1/16 Mannie PMPS 408, +2 476, +4 398

Status
Not open for further replies.

Michelle and Mannie (GA)

Member Since 2009
Good Morning LL!!!! ~O) ~O) ~O) ~O) ~O) ~O) ~O) ~O) ~O) ~O) ~O) ~O) (Mannie's special brew - the boy is back!), and Happy Wednesday!
LL beans! It is I!, Mannie, kitteh barista! For today I proudly offer Mannie's special 10 hour energy coffee, AND Double shot espressos, with beans from deep within the mountain slopes of Africa, AND.... for all my Mocha fans: a VENTI Quad cherry infused white mocha/mocha blend with white chocolate chips melted within, topped with a cherry whip garnished with candied cherry sprinkles and white chocolate curls...... OOOOOOOOOOO!, PRIMO! Only the best for all my customers....OH! Tea infusions too, by request. they is primo! I SWEAR! Today: cherry almond spitzle!

I would like to day THANK YOU to all of you that were there yesterday for Mannie. The support from this family of ours is amazing. I am grateful to you all. Thank you, thank you, thank you! I am sorry though that I just couldn't get to condos yesterday... time escaped me and when I found some there were so many posts to read and answer. You guys are just the best!


UltraSound day in MannieLand

1/15 RECAP
1/15: fed meal at ps, mini meals @ +1, +2, +3: AM CYCLE: Hill's MD 14%, Whiskas treats, PM CYCLE: Hill's MD 14%
1/15 amps 508: 7th cycle on this dose (.5u), fed 14% MC
+1 fed 14% MC
+2 HI fed 14% MC, Whiskas treats
+4.2 481
+6 ketone test: NEGATIVE
+8.5 398
1/15 pmps 408: 8th cycle on this dose (.5u), fed 14% MC
+1 fed 14% MC
+2 448 fed 14% MC+3
+3 fed 14% MC
+4 345

1/16 amps 347: 1st cycle on this dose (.75u), fed 14% MC
+1 fed 14% MC
+2 429 fed 14% MC, 2 whiskas treats
+3 fed 14% MC, 3 whiskas treats
+3.7 313
+8 247
+10 319
1/16 pmps 408: 2nd cycle on this dose (.75u), fed 14% MC
+.5: vet visit: cabalamin shot
+1 fed 14% MC
+2 476 fed 14% MC
+3 fed 8% LC
+4 398

HEALTH/DOSE INFO: Yesterday was..... Ultra Sound day in MannieLand. :cool: DX: Pancreatitis, mild to moderate case. All else on the US checked out normal, no change from the last US. The lesion on his liver remains the same. Although I am not thrilled with the DX I am so relived, as I now know what I am dealing with, and we can move forward. Huge sigh of relief. My vet, and IM specialists and I have consulted on meds to handle this for Mannie: Bupe for Pain, Cobalamin for appy/nausea/gastro health ( as it will work with his heart/liver issues) and possible an AB (baytril possibly, no Clavamox!). We have a plan! YAY! Mannie continues to make small improvements. LB is more normal, he is a bit more social, on the mend. I know he needs more juice, and that will be addressed once the meds are on board and I can safely know he will eat. We did a slight increase this morning, as appy was good. Mannie - here's to you, some very strong feel better vines". Lubs ya big guy! cat_pet_icon

Things are improving in MannieLand. :-D :-D Things were much as they were the day before: He spent alot of yesterday with the nanners - just surveying NannerVille. That was cute. After making sure all was well he settled down for some serious nanner napping. The yard got the once over from the slider door, he eve came and lap sat for a bit. I told him yesterday that Nicholas would be back today. I truly think I saw a smile... :-D :-D Testing is still good, shots are still good, food is improving. Closer to normalcy in MannieLand. ;-)

Have a great day everyone. I am back on DGS duty for the remainder of the week. Today will be a swim day for Nicholas (YES!!! The pool reopens today!!)), and then hopefully we can find a nice outdoor spot. I am not too sure at this point if that will be doable or not. We will try the pool, and then let the day evolve for him. I will try and get to condos when I can, but probably not until late in the evening. There is just no time when he is here.. I will miss you guys - and your furkids. Think blue think green kitties!

Hey everybody!! WOW!!!! I LOVE MY FRIENDS!!! you guys are the bestest ever! I thanks you all for all the KTSS and staying with me at the vetty, and keeping my bean company while she waited, and for all the care when I gots home. I am so so happy. I think a chillaxin's day is in order - in the treehouse. I gots new pizza ovens and well, I'd like to make pizza for embody. I gots lots of micro brews and stuff too. What'd'ya think? You guys in??? Let me know, cuz I am really ready for anything! ~ Mannie, one very grateful kitty....
 
