1/16 Scooter AMPS 475, +4-496,+7-358,+9-409, PMPS 409,+3-479

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 1/16 Scooter AMPS 475, +4-496

hip-hip-hooray for no ketones!!! happy to see you're checking.

julie had some great advice in yesterday's thread:
I just posted in Toonce's condo about dose increases for cats that are having continually high nadirs, ie, over 300. we need to get Scooter closer to a good dose. i'm glad you increased this morning. With these numbers, you can increase by 0.5u every 4 shots - so stay 4 shots on one dose, then increase by 0.5u until you start seeing nadirs that are under 300.
i agree. until you're seeing much lower nadirs, i wouldn't sit on a dose for any more than 4 cycles.
good luck!
 
Re: 1/16 Scooter AMPS 475, +4-496

I second or third that advice. If Scooter's PM numbers are pretty much the same tonight, I'd increase the dose to 1.5u tomorrow at AMPS.
 
Re: 1/16 Scooter AMPS 475, +4-496,+7-358,+9-409

Oh so you ladies think I should do it tomorrow if his over night numbers are the same?

Wow ok. I thought I read 3-5 days but I am certainly on board with expertise.

Thank you so much!

Linda
 
Re: 1/16 Scooter AMPS 475, +4-496,+7-358,+9-409

You didn't misread. Here's the scoop. If nadirs are routinely below 200, you hold the dose for 5 days. When they are above 200, you hold the dose for 3 days. However, if a kitty is in high, flat numbers (e.g., above 400), personally I want the kitty out of that kind of range as quickly as possible. On the German Lantus board, the modification of the TR protocol that they use specifies that you can increase the dose as quickly as after 2 days (4 cycles). Both here and on the German board, if nadirs are consistently above 300, you can increase the dose by 0.5u. What we're suggesting is a more aggressive than usual approach in order to get the numbers into a better range and then things will slow down.
 
Re: 1/16 Scooter AMPS 475, +4-496,+7-358,+9-409, PMPS 409,+3

Ok so 1.5 it is tomorrow morning.

I am really getting worried that this insulin won't work either. :YMSIGH:

Linda
 
Re: 1/16 Scooter AMPS 475, +4-496,+7-358,+9-409, PMPS 409,+3

We just switched to Levemir in the fall and are happy with the results. It takes a little while to safely raise the dose to a point where you'll see the results you want, but by increasing as suggested, you will get there. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 1/16 Scooter AMPS 475, +4-496,+7-358,+9-409, PMPS 409,+3

These folks here are very experienced in using the depot insulins. If they think Scooter needs a more aggressive approach, I'd do that.

High nadirs mean you have safe wiggle room for your dose adjustments, ie can take bigger steps. As you move towards lower nadirs, you'll fine tune with smaller steps. It is akin to a "loading dose" tactic in prescribing - initially, you give a larger dose to help get the maintenance level (depot) filled up faster.
 
Re: 1/16 Scooter AMPS 475, +4-496,+7-358,+9-409, PMPS 409,+3

Linda

I used Lantus for a year before switching to levemir. Gracie was doing ok on Lantus....she was very very bouncy but she got into greens and blues. Once I switched her to lev, it took a few months to see her really start to make progress and I didn't have to go up much in dose.

Treating FD is a marathon, not a sprint. Lantus and levemir ar fabulous insulins but they don't yank numbers down and so you have to have the patience and give them the time to get got the right dose.

I've got to test and feed Gracie now but I'll come back later with some SSs for you to look at. :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top