1/16 Rocky PMPS 264 +2 311 +4 315 +6 316 +8 261

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tina & Rocky

Member Since 2013
Good morning, ~O)

Starting a new condo. At +12 75mg instead of AMPS 75mg.

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=111952

He's now 15 minutes late for his breakfast.

Advice givers-- Should I feed him right now? Do I give the 1.0u after breakfast? Is this an OK number to give the shot?

Thanks!

...Ok Barbara will re-check in 1/2 hr. Thank you!

Thanks for the help with the subject line Cobbsmom! <3 I can't remember these little details and they are important.
 
Re: 1/16 Rocky AMBG 75mg - shot help please

Yes Barbara, on 1/15 I I did give Rocky his PM shot, the 1.0u.

He has not had breakfast nor any shot this morning, on 1/16.

I have updated Rocky's SS to indicate that he was 75mg at +12. Sorry, I had forgotten to do that.
 
Re: 1/16 Rocky AMBG 75mg - shot help please

Okay. Thanks for the clarification. I'll wait for the next test. If it is low, perhaps you could retest. We recommend that when the numbers seem different just as a precaution.
 
Re: 1/16 Rocky AMBG 75 +12.30 62 RT 72 shot help please

The retest was 72 mg.

Another 15 minutes and we are one hour off from Rocky's morning shot time. Thank!
 
Re: 1/16 Rocky AMBG 75mg +12.30 62mg shot help please

Tina: I'm not comfortable telling you to shoot this. Not even a BCS (big chicken sh*t) dose. I think in the interest of safety with the way he can dive no shoot is the best option. If you don't want to stall another 20 minutes and retest go ahead and feed.
 
Re: 1/16 Rocky AMBG 75 +12.30 62 RT 72 shot help please

Ok, I will skip his AM shot then.

I'll go ahead and feed his breakfast and he'll be very happy about that. :-D

I WILL be around all day today.

I will not be at my house tomorrow at all after his AM shot. I won't be back at my until near his PM shot time.

I'll go btb for at least 3 hrs. when he's finished eating.
 
Re: 1/16 Rocky AMBG 75 +12.30 62 RT 72 NSAM

Thanks for being there for me everyone! I feel so much more supported.

FYI, I started Rocky on Clavamox today. I checked out his belly yesterday and I saw something that reminds me of psoriasis. (His belly is shaved because of the DKA hospital stay) It's not red and it's not hives. It's patchy and he is itchy.

I believe the cause is part malnutrition from that previous Venti sized cups of dry Meow Mix. I will continue to give him the sardines for the Omega 3s, but he is scratching himself to the point of bleeding.

I believe the other cause is because Rocky was kept in a cage in a garage this summer with an industrial sized fan blowing 24/7 as temps reached over 100°F for many days in a row all summer. When at the first vet for his high BG they told me his ears were so filthy that they could not see his ear drums. (A few days later at the hospital for DKA, they said Rocky has a very nasty ear infection in both of his ears.) I think this was at least partly caused by all of the fine dirt particles blowing around in that garage. Although yes, cats are preeners, it doesn't mean that there wasn't any bacteria in that find dust that could have settled deeply into the roots of his fur.

I will also give him a bath later, but not today. I'm too tired.
 
Re: 1/16 Rocky AMBG 75 +12.30 62 RT 72 NSAM

Hi Tina and extra sweet Rocky!

Sounds like you've decided to skip the shot this morning, so here's some things to think about.

If you'd like to adjust his shot schedule, now's the time to do it. When you skip a shot, you can change without problems. Just throwing that out there in case you've considered a different shot schedule.

Tonight, I think I'd take his dose down to .5 (or maybe .75) since we're looking for a dose you can always give him every 12 hours. Looks like 1 unit is too much.

You don't have to do any testing today since you skipped the shot, so Rocky gets a poke break!

Hopefully some of the others will be on throughout the day to help advise you too, but since you skipped this morning's, enjoy your "day off"!!
 
Re: 1/16 Rocky AMBG 75 +12.30 62 RT 72 NSAM

Hi Chris and beauty China!

