1/16 Gracie PMPS 48 +2 60 +3 73 +4 93

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marje and Gracie

Member Since 2010
Moderator
Gracie's Yesterday

1/15 Recap:
AMPS: 112 New Dose 1st cycle sk1.25u lev
+2: 335
+5: 310
+7: 284
+10: 291
PMPS: 281 2nd cycle sk1.25u lev
+3: 235
+6: 230
+9: 160


Good Monday morning. Sending our thoughts and prayers to all who need them.

Gracie cleared her bounce last night and so we'll see how she continues to do with her new juice. She's been playing this morning and is doing great but now it's pouring down rain and all kitties are curled up in warm, snuggly places for naps. Hopefully, we can get Gracie back to her beautiful cycles that she had before her insulin pooped out. Had to laugh at Tobey this morning...after his usual viewing of his Cat TV video, he decided he also liked Hoda and Cathy Lee and raptly watched almost their entire show. He was most enthralled by the woodpecker and hognosed snake they had on the show. :lol: :lol:

Bad news on the DM front. Very long story short but her med instructions got goofed up when moving from SNL to ALF and she was overdosed yesterday. They gave her TWO morphine, two hours later TWO hydrocodon, and four hours later TWO more morphine. My sister called the ambulance and they took her to the ER last night but thankfully it had not affected her respirations, BP, etc. Also thankful that she has such a high tolerance for narcotics because all of that would have likely killed most people. They kept her in the hospital and today they have discovered that she has a tiny area in one lung that looks like it could be pneumonia. They believe that while she was overdosed and they were trying to feed her, she aspirated food/water. So she is on IV antibiotics and breathing treatments in the hospital and they are treating it aggressively. They have taken her off all pain meds to get them out of her system and she remains stable with her respirations, bp, oxygen saturation, etc. She is responsive and talking more today although still sleeping alot.

Yes, Melissa..they gave her Narcan last night...just a tiny bit....my DSs said it was horrible; it made her so sick she was just in agony. I hope she just does not remember it when she is better.

Gotta run right now....we are having a family teleconference with the Director of Nursing at the ALF to find out how the ^&#(@ this happened. BBL.
 
Re: 1/16 Gracie AMPS 82 +3 89 +4 111

(((Marje))) sending some vines and prayers for DM and you and family. That is so scary and glad they got her to the ER and stabilized her. I hope DS's and you can get some things straightened out with the conference call.
Nice cycle there today for Gracie. Hugs to you.
 
Re: 1/16 Gracie AMPS 82 +3 89 +4 111

(((((Marje))))) I am so sorry. Thinking of you and your family and sending healing energy to DM. I am glad to see Gracie in such nice numbers. :smile:
Liz
 
Re: 1/16 Gracie AMPS 82 +3 89 +4 111

Hi guys .. Nice to see gracie back in her beautiful colors! I am so sorry to hear about everything your DM is going through! I hope you get the answers you want when you do your teleconferencing .. That is just scary stuff like that happens!
 
Re: 1/16 Gracie AMPS 82 +3 89 +4 111

Oh, Marje, how awful that this has happened to your mother. It's a good thing that it was discovered! I hope she is resting comfortably now and that you will get some answers from the teleconference. We are sending her a beautiful bouquet of healing vines.

Gracie looks great. And Tobey--what a character he must be! It's neat that he enjoys watching TV. Rusty rarely shows any interest in it, even when he is sitting close to it. When I lived in Seattle in the early '60s, my landlady's dog loved to watch TV, especially "Lassie". He never missed an episode (the boarders didn't either, since it was on at dinner time and we ate dinner in the livingroom on tray tables, watching TV!; I have fond memories of "Lassie" and re-plays of the Washington Huskies football games.)

I hope your DM is OK.

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 1/16 Gracie AMPS 82 +3 89 +4 111

Gracie is surely the high point in today's condo. Way to work that juice little lady!

What to say about the AFL!?! :evil: Someone's head should roll for this! If your DS hadn't been there, your DM probably wouldn't still be among the living! I'm sending healing vines her way.
 
Re: 1/16 Gracie AMPS 82 +3 89 +4 111

:shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: are you serious???? on your DM and the meds??? well guess you are. how in the world! oh wow.... well I am glad that it worked out OK for her, and that she is recovering well. I sure hope someone is held accountable for this. oh sh**.

And on a good note - Gracie looks Great today - so glad that the new pen seems to he getting her back on track. :-D :-D
 
Re: 1/16 Gracie AMPS 82 +3 89 +4 111

Love seeing that smiling green head back next to Gracie's name.

Sending peaceful healing vines for your DM today and you don't want to know what I'd like to send to the b@#t@&(s that did that to her
 
Re: 1/16 Gracie AMPS 82 +3 89 +4 111

I so sorry about the situation with your mom. Wow...you just cannot trust anyone these days...very, very scary.

Gracie is looking lovely today, though.