Re: 1/16 Mannie AMPS 347

I am glad you got some snuggle time in last night with Mannie. I agree on the NO CLAVAMOX! That messes so bad with Tarragon. That is on our never ever again if possible list. Sounds like you have a clear plan, which makes things so much easier. Healing vines that Mannie is feeling better soon and big hugs to you. Enjoy your day with DGS!
 
Re: 1/16 Mannie AMPS 347

Morning Melissa ~O) ~O) ~O) THX! Even the vet agreed wit me on the no more clavamox. It messed him up big time last go-around. And yes, it really does feel good to ave a plan. YAY! THX for the vines, and the DGS time. it will be good. Love that kid - he's fun.
 
Re: 1/16 Mannie AMPS 347

Yo Mannie, I'm with you on the chillaxin' day. I'm on my way to the treehouse and I'll bring a special Adirondack microbrew, Beaver Tail Ale. See ya later. I'm so happy you are on the mend.
Your pal,
Rusty


Good Morning, Michelle,

We are looking forward to Mannie's continued recovery from the pancreatitis. It sounds like you have the right combination of meds for him. The IDEXX round-table of vets cited in the pancreatitis primer that Marje prepared is excellent. I learned a lot from it. Check it out. The link is in the list of links in Marje's post:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=79693

Have a good day with Nicholas. Mannie will be fine now that the stress level has been reduced. Already he has a much better AMPS. Check in with you later.

Lots of hugs,

Ella & Rusty

p.s. to Mannie barista--oh wow on that double-shot espresso. Thank you!!
 
Re: 1/16 Mannie AMPS 347

Morning Michelle and so happy the U/S showed what was going on with our mannie and the pan'itis is treatable and it's looking so positive. LL prayers and vines thank you and worked. No worry on getting to condos ever as you had so much going on. Vert exciting day for Mannie with his little friend coming today. Mannie, maybe some chicken today.
Mannie tks on the Espressos and coffee, love ya bunches, Auntie Ann

Mannie, the Treehouse sounds perfect. I have some new wines from T.J.'s, and I'll bring along for some extra drink celebrations. See ya same place, Mags
 
Re: 1/16 Mannie AMPS 347

Hey Melissa ~O) ~O) ~O) - very cool on Mason. it is awesome that hes til watches that stuff. :-D and yes - he is 100% a young boy. So fun to watch him grow.

Morning Ella ~O) ~O) ~O) Thanks for the link - I have read most of it, and am doing my research. it is very helpful, so thanks! I think so on the meds. I hope to get that all started today. and yes too, things re on the end for Mannie, stress is less, he is improving slowly, but it is there. YAY!

Rusty - AWESOME! OOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO on the Beaver Tail Ale! Can't wait!! YUMMMM! See you soon, '<K? ~~ Mannie
 
Re: 1/16 Mannie AMPS 347

Morning Ann ~O) ~O) ~O) He is slowly getting better - all good signs. with the meds I hope that will help him even more. I think so too on Mamie seeing his buddy! :-D

Maggie very cool!!! wines from TJ's?????? WOO HOO!! Can't wait to try those. See ya soon!! ~~ Mannie
 
Re: 1/16 Mannie AMPS 347, +2 429

HEALTH/DOSE INFO: 429 @ +2, he ate well, though it did take some encouragement, pus 2 treats. Now he is washing his face, having few slurps of water, off to nap.

This mornings summary:
1/16 amps 347: 1st cycle on this dose (.75u), fed 14% MC
+1 fed 14% MC
+2 429 fed 14% MC, 2 whiskas treats
 
Re: 1/16 Mannie AMPS 347, +2 429

Yay Mannie ate well! Glad you finally know what's going on so you can help him feel better! Have a great day with DGS and sending healing thoughts to Mannie and his poor little pancreas!
 
Re: 1/16 Mannie AMPS 347, +2 429

It is SO awesome to see Mannie slowly starting to feel better!!! I'm sure now that you have a diagnosis and plan, he'll just keep getting better faster and faster.

Have fun at the pool!!!
 
Re: 1/16 Mannie AMPS 347, +2 429

Good Morning Michelle.
Reading your condo this morning, just make me smile with happiness, that Mannie is on his way to wellness!! :-D :-D :-D
 
Re: 1/16 Mannie AMPS 347, +2 429

Hi guys .. I'm so glad you found out what has been causing mannie to not feel so great ... While not the greatest thing to deal with, it is definitely treatable and soon mannie will be 100%! In the meantime .. enjoy that nekkid belly of his :lol: have a great day guys!
 
