1/16 AMPS 494

Be have Max, I think your gonna be fine with start
If you can I would get a +2, just so I knida know what it’s doing, I always get a +2
Have a great day
 
This is my first day leaving Max alone on 5 units. Positive thoughts, please!

Yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/1-15-amps-hi.209443/
That's a better start than yesterday :) I agree with @Bellasmom - if you can get a reading just before leaving for work you'll see what the 'trend' is...sometimes you have to get up earlier and give the shot - in order to have that two hour window of time to see what the impact is before leaving...and then you can leave food accordingly. You may want to add his name on to the thread title - just go to 'Edit Thread' and change it to read 1/16 Giomax AMPS 494 - that way people will know who the cat is with those numbers. Have a great day!
 
ALERT: I gave the boys a scoop of dry food this morning right before I left, I can see on my home camera that it's already gone. Do you think Max will be ok for 5 more hours?
 
I gave him the shot at 5am, had to be to work at 6am. :(

You may want to think about getting up a tad earlier (I know, no fun at all in that!)...give the shot two hours before you have to leave - get a 2+ before leaving. I'd really want to start working on transitioning away from the dry food - it's typically too high in carbs unless you're using Young Again Zero Carb or Dr. Elsey's - it'll make a big difference in those numbers - so take it away slowly - watch what it does to the numbers. I took Luci off all dry immediately after her diagnosis to make sure it wasn't the high carb foods - she went down...but over time...not enough...needed the insulin...Just go slowly with that.

I'm not sure how much a 'scoop' is and if he wolfed it down already and is already high - I would 'think' he's going to be high for quite some time today. He's still in such high numbers that if he starts to go down after the food influence you'll be lucky to catch a low yellow or high blue when you get home....but as always every cat is different (ECID)...and Gio might surprise us one day by being unpredictable - they usually always are.
 
I really want to keep them on dry to snack on throughout the day, ugh. I know I shouldn't! It just makes me feel so much better when I'm away knowing he has something there to snack on in case he goes really low. If I leave wet out like everyone is saying he will eat it all up within a couple hour (and he shares with his brother) and won't have anything else until I get home. Currently can't afford an auto feeder. ;--;
 
. If I leave wet out like everyone is saying he will eat it all up within a couple hour

Just wondering - didn't you say you saw that he'd eaten all of the dry food earlier as well? So he's full of higher carb food in the a.m. ? I'm not sure how it would differ to have him eat up a bunch of wet food - at least you'd know how many carbs it has in it...I'm just so uncomfortable with dry food purchased commercially. If you absolutely must leave dry food, please purchase Young Again Zero or Dr. Elsie's - so you'll know that it's low in carbs - otherwise the numbers will tell the 'high' story - and that's not healthy for Gio. :bighug:
 
I thought they ate the dry food...they didnt, haha. I was surprised because it normally last them all day. The camera was just playing tricks on me.

Anyone know why his numbers are still way in the high? :'(
 
We are all trying to help, when I first came on here bella was black and reds and now hes blues and greens with occasional yellow, sorry if I come off harsh, just want ur kitty to be ok
 
I know I need to get the numbers down. He's on 5 units twice daily. What more can I do? I'm buying some ketone testing strips today and I ordered the B-12 vitamins for neuropathy.
 
Glad he was okay today while you were gone. On days that he starts off with a lower number, you might want to try to come home for a test those days since you said your lunch time is flexible.

To help get the numbers down, ditch that brand dry food. Young Again (less than 1 % ) and Dr. Elsy's are better choices for dry as far as dry foods go , but it is much better if they are eating wet lower carb food. If you get him off the dry, you can follow TR protocol and get him into lower numbers faster. As long as dry is in the picture, you should follow Start Low Go Slow ( SLGS) method as it is safer for kitties eating dry as the dry takes longer to clear their system and the dose increases are done at a slower pace.

You can leave canned food for him through the day. Someone all ready mentioned getting an auto feeder and having timed feedings for him and some peeps will freeze the portion the night before and put it into the feeder frozen so by the time the slot spins open his food would be thawed. Or you can do the same leaving it on a plate for him.

He'll get there, but making sure his food is all low carb ( under 10% ) will help too. It is amazing how much a carb load will boast the numbers up.
 
Ok. I guess I will try freezing the wet food and leaving it out during the day. How much should I leave out the eight hours that I'm gone? I have two big cats. Will I still be OK with 5 units each shot?
 
Ok. I guess I will try freezing the wet food and leaving it out during the day. How much should I leave out the eight hours that I'm gone? I have two big cats. Will I still be OK with 5 units each shot?
It's hard to say since you are feeding 2 cats as to how much you'd need to leave. I would determine how much each cat needs a day and then divide up the calories. Auto feeders would help so that you could time them to open when you need them too. Do they try to eat up each other's food?

As far as safety goes, your meter will be your guide as to the number you get. If he is unusually low you can start him off with a bit higher carb food and that would be the day to come home sometime around +3ish or so to check on him. You can always post for help that morning and put an alert on our title to get attention, either tag and say Dosing Advice ASAP or something to that effect.
 
I don't work until 9:30 tomorrow. I can give him his AM shot at 5a, give him canned food, and then check his numbers at +2 and +4 to determine if I should leave out any dry while I'm gone. I'm thinking I probably won't have to. I have a super sugary boy right now. :'c
 
Friskies paté is good, yeah?

Yes, most of the Fancy Feast Pate's are very low in carbs. You can check Dr. Pierson's food chart to make sure you're getting the low carb ones. https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet...m6PPfEUz9YmzMGMxkmcBk6uRR0/edit#gid=113878384
Also pick up a few cans of medium carb 10-15% and a few cans of high carb to have on hand for when the numbers are dropping too quickly and you want to slow things down...the medium carbs are usually the ones that say 'Gravy' or 'Gravy style'....higher carbs take a little more looking into - I found the Fancy Feast with Cheddar cheese to be 21%.

I write the carb percentage on the bottom of every can of food so I can easily see what's what.

catfood1.jpg
catfood2.jpg
 
I'm about to do another check on Max in 15 minutes. I'm so nervous is not gonna be low enough! My poor boy is just in rough shape. I want to get him better. Anyone else ever wanna cry about it all?

:'O

Edit: Six cycles on 5 units and still super high. I'm just beside myself. Sigh...
 
Last edited:
Back
Top