1/17 AM 306 & PM308 Nadir212 14 days lantus. Change dose?

LindanHuey

Member Since 2018
I am after advice as to whether it's time to move up Huey's insulin dose. He seems to have settled on a pattern with the current 2 unit dose.
Should we move up .25?
Vet says we could leave as is, but I think it's time to try and get a better result. Vet knows I am doing research and making decisions and is fine with that.
thanks.
 
Hi there and welcome.

Keep in mind that a lot of kitties go lower during the PM cycle so getting those test help to give information needed to whether or not increase.

Huey is beautiful, BTW!
 
We simply cant get .25 on the needles that are available in Australia. We tried, even with a magnifying glass over the syringe.. I've seen some advertised in the UK but the cost of post and the conversion is almost double cost of 3ml needles here, and they dont look that different. How does anyone get an accurate .25??
We are going to try going up .5, at least we know we will be accurate. Again..just doing our best, will test throughout the day and see what happens.
 
We simply cant get .25 on the needles that are available in Australia. We tried, even with a magnifying glass over the syringe.. I've seen some advertised in the UK but the cost of post and the conversion is almost double cost of 3ml needles here, and they dont look that different. How does anyone get an accurate .25??
We are going to try going up .5, at least we know we will be accurate. Again..just doing our best, will test throughout the day and see what happens.
A lot of members here use calipers to get an accurate dose. I don't know if they are available in Australia?
 
There is, but where is the information on how to use it with a syringe? And then I have to convince hubby to invest in one..and use it..as he does injections and NOT take it out to the shed!
 
thank you. I thought I looked in there....but suffering information overload..and stress with having to change our lifestyle and activities by a huge amount..we love dancing, it's our 'thing' to do for fun, socializing and relaxation.. going out now requires alot more organization, or not at all. Neither are finding that easy... Hubby just told me he has some in the shed for his car. He does the injections, I do the food, blood test, feeding, grooming, information seeking and all the other stuff required in a household with a diabetic cat and a dog with IMHA..two different diets, different medications. I'm going to do a lot of BG tests over the next few days, to see how he goes with the higher dose we've just started.
 
thank you. I thought I looked in there....but suffering information overload..and stress with having to change our lifestyle and activities by a huge amount..we love dancing, it's our 'thing' to do for fun, socializing and relaxation.. going out now requires alot more organization, or not at all. Neither are finding that easy... Hubby just told me he has some in the shed for his car. He does the injections, I do the food, blood test, feeding, grooming, information seeking and all the other stuff required in a household with a diabetic cat and a dog with IMHA..two different diets, different medications. I'm going to do a lot of BG tests over the next few days, to see how he goes with the higher dose we've just started.
It's a lot to wrap your mind around and I still have to re-wrap my mind around stuff and re-learn stuff. We can all commiserate with the adjustment that a diabetic cat makes to our lives. Ironically enough, we refer to this journey with our sugar cats as a dance.........glad you hubby like dancing.

Keep posting and keep asking questions. That is how we all learn. :)
 
Are you using the BD syringes? There is an insulin ruler template here. The instructions and pictures on how to use it are in the paper called Management of Diabetic Cats that is attached to the Sticky Note on Tight Regulation. See the section on Fine Dosing. It'll help you get those 0.25 unit changes.
 
Back
Top