I hope things are looking better this evening....
 
Re: 1/16 Gracie AMPS 82 +3 89 +4 111 +6 165 +9 143

Gracie girl..... :-D :-D :-D :-D

Thank you all for visiting....two hour teleconference with the Dir of Nursing. She assures us that some heads will roll as they have a written policy about keeping her notified and about when to give meds and when not to. Why they continued to give DM more narcotics when she couldn't even function is beyond me. Anyway..I can't put all of it in here but we bluntly told her that if I had not called yesterday morning, then my DS's might not have known what was happening and not gone over and Mom would have died and we'd be having a very different conversation today. Luckily, my youngest DS always spends Sundays with mom so she would have been over there anyway within an hour of when I called my older DS but they don't need to know that. She took down a long list of items, gave us some ideas of her proposed resolutions, and we will meet again next Monday to discuss where we are. Not sure how long DM will be back in the hospital. Thank you all for your prayers and thoughts.

Ann: Thank you and yes...we were very scared. Thanks for the hugs...I need them today!!

Liz: Thank you, too.....we appreciate the prayers and healing energy for her. And it IS nice to see Gracie in Gracie numbers!

Devon: It shouldn't happen should it? You trust people that are supposed to know better.....

Ella: I know you have been through alot with your aunt. I will tell DM about the bouqet of healing vines. That is so funny about the dog watching "Lassie"...I bet you know every episode by heart :lol:

Linda: Yeah..work that juice baby girl!!! Heads will roll...we have been assured. You are correct on all points.

Michelle: I know...how in the world tho...I don't know that part. New pen does seem to be working...I wonder how long before this one flakes out on me?

Serryn: Thank you and I wish I could take you up on your offer to send ????to the b@#t@&(s that did that!! Truly. I am certain that two people in particular will be unemployed by tomorrow. I hate that in this economy for people with families but...this is serious stuff.

Amy: I wonder about people that have no family to be their advocates and check on them...

Off to visit a few condos altho I still have to call my oldest DS. She was not able to be on the call.
 
Re: 1/16 Gracie AMPS 82 +3 89 +4 111 +6 165 +9 143

Oh my godness! So while you were on the phone with me, helping me, and I should say, MAKING my Daphne's profile, since I was too :? to do it myself, and "confused" is a nice way to say, I am such a %$#&… but anyway, so sorry your DM had that happen to her.

Hope the conference went well, and I will definitly send lots a positive white light!

THANKS AGAIN FOR ALL YOUR HELP LAST NIGHT, I can't imagain…. You are a very special person, but I'm sure your friends and family know that, but I'm a perfect stranger, and I'm pretty sure that is correct. AND, also, you still had time to offer more help today, for pictures…I am going to get them up myself, if it kills me :? I sure hope I won't have to use this face "confused" for much longer!!

Give Gracie a big kiss from me, for her hard work too.

Barb and Daphne
 
Re: 1/16 Gracie AMPS 82 +3 89 +4 111 +6 165 +9 143

Marje!! Cant believe what happened to your DM!! You know older peeps dont do that well on narcotics, how do I know, My DF had RA and they gave him a morphine pump--He was out of it many times & we hated it!!
When I worked in protect. services for adults, so many were over medicated..My DstepM was on so much meds, she slept all the time till my DS protested!!
I hope you & your family Nail them!!
Gracie started out welll today, hope she comes back down tonite--Hugs & Lub from us!
Prayers for your DM!
 
Re: 1/16 Gracie AMPS 82 +3 89 +4 111 +6 165 +9 143

OMG! Marge! :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: for you and your family. That is, well I was going to say unbelievable, but unfortunately I can believe it. Your DM is so lucky that you and your DSs check on her so frequently. Sending prayers and white light that she will pull through this.

At least Gracie isn't a worry for you right now. keeping you in our thoughts tonight.
 
Re: 1/16 Gracie AMPS 82 +3 89 +4 111 +6 165 +9 143

Barb: don't worry. I'm in AZ and she's in TX so I was just waiting for my DSs to call me with an update. If they had called, I would have gotten back to you...it helped me focus on something else :-D Thank you for the positive white light for her. You are very welcome for the help...that's why we are all here and now Daphne has a profile :-D :-D I'm happy to help you if you can't get the photos up...really..it's good for me!! And we all use that confused face for a while when we first get here....sometimes a long while and sometimes when we think we don't need it...WE DO!! :lol: :lol:

Roni: Thank you, dear one. Yes...we're hammering away and my sister has calls into the pain mgmt doctor to get him involved as well. We've been trying to reduce her meds and she was doing really well in the SNF with the combo they were giving. Thanks for sharing your experiences.....geez!!! And...Gracie is starting to come down :-D
 
Re: 1/16 Gracie PMPS 48

Ok...before you register :shock: :o at me shooting a 48, remember that Gracie is on levemir and she won't onset until much later (sometimes +6) from the shot I just gave her AND her nadir tends to be at +12 or sometimes a little after....I'm trying to take advantage of the overlap. We did feed her a little higher carb food but we would have anyway and we'll recheck her in 30, just as we would for any low number, to make sure she is on the way up. It would be very difficult to stall with a kitty that nadirs so late as I'd be giving her next shot 3-4 hours late.....not possible.