Re: 1/16 Mannie AMPS 347, +2 429

Special pancreatitis-be-gone vines for Mannie. I think you can use some chillaxing too, Michelle. Big hugs!
Liz
 
Re: 1/16 Mannie AMPS 347, +2 429

Michelle, I read your condo from yesterday, and I'm glad that it's something that you can treat. I am sending tons of positive thoughts, and healing vines for you both. :YMHUG: Hang in there!
 
Re: 1/16 Mannie AMPS 347, +2 429

Glad that the U/S went well and didn't show any changes....but I am so sorry about the Pancreatitis. We just went through that and I hold my breath at every meal with Shadow now. Waiting to see if he will eat.
I am so afraid of it rearing its ugly head again since that seems common for it to come back.

I tried so many things since there didn't seem to be any one thing to do to get rid of it. The pain meds seem to bring relief. I read everything that I could find on Pancreatitis.....and still had so many unanswered questions. Hoping you can get his numbers back down now so that other complications will not set in...that is important so i am glad youa re increasing his dose....
Wishing you both good luck in dealing with this....glad that this is was it is though.....at least you KNOW what is going on and it is a common ailment for our FD kitties. Their poor Pancreases..... :sad:
A million hugs to you both!! (((((Mannie & Michelle)))))
 
Re: 1/16 Mannie AMPS 347, +2 429



Hey Mannie,

I'll bring some special dried nip to sprinkle on top of the pizzas and please make some with chicken and turkey - I lubs chicken and turkey. No smelly anchovy for me please! ok....My bean is happy that you are doing better, I tried to tell her that you are just fine, but she didn't believe me. She said that pankytitis hurts and makes one feel ooogie. Buster had it and she wouldn't eat anything for a whole week! and Buster lubs her fuds.

Tell your bean to give you lots of bupe - and then you can float on a cloud of ice cream play with your pretend friends! bupe is good stuff, we ought to bottle it and sell it! we will be rich! lots of monies to spend on fun things....

signed, Maui the Magnificent

 
Re: 1/16 Mannie AMPS 347, +2 429, +3.7 313

Sorry to hear about Mannie's pancreatitis, although difficult, it is something you can treat. (((Michelle)))

I was holding my breath waiting for your U/S results, it reminded me a little too much of BigMac. Then I was SO relieved to hear that the lesion on his liver has not changed. And I assume no other lesions were found. Yeah!!!

Hang in there Mannie, feel better soon. Hug a Nanner for me. :cool:
 
Re: 1/16 Mannie AMPS 347, +2 429, +3.7 313

Morning guys! So glad to hear you are seeing some more improvements. I am sure you are looking forward to getting all the meds in place to start Mannie feeling better! At least Pancreaitis is treatable and you know what you are dealing with. Scrabble was on baytril a couple of years ago when he had the skin infection and he did well on it. Good luck on DGS duty this week. Have a great day!
 
Re: 1/16 Mannie AMPS 347, +2 429, +3.7 313

Almost down to yellow, :-D :-D :-D :-D . How soon will you be able to start the meds for Mannie? And interesting on the cobalamin, I hadn't heard of that as an appy stimulant before. I hope it works, the IDEXX article on pancreatitis from Marje's link mentioned that oral may not be effective, are you getting the injections. What about the heart meds, have they been ruled OK for him as the culprit was pancreatitis?

I hope you got to watch Fringe during your meltdown, you got me hooked on it! :roll: But i am trying desperately to catch up on past seasons!

Mannie! You eating better? dancing_cat dancing_cat I hope so , we is gonna make sooooooo many pizzas today and scarf them alllllllll down! I'll bring more rosemary and bay leaves for the sauce! Course you can keep the brush! is yours! I make you a new one anytime you want! Glad you like the flowers in your fur! -- Tess
 
Re: 1/16 Mannie AMPS 347, +2 429, +3.7 313, +8 247

HEALTH/DOSE INFO:
247 @ +8. YAY!!!! YELLOW!!!!! Mannie now has his bupe on board. dosage is .2ml/12 hours, to be adjusted as we see how it affects him. I gave him .1 @ +8. to see how that dose affected him, normal dosage for him will be .2. He had a small chicken snack when I got home wit Nicholas from the pool and stopping in at the vet. He ate it up, no coaching required. Another small baby step. The cobalamine (sp?) will be given tonight once the vet has the dosage figured out. AB's to be started once they come in. all in all he looks good this afternoon, purrs during his test, and he let me remove one fur mat. WOOT WOOT WOOT!


