? 1/17/25 WATSON AMPS 53

Rosie Lass

Active Member
Help please. Today Watson was supposed to be increased .25 to 3.75 after 2 weeks of nearly all 400+ readings. His sensor died just after 6pm last night (+8) so I have no overnight reading but this moring he was 53 with meter.

I know I shouldn't give him his insulin this morning, right? BUT, now what do I do about dosages? Do I reduce even though he was mosted 400+ at 3.75?


Edited to add: I did put a new sensor on him at 10:30am so it should be ready in 60 minutes

https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...amps-400-libre-259-meter-1-thru-4-400.297412/
 
Help please. Today Watson was supposed to be increased .25 to 3.75 after 2 weeks of nearly all 400+ readings. His sensor died just after 6pm last night (+8) so I have no overnight reading but this moring he was 53 with meter.

I know I shouldn't give him his insulin this morning, right? BUT, now what do I do about dosages? Do I reduce even though he was mosted 400+ at 3.75?


Edited to add: I did put a new sensor on him at 10:30am so it should be ready in 60 minutes

https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...amps-400-libre-259-meter-1-thru-4-400.297412/
Good job with the new sensor Rosie!
If he’s still reading low on the new sensor you could test him again to make sure.
Stay safe, Watson!
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
With SLGS you don't shoot below 90. Has he eaten? Can you get another test now?

ETA: can you get another test. Maybe it was a bad strip?
@Bandit's Mom I did try with a second strip and got 52 that time. I gave him breakfast and a few treats. He has had a second test now, at what would have been plus one and it was 111 with the meter
 
Below 90 means a reduction of 0.25 units. But you could try going back to 3.5 units.

By the way, a fat or skinny dose at his size of dose doesn't do much.

Did you dose last night? The PMPS Units cell is blank.
 
@Staci & Ivy
The sensor is still giving me a wait 10 minutes message but I did test him a second time With the meter at what would have been +one and he was 111
I think the 10 minute messages are very common when the glucose is rising or falling quickly. It takes the sensor time to catch up and recalibrate I believe.

Did the sensor stop doing that Rosie?

I’m sure he’s come up since you skipped his shot today.
 
Below 90 means a reduction of 0.25 units. But you could try going back to 3.5 units.

By the way, a fat or skinny dose at his size of dose doesn't do much.

Did you dose last night? The PMPS Units cell is blank.
O
@Wendy&Neko OK I'll stay at 3.5 another 2 weeks then. Yes, I did dose last night, I fixed the spreadsheet.
 
I think the 10 minute messages are very common when the glucose is rising or falling quickly. It takes the sensor time to catch up and recalibrate I believe.

Did the sensor stop doing that Rosie?

I’m sure he’s come up since you skipped his shot today.

@Staci & Ivy So far this sensor is giving actual readings. The last one was awful.....multiple 10 minute message every day. Yes, he's up at 400+ now do will be getting his shot tonight. Staying at 3.5 since this low reading must have been a crazy fluke with the nearly 2 weeks of 400+'s
 
@Staci & Ivy So far this sensor is giving actual readings. The last one was awful.....multiple 10 minute message every day. Yes, he's up at 400+ now do will be getting his shot tonight. Staying at 3.5 since this low reading must have been a crazy fluke with the nearly 2 weeks of 400+'s[/QUOTE
Glad it’s working Rosie!!

why are you holding doses 2 weeks? With SLGS it should be held one week then evaluated. Did someone tell you to hold 2 weeks?
(Just curious).
 
Hi Rosie. I’m glad that sensor is working!

Why are you holding doses 2 weeks? With SLGS it should be held one week then evaluated. Did someone tell you to hold 2 weeks?
(Just curious).
 
With the handheld meter reading low to mid 200s and the libre reading consistently over 400, and the 10 minute messages, it makes me wonder if there’s an issue with the libre. I think I might try to get some mid-cycle checks with a meter for good measure (though perhaps not right after skipping a dose as one would expect the numbers to be high at that point). Never hurts to double check.
 
With the handheld meter reading low to mid 200s and the libre reading consistently over 400, and the 10 minute messages, it makes me wonder if there’s an issue with the libre. I think I might try to get some mid-cycle checks with a meter for good measure (though perhaps not right after skipping a dose as one would expect the numbers to be high at that point). Never hurts to double check.
Will do.
 
Back
Top