1/17 Chip AMPS 86 +3 45 +5 58 +6 61 +9 79 PMPS 122

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dale 'n' Chip

Member Since 2012
This cycle started out with an ordinary hairball after AMPS, in which he upchucked more than half a can of FF. However I'm surprised that after half a hit of HC and re-eating (and keeping down) nearly a can of regular FF, I can barely get him over 60 after several hours. nailbite_smile

That's the only reason I'm tempted to take any tidge of a reduction. But I know better. I wasn't even sure how stable this "last good dose" is.

He started off the new year so well but then proceeded to give up every one of those reductions, which prompted me to vow he would never get another *optional* reduction.

I wish I knew why his reductions fail almost every time, and they fail so big that he ends up right back near the top of his dosing ladder all over again. He randomly launches into such a comprehensive harsh pink, it doesn't look like a normal dose failure for a cat otherwise appearing so nicely regulated.

Wonder what could be really going on here? :?

Chip's 1/2
 
Re: 1/17 Chip AMPS 86 +3 45 +5 58 +6 61

I know Lucy had a couple of false starts when she was earning reductions. She would get a bunch of reductions, then totally lose it and have to go all the way back up in dose, then later started going back down in dose again. It happens that way sometimes. I don't know why they usually insist on going allllllll the way back up to their original breakthrough dose, but that seems to be the case more often than not.

For Lucy, I try to think of them as trial runs. She wanted to go OTJ, but once she started testing out the lower doses she wasn't quite ready for them. Finally she really was ready and she went all the way OTJ, and has been nice and solid for almost 4 years now. I think she just wanted to wait until she knew she could do it right. So maybe Chip is just practicing.
 
Re: 1/17 Chip AMPS 86 +3 45 +5 58 +6 61 +9 79

I sure like it too! :smile:

Looking at Lucy's false starts is very illuminating.

I was too caught up in studying her successful (green all the way down) decent. But those other times are exactly what I'm seeing with Chip. Good to know I'm not totally crazy for taking him back up. For Chip the name of the game is regulation, so I will have to shoot whatever it takes for that.

I think what I've learned is once the reduction fails, don't linger too long. Holding it longer won't bring it back. And also after a failure, it may be best to revert back to full quarter unit increases, if the nearest "last good dose" is no longer stable.

Since I'm still not sure about the current "last good dose" I'll likely hold it longer.

Perhaps try three strikes (40-49) and the dose is out?

Thanks Libby, I was really getting concerned about this. That eases my concern greatly. :-D
 
Dale

I totally agree with Libby and have had to do the same with Gracie....we're on the way back up now and she's at the dose she was a year ago but she also had a bile duct infection which sidetracked her numbers for a bit and the ongoing treatment might still be doing it.

I think it is very worthwhile to try three times between 40-49 for Chip. A couple things to remember...since that is a more aggressive approach to reductions, we recommend that you reduce by 0.25u instead of shaving. Also, if he gets into the 20s and you reduce but need to take him right back up, the last good dose is not the one that got him in the 20s.

You're doing great and you are very perceptive on his dosing!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top