Wow, Rocky's ears really get a day off from the pokey pokey, at least until his PMPS? :-D We'll take that. :RAHCAT

I know I was wondering what it might be doing to him to skip the shots, but I couldn't give them when he was so low. He was doing this at the hospital too, with the 24/7 monitoring. They had mentioned that Rocky couldn't decided if he wanted to be a diabetic cat or not. And about that time his numbers would go high again. Maybe the vets there had also just not found the right dose for him either.

Rocky has now skipped 4 shots since 1/10.
 
Re: 1/16 Rocky AMBG 75 +12.30 62 RT 72 NSAM

I hope you don't mind if I throw my two cents worth in here.

First, I don't think that 1u is too much for Rocky just based on his BG. The numbers you've skipped have been very shootable numbers for those with data and who can monitor their cats. Would he have earned a reduction if you had shot those numbers? Who knows. Maybe...maybe not. What I also think is that 1u might be too much to keep Rocky safe because you can't always be there to monitor him if he is running lower, you don't have enough data, etc.

What I think is happening is that Rocky is clearing bounces and they can be quite active when they clear bounces. It doesn't mean the dose is too high.

Tina, I think you will have to make some decisions for Rocky given your circumstances. Normally, when a CG cannot always be there to test and is skipping shots like you've had to, we suggest taking the dose down to a number that can be safely shot roughly every 12 hours. That would be the safe thing to do so when other members are suggesting that....I agree with them on that point. Lantus likes consistency AND by skipping, we are also putting him at danger of developing ketones and that is what concerns me; Rocky is a DKA kitty and he apparently still has some kind of infection going on. DKA kitties tend to be prone to developing it again if there is infection.

I think you have a couple options and you will have to decide how you want to deal with this.

1. Since he's on an antibiotic right now, reduce his dose to 0.75u bid, test him absolutely not less than once a day for urine ketones (it's great you have a blood ketone meter coming but the strips are $1.00/each so you aren't going to be able to test him daily with the meter. You might save it in case you ever get trace ketones on the urine ketostix). You will still need to get in your PS tests, a +2 if it is possible, a mid cycle test or before bed test at night. If he's coming down, you'll need to monitor more.

2. OR leave the dose at 1u, learn to shoot the green numbers, and reduce him when he goes below 50 once. You will have to have plenty of test strips, high carb food/gravy, and syrup on hand, and you will need to be able to monitor him.

The bottom line is the goal is to be able to shoot safely twice a day but keep him out of DKA. I think the decision has to be yours because only you know what your limitations are. IMHO, if he were my cat and I had your schedule, I'd drop the dose back, test religiously for ketones, be sure I shot every 12 hours as long as the number is safe to shoot and I had supplies. We can help you; it's rare that Wendy/Neko, Julie, and I all have to turn in early on the same night. I know it happened last Tuesday but I can't remember the last time that occurred. There might be other members who can stay up and help you, though, if you need assistance. (BTW, I'm not saying to shoot a dropping green number without asking for help. I think you should still post for help any time he gives you 150 or below until we can help you learn to shoot lower safely).

I also would recommend you have a feeding program for Rocky. He is less likely to come down fast when he's clearing a bounce if you can feed him mini meals early in the cycle with his regular food. You might have to experiment some on what works for him. Many start with the daily portion of food divided into two (one portion for the a.m. cycle; one of the p.m. cycle). Then you would split the portion for that cycle into four mini meals fed at PS, +1, +2, +3. You also might have to separate him with a timed feeder.

It's ok for you to edit the subject line and just put 1/16 Rocky AMBG 72. That will tell us there was no shot. In the "+11" column for last night's cycle, you can put "75 @ =12; 62 @ +12.5" and then in the AMPS column put "72 @ xx" because I'm not sure what hour (+12.75 or +13) you did that test. In the "U" column, put "NS".

Thoughts?
 
Re: 1/16 Rocky AMBG 75 +12.30 62 RT 72 NSAM

What it looks like is that Rocky is bouncing, as well as possibly too high a dose. You get a high number, give 1 unit which brings him down into normal numbers(or even lower) and then he "bounces" high again.

Bouncing happens because Rocky's liver has gotten used to high blood glucose numbers. When the insulin brings the numbers down, Mr. Liver panics and says "HEY, wait a minute...This doesn't feel right!!"..and releases hormones and stored sugar to bring it back up to where Mr. Liver is "comfortable"...so you go from 50 to 350

When they bounce, it can take up to 72 hours to clear, so it's important to know if you're looking at a bouncing number, or just a high number. To know the difference just takes experience in what to look for in the spreadsheet.