THANK YOU EVERYONE for visiting Mannie while DGS and went and played. We were back at the pool - that kid was so happy to be there. all the way in the car I kept hearing POOL POOL POOL from the abck seat. :lol: :lol: They had been clsoed all last week for routine maintenance, we are both very happy to have them open again.

Thanks Alanna, Amy, Barb, Devon, Liz, Angela, Pat, Hillary, Lisa, CD, Michelle, and Ann! All of you make this chapter in Mannie's saga bearable. He does seem good this afternoon. There is a happier face looking back at me - that warmed my heart. Be well big guys!
Ann - the cobalamine is via injection: once a weel for 6 weeks, then every other for 6 weeks, then a once/month maintenance dose. It is used for overall gastro health, including an appy stim and well as the nausea - at least that was my understanding. The IM vet felt it was the best option for Mannie. and - no pill! I will be making an appt with the IM vet for Mannie's eval, as he has now become a multi-illness kitty and needs someone who can manage or rather coordinate all the different aspects: heart ( i will leave it to her and the heart guy to decide what he can and cannot have), gastro and FD ( though the FD is my call, whether they like it or nor. :lol: :cool:
Michelle - nice to know that Scrabble handled the baytril well. good news. I hope Mannie will too.
CD - my thoughts exactly... on the live. I've been holding by brth all week, worried abut this. I did think of Big Mac.... and yes: no additional lesions, all other organs looked good, except for the pancreas.
Pat - I can so understand what you wrote. the past week has been awful. every time a shot time rolls around or a test, one feels the anxiety build: will he eat? can I shoot? Will the LB be better? will this come back? I hope it is a one time ting... expect that it may re-occur. Sure hope not! I have read too... pain eds, nausea/appy control, all supportive treatments, but they do work... so we keep on truckin'! and yes on the dose. I had to be sure eating was doable, and meds were to be had before I could do that and still keep him safe.
Barb - thank you! I can so see your smile!
THANK YOU ALL for the healing and eating and be well vines for Mannie. We are getting there. In pure Mannie fashion it is slow... just the way he does everything.

Maui!!!! OOOOOOOOOO! special dried nip for the pizzas??? YOU ARE AWESOME! They will be perfect then! OK - LOTS of turkey and chicken pizzas. Tell you bean that I thank her - it does hurt, and my bean now has meds for that - now I FEEL GREAT! WOO HOO! I like these drugs! heeheehee on the bottling of bupe... we should. it is GOOD STUFF!!! ~~ Mannie

Tess - I a sure trying to eat better! Stuff kinda tastes OK now. Especially PIZZAS! very cool on the rosemary - we gots to have that. bay leaves are knda cool too.... And thanks for my brush. It reminds me of all my friends that came to sit with me yesterday at the vetty and hold my paw and stuff. It is very special. OK - PIZZA time, let's bake! ~~ Mannie heeheehehe: I wouldn't let my bean comb the flowers outta my fur.... she said that was OK. :cool:
 
Re: 1/16 Mannie AMPS 347, +2 429, +3.7 313, +8 247

Michelle, what a great start now on Mannie's treatment. Sounds like you have everything on board and need to hear from the Vet on the dose of the one. I wonder, too, how does this happen and recurring! What a relief for you. So scary with the symptoms and not knowing what is going on. Sounds like DGS was a very happy boy today with the pool open. Looking forward to pics tomorrow, and I'll catch some today, too. Glad annie got some chicken today from the little one.
Mannie, yum, are those pizzas ever good. I'm off my diet today, you betch a, Mags :lol: We'll have the vino later.
 
Re: 1/16 Mannie AMPS 347, +2 429, +3.7 313, +8 247, +10 319

HEALTH/DOSE INFO:
319 @ +10. Up too pink, but not too bad. GO MANNIE! He doesn't seem to affected by the bupe, will see how he does with .2 dose tonight.

This mornings summary:
1/16 amps 347: 1st cycle on this dose (.75u), fed 14% MC
+1 fed 14% MC
+2 429 fed 14% MC, 2 whiskas treats
+3.7 313, +8 247, +10 319



Hi Ann - Yupp, got one med on board, the second tonight and the AB's whenever. I'm not too concerned about them, but the vet and the IM guy wants them. And I know - ni clue what caused it, of led to the condition, I guess it can be any one of several things - something I will talk to the IM guys about. Pics tomorrow for sure, FB is up and running,. and YES on the chicken! He at a couple of pieces,. :-D :-D

Maggie - me too - no diet here! My bean says EAT, so I shall, She says whatever I want so I shall. This is so cool! OOOOOO! I am so there for the vino! ~~ Mannie
 
Re: 1/16 Mannie AMPS 347, +2 429, +3.7 313, +8 247, +10 319

happy the u/s showed *just* p-titis!

michelle, i understand your reluctance to increase the dose because of appy issues, but i'm really worried about glucose toxicity setting (we're most likely seeing it already) and more importantly, the stage for developing ketones is now set. i strongly urge you to reconsider a dose increase...
 
