1/17/13 Boots AMPS PMPS 222+2 211 +5 227 +8 286

Status
Not open for further replies.

Shelly/Boots

Member Since 2012
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=87075 (Yesterday's Condo)

Her pm shot is 12:15PM. I'm going to 75. just want feed back if thats best. part of me wants to do more. but I won't.
Her .50 is a little skinny I think.

Ok I'm freaking out...this is not Boots. This couldn't just be the over-eating...right I'm feeding her raw w/tcfeline Premix
and she is eating double the amount.
Since the vet, she has been loosing patches of hair. Has a skin condition. wasn't loosing hair before vet. They cut her
claws, so I figured it was the claws when she scratches. Her teeth issue might just have gotten worse.

Both spread sheets old and new are up. The last few months of the old spread sheet and the first three days of the new
SS are what she usually is like. Huge +11 Dose increase? and .75?
 
Re: 1/17 Boots AMPS 226 +11 262 Dose advise? TIMELY!! HELP.

Look, this is just one cycle and you think you had a furshot. It will take a little time to refill the she if you did. I'd give it another cycle at .5u and see what happens. Tess often does a delayed bounce form something like that. The shed took care of the cycle w/ the furshot and now it needs to catch up.
 
Re: 1/17 Boots AMPS 226 +11 262 Dose advise? TIMELY!! HELP.

I can skip doses with Boots. She has a partial working pancreas. It never affects her much. I even once in awhile
see if she will go OTJ. Never goes too high when I do, but don't want to exhaust the pancreas, so that trial doesn't
last too long. Haven't skipped for about a month. Actually the opposite. Been kind of anal about taking care of her.
 
Re: 1/17 Boots AMPS 226 +11 262 Dose advise? TIMELY!! HELP.

Your link to your Wed. condo isn't working. You need to put the address from your browser between the brackets. Just click on the URL button above the text box.

You asked about this yesterday. If you gave a fur shot, you may see higher numbers. OTOH, if Boots is having a dental issue, it can throw a well regulated cat out of regulation. We've seen cats return from the Falls due to dental issues.
 
Re: 1/17 Boots AMPS 226 +11 262 Dose advise? TIMELY!! HELP.

I'm aware I asked yesterday and we said we would see through a cycle and we did..I didn't raise it in the AM. Now
it's another cycle. Can't change thread ...can in a couple have to shoot and go to work
 
Re: 1/17 Boots AMPS 226 +11 262 Dose advise? TIMELY!! HELP.

I think it's OK to raise the dose. You know what's typical for Boots. I would get his teeth looked at, though.
 
Re: 1/17 Boots AMPS 226 +11 262 +2 222

Thank you Sienne,
I don't doubt myself when instructing someone else, but I haven't raised her in so long. It's weird for me.

I had a complete phyisical done on her because of her mouth and the grinding. Vet wanted to make the
way safe for when she has to goes under. That was last week. and am going to see
a dental specialist because of her age. She has advanced stage mouth disease. I knew that,,just hadn't
had to deal with high BS's. Shot a f50.
 
Re: 1/17 Boots AMPS 226 +11 262 Dose advise? TIMELY!! HELP.

Did the vet tell you what the nature of the dental problem is?

FWIW -- it's much easier to be objective when it's someone else's cat. When it's your own, all bets are off.
 
Re: 1/17 Boots AMPS 226 +11 262 +2 222

I know ...I feel like a spaz... She said she wouldn't be able to tell w/out mouth xrays. Because of age,
and my concern, she recommended a specialist. He has all the state of the art equp. and she felt Boots would be under for a lot less time because of
the specialist speed. Just a lot. Thought I'd pay the vet balance off this week and start with him next week. Thought
I had time. Not now,,,with these HB sugars.
 
WOW! she's really spiking. Not sure about dosing when they might be fighting an infection. Is it still the same?
25 more at a time? So I gave a fat 50 at PM. Should have done the 75 then. I am gonna call Dental Specialist
tell him what's going on and try and get her in sooner than later. She is acting fine. Sweet, maybe a little tired, but alert
and eating a lot because of the high BS., plus she loves the food change.
 
I would have increased to .75u tonight. if shes still up in the morning, I would go ahead and take her up to .75u? You are checking ketones, right?
 
Her shot is at midnight, so I'll shoot 75 ..haven't checked for ketones. This came on pretty fast. I don't have any gravel,
tray, etc. Tomorrow I will. can I treat it as if? I have fast acting insulin. Give her liquids in mouth
 
Do you have ketostix? I just make tiny foil trays and slip them under Gracies bottom as she squats.

I always add extra water to Gracies food. What do you have.... R? And you have used it and know how to use it? I'm not sure that Id use R for yellow numbers unless you did have an issue with ketones. You have to be really careful with short term insulins that the nadir of that insulin does not coincide with the lantus nadir.

I think if she's acting fine and eating and you don't have fresh ketostix, I'd just get them in the morning and test her. If she's still yellow, raise her dose. Remember that it takes a while to see effects when changing doses. Be patient :-D
 
Thanks,
I don't feel the desire to try short acting insulin. I was thinking of shooting some extra water down her. I'm
feel raw tcfeline premix. It's pretty soupy already. She just seems lazy, but content. One thing thats eating at me,
is I gave her the zyrtec (antihistamine) today and yesterday. That drys you out. not the best thing for ketones
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top