For example..on the AM cycle on 1/14, Rocky got down to a 91..Mr Liver went "HEY! I don't like it down here!!!", so did his little thing and during the PM cycle Rocky was in the 400's..that's a "bounce"

What we try to do here is get Rocky's blood glucose into pancreas healing numbers as much as possible (50-120) and we just have to deal with Mr. L until he starts to re-learn what "normal" is and stops panicking.

I think I'd try .75 with Rocky tonight and see how he does. I'd expect a pretty high number by then (a bounce off the 50's) but it looks like that 1 unit might be too much to be able to safely give every 12 hours, especially if you're not able to be home to test frequently

Edited to add...Marje is one of the most experienced people here, so I'm glad she has added her 2 cents and I agree with her thoughts
 
Re: 1/16 Rocky AMBG 72

Chris and Marje,

I think that reducing the dose is the best option for both Rocky and me right now. As I will not be here all day tomorrow, I cannot monitor a dose of 1.0u.

Having said that, I am usually home during the day so I could learn to shoot low numbers, once I've caught up a little on my sleep hopefully over this weekend.

I agree with both of you that it would be good to feed Rocky mini-meals. I like the idea of feeding him his breakfast, one small mid-morning meal, one small mid-afternoon meal, and then his dinner. So, I would be feeding him 4x day.

In total, I feed Rocky 1 can + 1/2 can of NVI Venison for the entire day and he ends up getting about 1 & 1/2 sardines total for the pokes. I am currently feeding him 3/4 can with (2)TBS of water mixed into it per meal.

Marje, I have changed Rocky's SS to what you suggested.

Based on what you both have just shared with me, I think it might be a safe idea to lower Rocky's dose to .75 u tonight because he is possibly bouncing?

I won't be at my home all day tomorrow after I give him his AM shot and there is no one else here to test him. I won't be home until near his PMPS.

So, I think we need to start planning for my all day absence tomorrow. Dose that make you think we should start the .75 u tonight, even if he is high?

Thank you :YMHUG:
 
Re: 1/16 Rocky AMBG 72

Did you testing him in his pads not work? I just feel sorry for his lil ears. His belly sores and all going on I truly hope he gets better with the meds added. I will keep him in my prayers.
 
Re: 1/16 Rocky AMBG 72

Thank you, Tina, for fixing the subject line.

I think it might be a safe idea to lower Rocky's dose to .75 u tonight because he is possibly bouncing?
We don't lower the dose because of bouncing. We try to ignore the bounce numbers and we lower the dose based on what the nadir is. I do agree it's probably safer for Rocky right now to be able to shoot a lower dose twice a day. We can always increase the dose. But please please stay on top of the urine ketone tests.

The goal of feeding early in the cycle (PS, +1, +2, +3) is to have food on board before and as the insulin onsets. When you say "mid-morning", I don't know how that relates to his AMPS. Is mid-morning +2? +4?

Since you skipped this morning, you are draining his depot a bit. By reducing tonight, I am hoping he will be safe tomorrow. If you shoot 1u tonight based on a high PS, then you are starting to refill the depot and there is a greater chance you'll have a number you can't shoot tomorrow because you'll be gone all day.

The other thing to remember is that 0% carbs is not always the best choice. Many of us feed in the 4-5% carb range because our cats do better at it. Some cats do better in the 10% carb range. The little bit of extra carbs helps keep the numbers a little flatter. It's all about finding out what works best for Rocky.
 
Re: 1/16 Rocky AMBG 72

You have gotten some great advice. Shooting .75 sounds good. That should allow you to shoot 2x daily at 12 hour intervals. Lantus likes consistency. Hopefully that will break these crazy cycles. You can gradually increase the insulin if this helps to get Rocky's numbers flat. He is an at risk kitty with the DKA background. And, if you get a very low number after a high series, please retest in the event it was not enough blood, too little blood or a bad strip. That is extremely important.

Can you isolate Rocky when you are not there so he gets the food intended for him? Many of us work or are gone for long periods of time and use a timed feeder to assist in the feeding. Have you consider any other food choices? Fancy Feast? The classics are mostly low carb. Perhaps the sardines are contributing to Rocky's skin problems. Is there a reason you are feeding the Venison?

