1/17 Eddie AMPS 436, +6 = 167, PMPS = 336, +7 = 171

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 1/17 Eddie AMPS 436

Hindsight is always great. Yes, you probably could have given the higher dose because he had a longer drop to get to those lower numbers. But - as we are gathering data - :mrgreen: the lower dose will show you how it works. If he stays higher today, then you know you could have shot higher on numbers in the 400 range.

I see two possibilities. One is to feed a small meal right before that time when he starts to drop, to smooth out the cycle. It doesn't need to be more food - divide what he is already eating into thirds and feed around +4. The hope is that the food brings him up just when the insulin starts to drop him. The other is to shoot a different amount depending on the numbers. We call it a sliding scale. It works for some cats but a few don't do well with it. Bookworm's Cassie seems to like one dose for several cycles before anything changes so he is one the sliding scale didn't work for, but most cats do okay with it. So you'd need to try it and see. So maybe one unit for the yellows - the blues last night did make him bounce but they were great nadirs - not too low for safety. And 1.25 for the high pinks and reds?

Or a combo of both food and sliding scale. Maybe something to try this weekend?

You see why we call this a dance. :-|
 
Re: 1/17 Eddie AMPS 436

Thank you Sue!

I had thought we really didn't have enough info yet to develop a sliding scale, but looking at the recent data, it does seem pretty consistent that yellow PS's are going to drop him pretty low, and pink or red PS's he doesn't drop as much. I think we're game for trying a sliding scale this weekend :) It looks we are in a cycle where he drops at night, bounces in the AM, and holds fairly high for most of the AM cycle, comes back into reasonable numbers by PMPS, and then drops again at night. I usually do try to give Eddie "lunch" or a couple Tbsp's of Fancy Feast between meals but I've been feeding around nadir rather than when he starts to drop. It makes sense that feeding at the time he starts to go down would work better to even him out rather than waiting till he's hit nadir. We've given some thought to investing in a timed feeder, but we haven't bit the bullet yet.
 
Re: 1/17 Eddie AMPS 436, +6 = 167

At AM +6, we're at 167. Not too bad considering where we started this morning.

I envision Eddie's sugar dance as some crazy and bizarre modern dance routine :-D

Jen and Eddie
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top