1/16 Eddie PMPS = 289, +3 = 212, +5 = 78, +6 = 76

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jen&Eddie

Very Active Member
Yesterday's condo: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=24&t=111938&p=1181437#p1181437

We took a STEEP dive in the middle of the PM cycle. Thought I might have to request a PJ party. So we have a big bounce this AM (390). Reduced to 1.25, which may be a bit much of a reduction, but we aren't home to monitor today.

Sue pointed out, and I absolutely agree, that Eddie's cycle last night is THE reason that it is so important to home test. We started at 3U as prescribed by the vet, which we learned after home testing is too much. Just over two weeks in, 1.6U dropped Eddie to 50. If we weren't testing, and were still giving 3U, Eddie would have almost certainly hypo'ed in the middle of the night while we were sleeping. If anyone feels it's appropriate, please feel free to share Eddie's first couple weeks with new beans as to why home testing is so critical.

AMPS 390
+ 6 = 170
PMPS = 289
+ 3 = 212
+ 5 = 78 (and here we go again :shock: ) (Fed 2 TBSP. LC FF)
+ 6 = 76 (Fed 1 TBSP. LC FF)
+ 7 = 97
___
*debating whether to hold this dose or decrease just a bit for the AM.

Have a good day everyone! Watching you closely today RumpelT!
 
Re: 1/16 Eddie AMPS 390

Jen...When you do a welcome post to a new bean, use your experience about the home-testing and how important it is in the post. It is an excellent example. :-D

Good job choosing lower dose this AM. Can't wait to see how it pans out.

I am watching RumpelT closely today too....NO CONTRABAND !!!! :lol:
 
Re: 1/16 Eddie AMPS 390, +6 = 170

Thanks Misty! I will do that :)

Fingers crossed for the 1.25U. Mom bean needs some sleep tonight, so I'm totally happy if there are no greens on the SS tonight. :shock:

AM +6 = 170
 
Re: 1/16 Eddie AMPS 390, +6 = 170

That seems like a good drop, right? The 1.25 must have worked well. I agree with the home testing. I'm glad my vet recommended it. Another thing is the food. The food the vet was feeding Skipper was 26% carbs! That us way too much for him. Mixed grill is too much for my guy. ;( too bad he lives pizza crust....
 
Re: 1/16 Eddie AMPS 390, +6 = 170, PMPS = 289

skippersmom said:
That seems like a good drop, right? The 1.25 must have worked well.

Yeah! So far so good. Eddie seems to take a few cycles to settle into a dose, so time will tell. A night in the blues without dropping into the greens is totally fine by me :)

skippersmom said:
Another thing is the food. The food the vet was feeding Skipper was 26% carbs! That us way too much for him. Mixed grill is too much for my guy. ;( too bad he lives pizza crust....

We used to feed a 1/2 wet and 1/2 dry diet. One of our civies is a fatty, so we were feeding SD Light, which has something like 30% carbs. :o I hear ya on the pizza crust. Eddie used to like to "sample" the worst possible people foods like donuts, oatmeal cream pies, and basically anything else that was sweet. Now I feel bad even eating a donut.

PMPS = 289
 
Re: 1/16 Eddie AMPS 390, +6 = 170, PMPS = 289

Eddie had a great day! 50% drop and he ended lower than he started. cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 1/16 Eddie AMPS 390, +6 = 170, PMPS = 289

Paws crossed for good numbers with 1.25.

Eddie says he will give good numbers so Bean can get some sleep....If Bean sleeps ears can have a rest after all the pokey-pokes last night. :smile: :lol:
 
Re: 1/16 Eddie AMPS 390, +6 = 170, PMPS = 289

misty1477 said:
Eddie says he will give good numbers so Bean can get some sleep....If Bean sleeps ears can have a rest after all the pokey-pokes last night. :smile: :lol:
LOL!! haha_smiley I think that sounds like a fair deal.
 
Re: 1/16 Eddie AMPS 390, +6 = 170, PMPS = 289

bunni9 said:
Sue pointed out, and I absolutely agree, that Eddie's cycle last night is THE reason that it is so important to home test. We started at 3U as prescribed by the vet, which we learned after home testing is too much. Just over two weeks in, 1.6U dropped Eddie to 50. If we weren't testing, and were still giving 3U, Eddie would have almost certainly hypo'ed in the middle of the night while we were sleeping. If anyone feels it's appropriate, please feel free to share Eddie's first couple weeks with new beans as to why home testing is so critical.

Tommy had the same experience. He started on 3 units bid. Sue, bless her heart, has helped me to get Tommy fairly regulated and we are down to a small sliding scale that seems to work for Tommy. I truly cannot thank all who have helped me enough. BTW, I am sharing my new found knowledge to anyone who will listen to me. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 1/16 Eddie AMPS 390, +6 = 170, PMPS = 289

Ugh!

Here we go again. PMPS + 5 = 78, Fed 2 TBSP LC FF.
 
Re: 1/16 Eddie PMPS = 289, + 3 = 212, + 5 = 78

Ugh! well it looks like +6 is his low. So if he is not under 60 in an hour then he should be okay. Are you going to check + 6 and +7? Maybe you need to try a lower dose? I set up a schedule that said over 400 1.5, 300 1.2, and 200 1.0 for a little while. Then I had to lower those limits. Now I give .25 (skinny and fat) for 150-250 and .75 for over 300 (which we haven't had in awhile :-D ).

Just a thought. I'm new at this too...

Rae Ann
 
Re: 1/16 Eddie PMPS = 289, + 3 = 212, + 5 = 78

Thanks Rae Ann :)

Yeah, I'm a night owl, so staying up with him to monitor isn't too much of a big deal. Would be nice to get more than 4 hours of sleep for a change, though @-) . We just reduced to 1.25u this morning from 1.6u, so I didn't expect him to drop this much again. Maybe we'll try 1U in the morning and see what that does. I'm kind of amazed by how quickly we've had to keep reducing his dose. I definitely see the merit to the Start Low - Go Slow Approach. I think it's probably simpler to increase the dose gradually than to try to reduce the dose. We've been at this for about two weeks, so it's hard to see real distinct patterns yet, but I *think* that Eddie's pre-shots that have been over 300 (which has been pretty much consistently), have often been bounces - like this morning. He also gets weird cycles where the dose lasts for 14 hours rather than 12, and his nadir doesn't hit till like +11. Eddie definitely marches to his own drumbeat. I've been toying with the idea of a sliding scale, but it's unpredictable how he'll respond from one cycle to the next, so I don't think we're quite ready for that yet.

Skipper's doing great on your dosing schedule :-D It's wonderful to watch our ProZinc family have good results!
 
Re: 1/16 Eddie AMPS 390, +6 = 170, PMPS = 289

Sandy&Tommy said:
Sue, bless her heart, has helped me to get Tommy fairly regulated and we are down to a small sliding scale that seems to work for Tommy. I truly cannot thank all who have helped me enough. BTW, I am sharing my new found knowledge to anyone who will listen to me. :mrgreen:

Sue truly is a god-send. For me, trying to make sense of the "science" behind dosing and the resulting numbers would be completely impossible without Sue, BJM, Misty, and others on this board.
 
Oh those crazy cat numbers! Gypsy was strange too...her numbers were all over the place and even a 0.2 change would cause a HUGE difference. Still makes me scratch my head!

This board is amazing. Sue, BJ, and Misty definitely were my mainstays. But you ALL are awesone. We're all here to help each other! It's nice to have a little ProZinc group since when I started spouting about glucose numbers and low carb cat foods people looked at me like I was nuts!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top