Have you ever considered using MSM. It is water soluble and great for allergies, inflammation, etc. I have used it successfully in horses, dogs and cats. Give one 250 mg tablet of MSM per 10 pounds of body weight per day per cat. For most cat owners, breaking open a capsule and mixing it with food is easier than giving a tablet, but if the cat will swallow a pill easily, that is an alternative. Although pet stores sell MSM tablets and capsules specifically for cats, buying MSM designated for human consumption and apportioning the dosage is generally a cheaper alternative. A liquid form of MSM is also available. Whether for feline, canine, equine or human, MSM is an inexpensive supplement. Although overdosing is unlikely, and I have never heard of a case, call your veterinarian for advice if it occurs. MSM is more of a homeopathic remedy.

Salmon is also a good source of omega 3 for kitties. Implementing the suggested changes should help with the problems you have experienced. My Tuffy is proof of the knowledge they shared with us. She is happy and healthy. If you have any questions regarding the suggestions, ask.

Marje: Thanks for your input. Always welcome, you and Mike do such a good job helping and with Gracie (stink eye). Thank you again.
 
Re: 1/16 Rocky AMBG 72

I think it might be a safe idea to lower Rocky's dose to .75 u tonight because he is possibly bouncing?

The reason to reduce the dose is so you can find one you CAN give every 12 hours without having to skip shots due to low pre-shot numbers, not because of a bounce. I was just saying that it looks like part of what's been going on with him is he's been going lower than his liver is used to, so it responds by sending out those hormones and sugars to bring the blood glucose back up to what it THINKS are normal numbers. Rocket's body has gotten used to living at higher than normal numbers, so until he spends more time at lower numbers, it's going to think there's something wrong because it's "Used to" high numbers...the lows (although more normal) are now looked at as being "wrong"

Even on .75, he may bounce...he may bounce on .5

Feeding the mini meals is also a great idea because it doesn't strain the pancreas as much as big meals do. The whole idea we're trying to work toward is getting him to spend more and more time in "normal" numbers (50-120) because the pancreas does have the ability to heal, so we want it to have as much time to "rest" as possible.

Just curious..what's your schedule like? I'm just wondering if you could tweek it some and possibly be able to get a +2 before you leave for the day.
 
Re: 1/16 Rocky AMBG 72 +18 125

Good afternoon Marje, Chris, Barbara, and Kelly,

I tested Rocky at +18 and he is 125.

I'm sorry I didn't get any more testings in for Rocky this morning. I thought his ears were suppose to have the day off until PMPS?

I do understand that a flat line for Rocky's SS chart is better than dips and highs for his pancreas.

I thought it would be a good idea to share some of my thinking with you about Rocky's health conditions and how I would like to manage them for now. I'm sorry this turned out to be so long!!

Stomach, Pancreatitis, Diabetes, and the Liver

I believe that diabetes is related to pancreatitis, or at least some kind of problems with the pancreas. Rocky had ultrasounds as well as those enzyme tests for pancreatitis and all of that was within normal range. They said his upper stomach was extremely swollen, but not his colon. So he does not have IBD. The liver was the organ that they said looked liked a 'diabetic's liver.' I suspected fatty liver disease though because he had not really been eating well for a couple of days that I had been taking care of him and I took him to the vet when he completely stopped eating and coming out of his kitty condo. Although I haven't asked my friend, I strongly suspect that Rocky was a porker eater and had gained at least 3 pounds at my friend's very quickly after she trapped him. Then, I believe he lost all of that weight at the speed of light at the onset of a food allergy, an untreated ear infection, pancreatitis, and then came the diabetes plus fatty liver.

Rocky's Possible Food Allergy
I believe that the swollen stomach, his ear infection, and his skin problems are related to malnutrition from only getting dry Meow Mix; lack of Taurine in his food for months; and a food allergy to corn, as well as possibly poultry now because of an overload of the same stuff in his system, day after day. The first two ingredients in Meow Mix are corn and corn meal. The reason for the zero carb venison is to address the food allergy as much as it is to let Rocky's pancreas heal. I don't want it to have to do any work at all. My plan is to feed Rocky the NVIV for at least 4 months to clear his system of all poultry, as well. Luckily, Rocky was not feed a fish diet while at my friend's house although she did give it to him occasionally if she felt he wasn't eating enough. Trader Joe's Tuna for Cats is a go to for many of us when a cat has complete in-appetence. I did not ask her how many times he did not eat for her at all without giving him that.

