1/16 Dino Baby AMPS over 600

Charlotte + Dino Baby

Member Since 2019
Hi all, please see my ongoing post for relevant info. The girl and I have come so far in such a short time thanks to the community!:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...so-tiny-i-might-lose-her.224101/#post-2510414

Yesterday I did my first at home curve. Please see our spreadsheet! Her nadir was +12 after her morning shot. So I skipped insulin last night and just fed her instead. This morning her meter read “Hi” which means over 600. One hell of a bounce!!!

She is *very* small and her food has 1% carbs; is it possible that the insulin really did take that long to be metabolized? I’m so confused by this!
 
Last edited:
Hi Charlotte! I'm so happy you have your signature and spreadsheet set up! Dino Baby is the most precious little one I'd love to carefully cuddle;) I was watching you two on the Main Health Forum;)

To me, it looks like Dino Baby needed that insulin AND it's working very well! I see what you mean about the lowest point being at +12. But two hours later, there is a rise of almost 100 pts. So, it might not be so much a bounce, she just needed her PM shot, and kept rising all the way until morning.

When I first started, there is no way I would have shot that 83 either! In the future, when seeing a low pre-shot, you wait, don't feed, and test again in 1/2 hour. That number might show you she is rising, and the number is safe to shoot.

It's hard for me to have a good picture with just a few readings so far, but I'm already excited to see how low she will go before PMPS! Will she nadir or just keep heading down? Hmmm.

There are many great and experienced people here, and I'll always be grateful for the help I got with my Tina!
WELCOME to the Lantus/Levemir Forum!!
 
Hi Charlotte! I'm so happy you have your signature and spreadsheet set up! Dino Baby is the most precious little one I'd love to carefully cuddle;) I was watching you two on the Main Health Forum;)

To me, it looks like Dino Baby needed that insulin AND it's working very well! I see what you mean about the lowest point being at +12. But two hours later, there is a rise of almost 100 pts. So, it might not be so much a bounce, she just needed her PM shot, and kept rising all the way until morning.

When I first started, there is no way I would have shot that 83 either! In the future, when seeing a low pre-shot, you wait, don't feed, and test again in 1/2 hour. That number might show you she is rising, and the number is safe to shoot.

It's hard for me to have a good picture with just a few readings so far, but I'm already excited to see how low she will go before PMPS! Will she nadir or just keep heading down? Hmmm.

There are many great and experienced people here, and I'll always be grateful for the help I got with my Tina!
WELCOME to the Lantus/Levemir Forum!!

Wowow thank you for the thoughtful post! So happy to be here!

I do wish I would have waited to see if it went up on its own, but it’s so hard not to feed her when she’s screaming for food for hours! That reading of 178 was about 2 hours after her dinner. I thought about shooting then, would that have been okay?

Planning to start her on a feeding schedule of 8am (with morning shot), 2pm (+6) and 8pm (with evening shot). Does that sound like the right idea? She really needs to put on some weight, but it seems everyone here says readings that aren’t influenced by food are the most valuable. Before her diagnoses we were free feeding so she always had access to wet food around the clock and would much prefer it that way.

I will say it was SO exciting to get that 102 yesterday! Wish I would have gotten syringes right away, I was intimidated by them but they’re actually so much easier.
 
Wowow thank you for the thoughtful post! So happy to be here!

I do wish I would have waited to see if it went up on its own, but it’s so hard not to feed her when she’s screaming for food for hours! That reading of 178 was about 2 hours after her dinner. I thought about shooting then, would that have been okay?

Planning to start her on a feeding schedule of 8am (with morning shot), 2pm (+6) and 8pm (with evening shot). Does that sound like the right idea? She really needs to put on some weight, but it seems everyone here says readings that aren’t influenced by food are the most valuable. Before her diagnoses we were free feeding so she always had access to wet food around the clock and would much prefer it that way.

I will say it was SO exciting to get that 102 yesterday! Wish I would have gotten syringes right away, I was intimidated by them but they’re actually so much easier.

:)
You did the right thing by NOT shooting a couple hours late! We want to stay on a strict 12 hour schedule as much as we can. In the case of a stall, and shooting late, you would start correcting your shot times in 15 minute increments per shot, or a 30 minute change if necessary. (Some people make this more clear than I just did!)

Some cats DO free feed - Dino Baby might be one of those it would benefit since she needs to gain weight! You need more advice on this!!
I believe you would still need to take the food up 2 hours before AMPS and PMPS, so the BG number isn't food influenced.

The advice that works for many, is to feed more food earlier in the cycle or before nadir, so as not to raise BG when the insulin effectiveness is waning.

I'm going back to Main Health to look over all you've been through so far!! Oh dear . . . it's after feeding time here!!
 
Charlotte, would you link your post from over in Feline Health here please. Put it at the beginning of your thread here, so people can read up on your beginnings here in the FDMB message board. 1 week ago was your first post.

Good thing you knew enough to skip the insulin last night.
 
Charlotte, would you link your post from over in Feline Health here please. Put it at the beginning of your thread here, so people can read up on your beginnings here in the FDMB message board. 1 week ago was your first post.

Good thing you knew enough to skip the insulin last night.
Done!!!
 
Welcome to this forum.

Planning to start her on a feeding schedule of 8am (with morning shot), 2pm (+6) and 8pm (with evening shot). Does that sound like the right idea?
Can you feed her a meal before you go to bed, so she has some food overnight as well? If you can, it's a good idea to have a similar feeding schedule in the AM and PM. Multiple smaller meals in the first half the cycle are common here. After nadir the insulin is waning, so the extra carbs might put the brakes on the insulin action, shorten duration, and give you higher preshots.

So I skipped insulin last night and just fed her instead. This morning her meter read “Hi” which means over 600. One hell of a bounce!!!
Maybe some due to a bounce, but also just the impact of the insulin wearing off. Lantus lasts around 12 hours in the cat.

As far as shooting a couple hours later, it can be done, but then your next shot after that is 12 hours after that one. Which is OK if your schedule can manage it. You can move back onto schedule 1/2 hour once per day, or 15 minutes per cycle. So delaying 2 hours means it'll take 4 days to get back to your usual schedule.
 
Back
Top