
Top