No Fish Allergy

I don't believe he has an allergy to the sardines at all. They are a completely new food to him. The sardines I thought of for the Omega 3s because they were suggested to me by a naturopathic who also is a regular DVM. Her approach is to try the natural cure first, or at the same time of allopathic treatment. She never saw Rocky. That suggestion was for me, if I felt some strong urge to feed a cat fish. One sardine a day in spring water, she said. I do not have a need to feed any cats fish. I just think the Omega 3s are good to help Rocky, maybe better than giving him fish oil.

Rocky's Possible Skin Infection

I believe Rocky does have some type of skin infection going on. I would have to take him to UC Davis and spend bundles of more money on him for a specific diagnosis. Four vets who have seen him have not been able to diagnose the skin problem. He has not been on antibiotics 4x. He was on three different types of antibiotics for 10 days in the hospital for the DKA. I think Baytril was the only broadband antibiotic that they had him on, and they took him off of that right away. I don't think Rocky took any type of antibiotics to treat a soft tissue infection until now, with me giving him the Clavamox pill 2x a day. He received his first pill today in a pill pocket. He promptly at the pill pocket and spit out the pill. I then had to open his mouth and put it in the back of his tongue for him.

BTW, I DID put that Mama's Healing Salve on his ears and on his face sores today and when I did layers of dry skin came off. I think he is healing and re-opening some wounds.

Rocky's Ears
Rocky's ears are all beat up becuase he was outside for so many years. The missing fur on the back of his ears and behind his ears is a new development, he didn't look like that at all when he was first trapped. He has torn most of his fur off by his scratching. But also remember, his fur is coming out in clumps when he does that. It doesn't seem to want to stay attached to his skin. I would describe it as a peeling away of a layer. He used his front forearms with excessive cleaning of his ears when he was having all of that ear pain from the infection. He did that to himself. I could see this morning that he had those small yellowish lesions on his stomach. It reminded me of an infection although there was no redness and no blood.

Yes, Rocky's ears are probably sore from the pokey, but they are in bad shape because of that skin condition.

MSM
Barbara I believe that the MSM would be a great idea if it relieves the feeling of itching. I think it's the naturally occurring sulfur in it that actually heals. Sulfur is one of the compounds in some antibiotics. Because I just started giving Rocky the Clavamox this morning and he'll take it for at least 10 days, I'll hold off on giving him the MSM just yet. If the Clavamox doesn't seem to help heal him, I'll try the MSM. Thank you for this tip!!

Rocky's Hideaway
Rocky is isolated in my unfinished guest bathroom so there are no other cats that would eat his food. I am home in my office most days, so I can manage to feed more times a day if it is necessary.

Amount and When to Feed Rocky

I would like to keep him on a zero carb diet for now with the NVIV because I want to completely clear his system of all poultry, if that is OK with all of you. I also don't want any extra work for his pancreas or liver. However, I am willing to feed him more than 2x a day. The vet had told me to only feed him 2x a day.

Other Vitamins
I haven't had time yet but I'm going to do some research on Milk Thistle. There is some evidence that Milk Thistle can repair damage done to the liver. I'm considering adding it to his food.

I'm not sure if I've answered all of your questions but I want you all to know how much I appreciate all of your guidance with him. We are lost without you :!: :!:

Let's see what Rocky the Rockstar has in mind for his BG level at PMPS tonight! :cool:
 
Re: 1/16 Rocky AMBG 72 +18 125 +23 369

Rocky is +23 369.

Is the consensus of the advice givers to drop Rocky's insulin dose down to .75 u tonight?

Or, given that he is so high at +23, do you think I should give the full 1.0 u? I won't be here tomorrow after the morning shot.

It is possible for me to stay up with him tonight, if need be, to manage him through a too low episode. (It will make me very tired but I'm not the one driving tomorrow) I will not be able to do so if a too low cycle happened during tomorrow morning. I wouldn't know if it was happening because I wouldn't be home. :sad:

Thank you!
 
