1/16 Benny, AMPS 140, +1 129, +5 42, +6 51

Erin & Scott

Member Since 2019
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/1-15-benny-amps-182.209453/

Bit of a bump late yesterday, I think we overcompensated for the low reading. Will try controlling the feeding schedule a little better today (dad likes to feed little bits whenever Benny looks at him like he's starving, which is pretty much every time Benny sits by his dish and looks at him); I've finally put 2 and 2 together and believe that's what has caused the high PS numbers. So no early morning snacks to tide them over till shot time, and no late afternoon/early evening snacks. Poor Benny, he's Dad's baby and he lost so much weight that Daddy tends to indulge with the food, but I'll keep working on him and reminding him that it's in Benny's best interest.

Baby steps, but we'll get there!
 
Yikes, roller coaster ride again today. Fed a couple of Greenies and 1/2 pouch BFF Chicken & Tuna Chuckles. 45 BG @ +5, so gave a little Karo syrup & about 1.5 T wet food. On the upswing by +6, but we'll reduce dose slightly again tonight. Scott said he hadn't eaten much since his 7:30 feeding, he apparently didn't like that particular food much. So - maybe a good sign that he's starting to get a little pickier with his food again, instead of just slurping down whatever is in his dish?
 
Last edited:
Good catch! Since Benny is such a newly diagnosed cat, I would take reductions 0.25 units at a time. When their little pancreases start healing, they can do so quickly. Those 0.25 unit deceases are safer.
 
We only reduced by .1 yesterday (Scott does the measuring, I don't know how he sees those tiny reductions, but I'll take his word) - from 1.2 to 1.1. Maybe not quite enough?

We'll reduce to 1.0 tonight, see how he does.
 
It's a HUGE learning curve, like a graduate degree in feline diabetes. But we all remember what it was like to be new and are happy to help and answer questions, cause someone else did the same for us.
 
Nice catch on the lower number and congrats to the reduction. I would take a full .25 reduction since he is newly diagnosed.
 
Back
Top