1/16 Polly AMPS 215+3=223+8=49+8.5=84+9.5=84+10.5=68 PMPS 88+1=123+2.5=134+4=148

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marilyn and Sheldon

Member Since 2014
Yesterday, the green zone

Recap highlights 1/15

189 AMPS (5.5U)
104 +3
54 +4.25
86 +5.25
80 +6
57 +7.5
67 +8.5
64 +10.5
76 PMPS (5.0U)
118 +1
132 +2
143 +3
120 +6
141 +7.5

A little gobsmacked by that +8=49. Just walked in the door from work; Polly was in the sun on the couch. Slowly, though, she came down the hall for poke and snack.

This is outside her normal pattern. After a long green surf, she usually climbs, like she did last night through +3=223 this morning. And her +3 this morning was higher than her AMPS. I did not expect this drop. And I wonder if this was as low as she got while I was gone.

She took a reduction at PMPS yesterday from 5.5 to 5.0. 5.0 again at AMPS.

We have four hours 'til PMPS (5:30 MST). Another reduction. A reduced dose. A new bottle of brandy?

I'm over my head.

More testing to come.

Thanks for any ideas.

Marilyn and Polly
 
Last edited:
Over my head as well but I suspect the old depot is still working? Then again under 50 means a reducie. Smarter minds than mine will make suggestions. Nice surf though, Polly. Could you do it in a way so as not to drive your bean to drink adult beverages???
 
Thanks, Elise. Honey and hc jumped her up quite a lot. Honey holds for almost 90 minutes so I'll give her (and me) a bit o'break. Darn, just when I thought I had her sort of figured out, she decides to change the rules. Perhaps she wants to be a diving queen. (Oh, MamaMia!)

And I got through the day at work just hungering for a nice comfy nap this afternoon when I got home. Darn cat!:banghead:

Marilyn and Polly
 
Maybe her liver/pancreas are getting used to lower numbers and not protesting as much? Might want to try that half dose tonight to drain the depot. Some new chocolate and/or brandy might also been on tap after yesterday.
 
Thanks, Wendy. Half dose sounds good. I just don't know if I can shoot 2.5U!!!!!:D Do the scores on the syringe go down that low?

And then tomorrow AM I shoot 5.0?

So is it something like this: She surfed low yesterday am cycle. She bounced a tad yesterday pm through +3 this morning. And then the bounce cleared and she plummeted?

Thanks.

Marilyn and Polly
 
Polly is keeping you on your toes isn't she? Good luck with the reduced dose tonight. Hopefully it will drain the depot so you can see if she really needs another reducie so soon.
 
I like the half-dose option to keep you from having to chase low numbers in the next cycle too. I might go to 3.0u just to stay on the line, LOL. But 2.5 works too.

Following a SRT I like to err on the side of caution, so even though it might very well (likely) be the previous dose since she's only had 2 at 5.0u, i'd still take a reduction of some amount.

If you want to keep her going flat and are up for a pj party tonight if it happens, you could also just reduce to 4.5u and see how she does with it. The 1/2 dose often interrupts the low numbers cycle, but it's hard to say if she will take longer to recover from it, ie, if giving a 1/2 dose will put her back up in a higher range of numbers tonight or tomorrow while the depot rebuilds.

If you decide to reduce to 4.5u and she trends up in the next couple of days, then you might consider that the reduction was too soon after the previous reduction, call it a failed reduction, and go back up to 5.0u. A 49 isn't particularly low, but still, since she's continuing to coast along in greens maybe it is confirming that she needs a reduction.

Where is that crystal ball!?! *wink*

So it's up to you, but those are a couple of things to consider.
 
Got it, Julie. Thanks. I like options. Makes me really think through what to do and why.

I'd like to do the 4.5 tonight and try to keep her floating along the sea of green, but I am soooo tired. I just don't think I'd reliably stay alert enough to get through the night. I'm also thinking this may be a little beyond depot draining. Maybe some SRT action, maybe some iaa action. Just odd that she came up last night and this morning and then took a dive. Unless the depot didn't drain until after AM shot.

She was pretty lethargic when I got home from work. Had to call her several times for "snackies" and usually she's half way down the hall before I get the word all the way out. I'm thinking that 49 may not be the lowest she fell. Will never know, though.

So....

3.0 U tonight and hope for some sleep. Even an hour here and there and here and there and here and there.

4.5 with AMPS tomorrow.

Prepared for higher numbers through the next few cycles.

Or not.

Darn cat!

Thanks Julie.

Marilyn and Polly
 
mmmm, so when you say she's lethargic and didn't come right away to eat, do you think that she might be not feeling good? Could her numbers be lower because she hasn't eaten?

has she perked up now?
 
(((((Marilyn and Polly)))) Good luck with whatever decision you make- we just wanted to say we're cheering you on! :bighug::bighug:


whoa- You had quite the excitement the past couple of days :eek: I never give dosing advice except to humans, my advice is to reach for a glass of wine and a piece of chocolate tonight after dinner! :smuggrin:
 
mmmm, so when you say she's lethargic and didn't come right away to eat, do you think that she might be not feeling good? Could her numbers be lower because she hasn't eaten?

has she perked up now?
...
Oh, no. She's fine. Once she had that first dot of honey and hc, she was very soon back to following me around and yelling for food, and jumping up on the counters to see if there were crumbs anywhere. Just seemed to take her longer to "get with it" when I first got home. Walked o.k., just slow. Tail at half staff. A little food and she was back to Miss Polly...

She ate a good breakfast. A good +3. I always leave LC out for everyone while I'm at work. Most of it is always still left when I get home. Same today.

Marilyn and Polly
 
I just don't know if I can shoot 2.5U!!!!!:D Do the scores on the syringe go down that low?
Tee hee - you'll be investing in bigger magnifiers or calipers in no time. :smuggrin::smuggrin:

Good strategy to reduce again tomorrow. There were a couple times after SRT that I did "back to back" but really two cycle apart reductions and said "I can always go back up" and didn't.
 
I suggest the calipers! Might as well learn to use them while you have largish doses and time.
Great advice you got from Julie and Wendy tonight. I hope you get some sleep!

Ella

Yo Polly, I've got my eye on you. Surf safe tonight!
~ Rusty, LagoonMeister
 
We loved the calipers. We never got mixed up about which line was the right one. FD is a moving target on a good day. Throw acro into the mix... :rolleyes: Awesome advice. :)
Liz
 
Hi Marilyn and Polly!! WHOA, look at Polly go!! How exciting! I definitely think that as Polly earns reductions, you earn brandy. I hope you enjoy it :)
 
Wow what a day yesterday and today. I'm glad Polly is just fine and started acting like our little Pollydoodle with the HC.

Looks like your decision on the dose for tonight was a good one. It's tough to juggle low numbers when you are tired from working.

Great job, Marilyn. Hope you and Polly get some snoozes tonight.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top