1/16/23 Henry AMPS 498 +2 447 +5 468 - What’s next?

Henry’s Mom

Member Since 2022
Hello! Not sure what to do…Henry’s sugars have not been back to blues and greens in a few cycles. He is eating his normal meals and does not have access to other foods. I am worried that he’s starting to lose all the progress he’s made like having more energy and walking normally. I have increased is Lantus to 0.25. I checked his Lantus vial for floaties but the liquid is still crystal clear. I was thinking the Lantus somehow expired already. We keep it in the fridge.
 
Last edited:
Here is the link to yesterday's post, which we like to include for continuity: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/1-15-23-henry-amps-486-325-10-276-pmps-283-393.273058/

I'm glad you increased to 0.25 units as Bhooma suggested. As Lantus is a depot insulin, it can take a few days for you to see the effect of the 0.25 units dose.

Since the Lantus is less than a month old, it should be fine if kept in the fridge. There is an expiry date on the insulin container, but if you bought it new it should be good for a long time yet.

How is Henry acting/behaving? Doing anything different?
 
Here is the link to yesterday's post, which we like to include for continuity: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/1-15-23-henry-amps-486-325-10-276-pmps-283-393.273058/

I'm glad you increased to 0.25 units as Bhooma suggested. As Lantus is a depot insulin, it can take a few days for you to see the effect of the 0.25 units dose.

Since the Lantus is less than a month old, it should be fine if kept in the fridge. There is an expiry date on the insulin container, but if you bought it new it should be good for a long time yet.

How is Henry acting/behaving? Doing anything different?
Thank you so much. Just got a little worried with the #s. Henry’s behavior so far is the same, still energetic :cat: But worried that he would regress. And yes we just got the vial new at the end of December. We’ll keep an eye out on his numbers. :)
 
If you are feeding only wet food and can get at least 4 tests per day - 2 preshots and 2 mid-cycle - you might want to look at following TR rather than SLGS. At least till you get him to a good dose and he sees blues and greens again. With SLGS you increase once a week which might be too slow for Henry. With TR you can increase as often as every 3-5 days.
 
If you are feeding only wet food and can get at least 4 tests per day - 2 preshots and 2 mid-cycle - you might want to look at following TR rather than SLGS. At least till you get him to a good dose and he sees blues and greens again. With SLGS you increase once a week which might be too slow for Henry. With TR you can increase as often as every 3-5 days.
Hi there! Sorry for the late reply. Thank you for this! @Bron and Sheba (GA) also made the same suggestion the other day. I’ve been “studying” the TR and SLGS page several times over the past few days to make sure I get the basics. I think I am ready for it, and Henry is always ready and so patient. :oops: if I would like to go with TR, I would hold the current dose for 6 cycles and see how his nadirs are, correct? Thanks so much.
 
Hi there! Sorry for the late reply. Thank you for this! @Bron and Sheba (GA) also made the same suggestion the other day. I’ve been “studying” the TR and SLGS page several times over the past few days to make sure I get the basics. I think I am ready for it, and Henry is always ready and so patient. :oops: if I would like to go with TR, I would hold the current dose for 6 cycles and see how his nadirs are, correct? Thanks so much.
With TR you hold the dose for at least 6 cycles and get at least one test on every cycle.
Reduction BG is 50.
I think it would be a very good idea to swap to TR and you will have a better chance at getting Henry regulated.
Once you have made the decision…change the dosing method in the SS and signature please so people helping you are aware. I would also draw a line on the SS, colour it and say swapping to TR.
Until you get used to all the ins and outs of TR, I would post daily for advice:)
 
With TR you hold the dose for at least 6 cycles and get at least one test on every cycle.
Reduction BG is 50.
I think it would be a very good idea to swap to TR and you will have a better chance at getting Henry regulated.
Once you have made the decision…change the dosing method in the SS and signature please so people helping you are aware. I would also draw a line on the SS, colour it and say swapping to TR.
Until you get used to all the ins and outs of TR, I would post daily for advice:)
Thank you!! :bighug: I will get my signature and SS set up…I think I decided the other day, but was hoping I would see some changes in his #s first. We can do the testing at least 4x or more testing right now, so I think it’s a good time to try.
 
Just wanted to say it looks like your Henry and my Buster are on similar journeys, sending support and low sugar vibes!!
Hi there!! :cat: How nice of you to drop by! Sending you the same support and low sugar vibes! How lucky Buster is to have you. :) I’ll keep an eye out to see how Buster is doing!
 
Back
Top