Newbies: please do not shoot a number this low....there is a big difference in cycles between lantus and levemir and we have alot of data for Gracie on both insulins. Other lev users with that much data have also shot in the 40s. ;-)
 
Re: 1/16 Gracie PMPS 48

Marjorie, that's horrible!

Sending healing energy, vines, and prayers for your mom,
and big hugs to you.

and Lil Miss...lovely pmps!
 
Re: 1/16 Gracie PMPS 48

Marjorie and Gracie said:
Ok...before you register :shock: :o at me shooting a 48,


Too late...I already did it :shock: !! Of course, though, I know you know Gracie and wouldn't do anything risky, but yep, seeing PMPS, insteaud PMBG was a bit of a surprise. Hopefully Miss Gracie will work this one out nicely for you!
 
Re: 1/16 Gracie PMPS 48

Marje, I can't believe what happened to your DM. It is amazing that she is ok after getting all those narcotics. Unbelievable!! Who gives the meds at the ALF...is it an RN, LPN, or can an aide give it? Don't they have med sheets that they have to sign off on? Wow.

And Miss Gracie and her 48! Marje, you definitely have BOS tonight.

Sending lots of prayers to you and your family tonight.
 
Re: 1/16 Gracie PMPS 48 +.5 49 +1 65

Omg Marje, I'm shaking with outrage at what happened to your mom. It's more common than you'd think, about being overmedicated, or wrongly medicated.
Thankfully I had Susan there to advocate for me, after surgery, as the nurse was trying to give me morphine, when I didn't need or want it. Long story, and this is your thread. It happened another time over a different drug and Susan had to call front desk and read them the riot act. What would I have done if I didn't have her?
Your mom is so lucky to have you and your sisters!

What a wonderful job you're doing with your beautiful girl. Not DM....the one with the stripes I love. :-D
 
Re: 1/16 Gracie PMPS 48 +.5 49 +1 65 +2 60

Gracie is just surfing a bit; we gave her a little more 10% for right now.

Ann: yeah...it's been crazy the last two days.....it is sad that it is so believable.

Georgia: :roll: on the BOS...I was thinking "not far from 50" and I shoot 50 and I have several hours until onset. But sometimes she likes to nadir at +15 so we're keeping a close eye on her. LIl Stinka.

Barb: Outrage is a good word....we're trying to decide whether to turn the med tech into the state licensing board because she did not ask any questions about the apparent mix-up in the orders and she continued to give DM narcotics when Mom was already incoherent. I'm glad you had Susan, too. One cannot negotiate our heath system alone these days. How sad. Gracie sends you a big hug.
 
Re: 1/16 Gracie PMPS 48 +.5 49 +1 65 +2 60

I'm so sorry this happened to your mom, Marje. I hope she recovers completely and that things get sorted out quickly, for her and for you. What a nightmare.

Miss Gracie is looking mighty good tonight...congratulations!
 
Re: 1/16 Gracie PMPS 48 +1 65 +2 60 +3 73

:mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: I've never thought another point or two could make that much difference, especially if the meter variance can be 20%. :roll: :lol: Great Hooting tonight!```
 
Re: 1/16 Gracie PMPS 48 +1 65 +2 60 +3 73

Great hooting Marje! With all the other stress you are under right now you definitely win the BOS Award for the day (& I'm not just talking about shooting a 48).

I'm so sorry about the mix up w/your Mom and so glad it was caught in time. I believe these kinds of medical errors are a lot more common than people think and until the end of eternity I will believe w/all my heart & soul that I lost Thom to a gross medical/hospital error in 2009. I am so glad your family caught the error and have the BOS to stand up to them.

Desi
 
That's what we thought, too, Ann....50...48...no difference.

Desi: sending you big hugs for years of BOS. I can't imagine what one does if the hospital is responsible for a loved one passing. It's unfathomable and you are one of the bravest, strongest people I know.
 
Oh gosh Marje, how scary was that! --- I'm talking about your mother's medication mix up. Yikes! She is so fortunate to have loving daughters that are able to be her advocates. Yay for you guys!

And Oh gosh, how scary was that! I mean the 48 that you shot, hahahaha! I know you shoot Levemir and Gracie's nadir is much later. But I have to say my eyes did get really wide open when I saw PMPS of 48. :shock:
BUT... whisper whisper.... I shot a 49 for BigMac once - using Lev. In his case he did start to drop suddenly and early so it was his lucky day and he got lots of HC. Different kitty, different reaction.

Gracie is looking very pretty with this cycle. Nice 'hooting and control! :mrgreen:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top