Re: 1/16 Rocky AMBG 72 +18 125 +23 369

I would give .75 and hopefully his numbers will be such that you can shoot in the morning without worrying about him being too low. These extremes are not good for him. Also, the most common food allergies in cats are: beef, fish and dairy. Thank you for explaining Rocky's schedule. Please get a +2. Also mimi meals and do not feed late in the cycle unless he is extremely low.

Edited to Add

Don't forget ketone tests. In a DKA kitty that is extremely important.
 
Re: 1/16 Rocky AMBG 72 +18 125 +23 369

I agree with Barbara and I'd still decrease his dose. He's shown that one dose at a higher level can drop him. Also, dose hopping doesn't give them any consistency.

Thank you for letting us know all the things that are going on with Rocky. Poor boy! The other thing you might try when you are ready to add supplements is Standard process Allerplex. You could give 1 bid.
 
Re: 1/16 Rocky AMBG 72 +18 125 +23 369

Ok just wasted the (2) ketone strips I had..couldn't get enough blood on either one of them. Only got partial blood and then it just kept blinking and blinking without any answer. I was waiting for some kind of BEEP that it had got enough blood but there is no notification of it. :sad:

I could have given 1.0u to Rocky or even .75u to Rocky today as I was home all day. I thought that the consensus among the advice givers though was to skip the dose because he was staying steady at around 72 at PS time??

I'm not blaming anyone for his highs today. I just thought that skipping this morning's insulin dose is what I was guided to do. Thank you!
 
Re: 1/16 Rocky AMBG 72 +18 125 +23 369

Yes...it was suggested you skip because he was low and you don't have the data. We just want to avoid dose hopping in the future and try to get to a consistent dose you can shoot twice a day. :-D

I really think it is best to save the blood ketone meter to use IF you get trace ketones on a urine ketostix. The strips are $1.00/each from ADW. I haven't been able to find them any cheaper anywhere else.
 
Re: 1/16 Rocky AMBG 72 +18 125 +23 369

I won't ever be able to do the urine test strips for ketones because Rocky is in my unfinished guest bathroom. I never see him pee and I don't know what time he usually pees so that makes it impossible to know whether I'm getting a fresh urine specimen from him.

I'll have to use those blood ketone strips, for now anyway. I wonder if they sell them at Walmart? He is still eating and looking the same as when I brought him home. No signs that anything is developing but I know that doesn't mean anything. I really wanted to be able to test the ketones tonight. If I order the ketone testing strips from online they won't be here for at least another 7 days.

Ann sent me some BD syringes w/ needles, yah! :-D I would like to know from anyone who uses them--

is the first black line on the BD syringes with needles considered a "O", as on the monojet?
If so, using the BD needles would be easier to does the .75u. I could clearly see the different between the .5u and the 1.0u. The lines on the monojet are more faint and I have poor eyesight.
 
Re: 1/16 Rocky AMBG 72 +18 125 +23 369

There is a litter available from vets that won't collect the urine and you could put that in his litter box to gather some urine with the strips. A lot for you to remember but soon it will be easier.
 
Re: 1/16 Rocky AMBG 72 +18 125 +23 369

There is a litter available from vets that won't collect the urine and you could put that in his litter box to gather some urine with the strips. A lot for you to remember but soon it will be easier.
 
Re: 1/16 Rocky PMPS 264

The first line closest to the needle should be the zero line on all syringes.

I promise those blood ketone strips will rob you blind. I make up little trays out of aluminum foil. Because I can't just sit around either and wait for Gracie to pee, first thing I. The morning, I out her in the box and slip a tray under her bottom as she squats. She doesn't even know it's there. You only need a tiny bit of urine. It's worth a try or, as Barbara said! you can get a more gravel type of litter that does not absorb urine.
 
Re: 1/16 Rocky PMPS 264

There is also a litter system call Tidy Cats Breeze. Just remove the bottom paper and you have the urine sample. The problem is knowing if it is fresh. Some cats go either just before or just after a meal - maybe stalk him a bit around meal time. The litter from the vets is pretty expensive.

