1/16 SimonB AMBG 137 PMBG 164 Home, dental went well

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bruce & Simon

Member Since 2011
~O) ~O) Good Morning LL ~O) ~O)
Yesterday
AMPS 99 .25u
+3 94
+5 92
PMPS 139 .25u
+3 130
+5 70
+5.5 67
+6 85

As no food was left out overnight, and I didn't have the heart to isolate Simon and feed the rest,
I was greeted with this when I got up, and it stayed that way until I took Sime to the vet
cat(2)_steam angry(2)_cat cat(2)_steam angry(2)_cat
So the evil bean :twisted: not only starved all four, but capped it with the ultimate betrayal: Being Left At The Vet

AMBG 137 for Simon's Dental Day (I'm skipping his AM shot). Not sure yet about his PM shot today as I'm not sure if he'll be eating, alert, etc.

If anyone has any post-dental insights, experience, suggestions, warnings etc., I'd appreciate it :smile:

I'm assuming I'll maintain this dose for at least a few more cycles? This reduction has resulted in
some higher numbers, and the greens have been mostly high.... I don't know if it qualifies as "Failed" but
I certainly don't see much progress? I'll certainly not increase him until any effects of the dental have passed...
Eyes on his SS and suggestions welcome :smile:

Have a great day! :-D

Continuing our prayers & good thoughts for kitties & beans needing them. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 1/16 SimonB AMBG 137 Dental Day

Hi Bruce,

Sending good thoughts your way for a speedy dental for Simon and quick recovery! Don't know about the insulin post dental as Molly wasn't getting insulin yet when she had hers, but I do know she had a hefty appetite and did eat her supper post dental, would think insulin would be a good idea if that was the case for Simon, but check with your vet to make sure it's ok first.

Hang in there. Simon will be home soon. Hope your other Kitties have forgiven you! :smile:
 
Re: 1/16 SimonB AMBG 137 Dental Day

Sending good dental vines!

As for advice, etc.
  • If there are extractions, pain meds! Preferably buprenorphine and absolutely no Metacam or other nonsteroidal anti-inflammatory meds. Metacam has an FDA black box warning due to causing renal failure in cats.
  • If an antibiotic is needed, no Convenia. It's a shot that lasts 2 weeks. If Simon's never had Convenia, you don't know if he'll have an adverse reaction and once it's in, you can't get the drug out.
  • If extractions, baby food may be easiest for Simon to eat for a day or so.
  • Anesthesia can cause BG to drop so get a test as soon as you get home so you'll have a comparison for PMPS. You can decided about the PM shot then. Don't hesitate to give a BCS dose if you need to.
  • Anesthesia also slows the GI track and stimulates appetite (well, the pre-anesthesia drug does). You can feed Simon when he gets home but do it in small amounts so you don't get a scarf-and-barf situation.
  • Some cats do best if they are in a quiet, darkened place while the after effects of the anesthesia are wearing off.
 
Re: 1/16 SimonB AMBG 137 Dental Day

Thanks folks :smile:

I verified that buprenorphine will be the pain med used if necessary (I'll be surprised if it isn't)

I have (and reminded them of in the note I brought) standing orders in all kitties files about never administering Metacam or convenia.

We have some baby food around (dgd) but I'll try watering his regular food first if he seems to be having difficulty.

I'll test him as soon as he's home - it'll probably be a BCSD at most, maybe just pick up in the AM assuming
food is being kept down etc. It's also possible pick-up time could be considerably past his PM shot time anyway...
 
Re: 1/16 SimonB AMBG 137 Dental Day

Hi guys .. keeping you in our thoughts for an easy pain free dental! Have a great day guys!
 
Thanks everyone, all went well :-D

Simon had one extraction (lower canine) and on two other teeth the crown was gone, so the portions
left below the gumline were removed (not called extractions for some reason). He had bupe, and is on antibiotic Clinacin for 14 days.

He's chipper and starving :lol: As suggested, small amounts of food. As it's almost 2 hours past his shot time,
I'm waiting until tomorrow to get back on schedule, at his current dose for now anyway.

Thanks again for all the support & good wishes/vines :-D
 
I'm glad the dental went well and he is eating in spite of the extractions. Pretty nice numbers for no insulin for 24 hours!

Have the rest of the crew forgiven you for this morning's lapse in judgement? :lol:
 
Yay! Glad all went well. Hope he recovers quickly from the extractions. Have a great night.
 
I'm glad all went well.

You might think about adding FortiFlora to Simon's food if he tends to end up with diarrhea when on an antibiotic.
 
So Happy to Hear That Simon had a great Dental!! That is wonderful news!!
Moonie has had 2 Dentals with a total of 9 teeth removed...She hasnt had (ANTIJINX) a problem since!!
It really is such a good thing--Maybe his numbers will be really really great now!! Hugs from us!
Nice Toofies Simon!!!!You Looks Handsome!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top