1/16, Moo PMPS 341, +2.5=186

Status
Not open for further replies.

Moosmommy

Member Since 2012
Where did that come from.
I was heading out of the house and decided, hmmm, let me check real quick.
I have to babysit in less than an hour, so will check again before I head out the door.
If it's gone lower, I will feed him some high carb before leaving.
Wow. What a catch.

Whats the # for reductions? He's been on Lantus for over 2 years now. Is the # 50? or 60?
 
Wow...Moo is on a mission. Good thing you're home testing!! Have you given him any HC or karo yet? It's time for some carbs, and retest in about 20 minutes to make sure he's coming up.

Just looking at Moo's SS....with the missing data, it's hard to say for sure if he needs a reducie (since he's a long-term diabetic things are determned a little differently) because his patterns aren't visible, but given this drop, I personally might be inclined to try reducing and see what happens. Remember that dosing is based on the nadir, not the preshots....with this big drop, Moo may very well bounce into a higher preshot this evening, but that doesn't necessarily mean he doesn't need a reduction.

I'm sure others will have feedback as well.

Time to come up, Moo!
 
I had to leave to babysit. I have a few tablespoons high carb with gravy before leaving. I'm going to try and get back by in about 30 mins if I can with the kid I'm sitting for. Just to check him. My meter reads a little lower the actual numbers tho I've learned.
 
If you have to leave for quite a while and not just a little bit, I would really carb him up to carry him through. You've gotten two readings on the low side, so even if the meter does read a little lower than "reality", I would recommend erring on the side of caution and assume the numbers are accurate. You don't want to come home to any surprises.
 
Yeah I dumped a bunch of the gravy on the plate for him. He was sucking that up like crazy lol. He never gets gravy. What a treat.
 
That's good, but please remember that the effects of food do wear off and he could drop again. He does need to be retested to make sure he's safe.
 
Hi Annie!

According to the TR protocol, you'd reduce if Moo went below 40:

Reducing the dose:
If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. See additional notes in the next paragraph about drops into the 20s and 30s. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.

Please do not let yourself become complacent or blasé about drops into the 20s or 30s.
  • If kitty drops into the 20s, a full reduction of 0.25u (or 0.5u if kitty is on a higher dose) is strongly recommended.

  • If your cat drops into the 30s, a full reduction of 0.25u is recommended. There are very few exceptions given for caregivers who have collected years of data and KNOW their cat's response to the combination of insulin and food backwards, forwards, and inside out.
However, It doesn't look like you're following the TR protocol, so to be on the safe side, I think i'd take a reduction if Moo were mine. With the SLGS program, you reduce if the cat goes below 90.
Good to see you!
 
I had him on .75 but the vet wanted me to take him to 1.0 the day after his dental. I waited to see how he did then bumped it up when I was seeing bigger numbers after the dental.
So he's back at 1.0. He was at 1.0 to start with back when he started getting Lantus.
I can test on the weekends, not as often as I'd like, but during the week I can only do morning and night PS's due to my 2 jobs. 3 jobs in the summer.
So I happened to have a day off today and caught that low number.
Hes at 341 PMPS tonight though.
 
I gave him his full 1.0 dose tonight.
I'm home all night so I can keep an eye on him and have high carb and karo on hand.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top