Re: 1/16 Mannie AMPS 347, +2 429, +3.7 313, +8 247, +10 319

I'm glad Mannie seems to be improving today. That's great he just ate up the chicken snack. Hopefully the meds will help him feel better quickly and he'll start eating again. Sending prayers for quick healing for Mannie.
 
Re: 1/16 Mannie AMPS 347, +2 429, +3.7 313, +8 247, +10 319

I'm glad Mannie is doing a bit better. :smile: I have to agree with Jill, though. Looking at his spreadsheet, I would have gone to at least 1 unit today (a 0.5u increase instead of 0.25u). Those numbers need to come down. It sounds like he is eating reasonably well, and you know how to get food into him if you have to.
 
Re: 1/16 Mannie AMPS 347, +2 429, +3.7 313, +8 247, +10 319

Good evening, guys,

It was so good to read about Mannie's day and to see that he is feeling much better. I hope that all of the meds can be coordinated and that tomorrow you can get his dose back up to where it should be. He'll feel even better when he is out of those higher numbers. That +8 today was good to see.

It's great that Nicholas had a good day in the pool and that you were able to enjoy his fun too, without too much worry about Mannie. Get lots of good rest tonight. Thinking of you all and sending :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: s

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 1/16 Mannie AMPS 347, +2 429, +3.7 313, +8 247, +10 319

I am so Happy that Mannie is on the road to recovery!!
Whatever, I am just Glad Mannie is getting better now..
I So understand the fear of them not eating!! Been going through it with Moonie too..
Hope Mannie Heals Quickly!! We Love you & Hugs!!! Mannie Healing Vines sent via jet to you from us!!
 
Re: 1/16 Mannie PMPS 408, +2 476

HEALTH/DOSE INFO:
408 @ PMPS, 476 @ +2, normal fuds spike... I had Mannie at the vet in between Pmps and +1 to get his cobalamin shot, and to pick up his AB's. The vet has out him on Zeniquin, part of the Baytril line (??), a once a day AB. Nice that it is only once a day: I hope Mannie will tolerate that better. I need to read on it though before giving it to him. He ate his fuds better tonight - each feeding gets a little better. I hope too to be able to reintroduce his regular fuds so I can get him off of this MC stuff. That should help numbers too. Bupe was given this afternoon, he will get another dose at bedtime.

PM CYCLE SUMMARY:
1/16 pmps 408: 2nd cycle on this dose (.75u), fed 14% MC
+.5: vet visit: cabalamin shot
+1 fed 14% MC
+2 476 fed 14% MC



Thank you Jill, Carla, Libby, Ella, and Roni for visiting Mannie tonight. It is very much appreciated. It seems that today has been a good day for Mannie. The bupe seems to help him, he seems more alert, spending more time walking the house. Fuds was good, NOM NOM NOM, which was really great to see. YAY!
Jill and Libby - yes the numbers stink, and yes they need to come down. Thanks you for your opinion on dosing. I will reevaluate. The eating has improved alot, but still has a ways to go. I hope to get that back to more normal fuds, with his normal responses now that the meds are on board. I check for ketones as often as he will let me.
Carla - yes, the chicken was great - he hasn't done that in a week and a half. YAY!
Ella - I hope so too. Meds will all be on board tomorrow, that is the plan. and to get more normal fuds in him so I can see how all of this will pan out. I have to be cautious with him. we are so looking forward to getting the old Mannie back. YES!!! on Nicholas - pool was great and he does wonders in regards to helping me keep my mind off of things. We had such a great time. Thanks for the hugs -so very needed, and appreciated.
Roni - thx! it is the bottom line isn't it?: he's getting better. Doing the best that I can....
 
Sorry to be so late but adding my well wishes for Mannie. I hope the meds help him.

I had the same thought as Libby....in this case, a higher dose increase (0.5u over .25u). I hope he starts eating really well so you will feel comfortable with an increase.
 
Morning Marje. hope all is well with you. Yes, he is showing signs of improvement. we are all very glad to see it, hope we are on the home stretch. Normal fuds this AM for him, a good sign.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top