I use the B/D syringes. The bottom line is the zero line. The thing to be careful about is that sometimes that zero line is further away from the needle than other times, so check to see if there is much of a gap. If so, try another syringe. I use magnifying glass and overhead light when drawing up the dose, makes it easier. If you use a white background or paper on the surface below you, that also helps.
 
Re: 1/16 Rocky PMPS 264

Marje, Barbara, and Wendy,

I think I'm going to have to go with the tin foil solution of gathering urine as I need to save some money here!! I don't know if I'm going to be able to train Rocky to pee on command though. :lol:

I guess I could remove his litter box overnight, and then bring it back to him first first thing in the morning, place him in it to give him the "hint. :roll: "
 
Re: 1/16 Rocky PMPS 264

Hi Sandy,

No, have not fed Rocky any mini-meals during his AM or PM cycles so far. I am still only feeding him his AM breakfast and his PM dinner. Nothing different there.

However, his breakfast this morning on 1/16 was pushed back (1) hour because I was waiting for an answer as to whether or not I should give him his 1.0u shot with a BG of 72mg at AMPS.

I also fed Rocky (1/2) tsp of the sardine at +15 as he usually gets after his poke, but I did not test him. I decided to go back to bed instead. ha :!: Just got some pets and some lovin' from me instead. The treat without the needle.

Then he got his (1/2) tsp of sardine right after I tested him at +18. He had another (1/2) tsp of sardine at +23.
 
Re: 1/16 Rocky PMPS 264 +2 44 RT 393 RT 346

Just had a little fright there..

+2 44. I gave him the sardine. Retested [RT] and this time it was 393. Did one more RT and it was 346. I used my same Relion Micro for all three tests. Looks like he is going higher.
 
Re: 1/16 Rocky PMPS 264 +2 44 RT 393 RT 346

Ann sent me some control solution, with a monitor and some other things. I have not used the control solution. Is the control solution specific to each brand of monitor?
 
Re: 1/16 Rocky PMPS 264 +2 44 RT 393 RT 346

Yes it is. If you are using a Relion, you have to use the control soln for that specific meter.
 
Re: 1/16 Rocky PMPS 264 +2 44 RT 393 RT 346

Ok.. I don't have the test solution for the Relion. I will try to buy some tomorrow night at Walmart.

I decided to re-test Rocky at +2.30 using the Nova Max Plus that Ann sent to me. I got 311 this time.

I think the last two readings from my Relion are correct, and the 44 reading at +2 is inaccurate.
 
Have I missed why you are not testing in the paws? just curious. I realize this is the least of your worries but I feel it would be a less stressful ordeal for him and you. Good luck with everything else. thinking of you and sending good vibes for Rocky!
 
Tina

You have to call Relion to order the control solution. I have no idea why it isn't in the stores. They state that their strips don't need to be tested but you've been getting a lot of wonky tests so either there is a strip issue or you aren't letting the strips fill. I have noticed with my Micro that sometimes the strip starts to fill then stops. It will give me a number but it's usually a weird number. That could be happening to you.

I wouldn't test his BG with the Nova max. They had a massive recall of BG test strips recently. The ketone strips were fine but not the BG test strips.
 
Hi Kelly,

I really wanted to test him in his paws. They are pink and tender looking. But aren't we suppose to test on that hanging toe that a cat doesn't use??

I haven't tested him in the paws that hit the ground because I thought I was suppose to test in that toe that they don't use. That toe on both of his paws is extremely dry and calloused. I tried to poke him three time there and I don't think the needle even went in. Either that, or there was very little blood circulating to those toes even when I squeezed it.

Thoughts?
 
Tina: Please hold the dose at .75. Lantus is based on consistency and Rocky's dosing has not been consistent. His shed needs to refill. Also, Lantus does not like dose hopping. The people here have years of experience and we are the benefactors of their acquired knowledge. They are all willing to help but you need to listen. Testing for ketones is extremely important since Rocky is a DKA kitty. Please hold the dose and give everything a chance to level out.
 
I test in the large back paw (The big one that touches the ground) :)
Push a lil hard and shoot then hold and squeeze the drop till its large enough to fill your strip. Mine draws it in automatically. Which is very easy. I can't do the ears as he will not hold still, then he will flick them and the blood goes flying. He cries and hates it and it seems so painful. Good luck ask any time if ya need help. I feel like I am one of the only ones that test this way.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top