1/15 Zeus AMPS 49 +.33 =99 +4 352 +6 409 PMPS 369

Status
Not open for further replies.

knolet

Member Since 2012
1/14 condo

Good morning friends,

Zeus was high yesterday due to stalling, BCS, and HC food combined with a bounce. I checked him at PM +7 and he was blue, but I didn't think he would go much lower... Then I heard him vomit this morning. Crap! +11/60, +11.33/55. Ugh! So we are stalling again for the third morning in a row. I am leaning toward the need for a reduction, maybe a shave off the 1.25 or a fat 1, but I don't know if this really warrants a reduction. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Other than that, things are normal here... Smokey has started pulling fur out again. She does this every winter. Last year was really bad because I was also remodeling the kitchen. Anyway, if you have any suggestions for Smokey that would be wonderful. Last year the vet gave her steroid shots, but warned that we shouldn't do it often. And now we have the heart murmur and hyper-t as well.

Thanks for the help. Hope you have a great day. Hugs and prayers to all,
Kathie
 
Re: 1/15 Zeus AMBG 60 +.33 55 dosing help, pls

J.D. will pull his fur out sometimes, and since he's diabetic my vet advises against steriods, and eventually he stops doing it.

I am running on Low brain power here, from lack of sleep, so I can't be 100% confident in all that I say right now.
I heard that some people do dose reductions when they consistantly have PS numbers too low to shoot.
Let's see what others have to say about it throughout the day today.

Have you gotten any more tests? You might have to do another BCS and higher carb food. Are you going to be home?
Do you have all the supplies you need?
 
Re: 1/15 Zeus AMBG 60 +.33 55 dosing help, pls 49/.67

Are you going to be home today?

I can't be with you much longer, because I have to sign off in a few minutes. We always say to feed the 40s.
Maybe just skipping this shot will drain her depot a little, and hopefully readjust her nadir... just trying to think.
 
Re: 1/15 Zeus AMBG 60 +.33 55 dosing help, pls 49/.67

I guess Zeus made the decision for me... 49. I can't stall any longer so I am feeding now, a mix if LC and HC, like yesterday. I will give a BCS and leave out extra food again. He does like to keep me on my toes.

Thanks Dyana!
 
Re: 1/15 Zeus AMBG 60 +.33 55 dosing help, pls 49/.67

No, I have to work today :sad:
 
Re: 1/15 Zeus AMBG 60 +.33 55 dosing help, pls 49/.67

Would it be better to skip rather than a BCS? Have a good day at tbp, thanks for your help.
 
Re: 1/15 Zeus AMBG 60 +.33 55 dosing help, pls 49/.67

I don't think I myself have ever skipped a shot. You could give him a very reduced dose if you feel comfortable with that option, like 0.50 unit, just to put something into his shed. I have to go. I'm sorry.
 
Re: 1/15 Zeus AMBG 60 +.33 55 dosing help, pls 49/.67

Thanks Dyana.... You actually confirmed what I was thinking... A BCS of .50. Thanks again, have a good day
 
Re: 1/15 Zeus AMBG 60 +.33 55 dosing help, pls 49/.67

Hi guys Dyana sent me over here to check on you did you already shoot? It seems to me that Zeus is leaning towards a reduction
 
Re: 1/15 Zeus AMBG 60 +.33 55 dosing help, pls 49/.67

Hey Michelle, yes I gave .50. Zeus did earn his reduction, he was at 49. I fed a mix of LC and HC. I am going to test right now, will post right after then I have to leave for tbp.
 
Re: 1/15 Zeus AMBG 60 +.33 55 dosing help, pls 49/.67

Ok good, nice shooting! Woo hoo on the reduction! Hope he surfs safely today, have a great day @ tbp. Congrats on the reduction!!!
 
Re: 1/15 Zeus AMPS 49 +.33 =99

Kathie, congrats on handling your morning so well!! and to Zeus on his reduction!! The cat sanctuary where i volunteer, sometimes uses Rescue Remedy for cats who pull out their fur if there aren't any skin or other medical issues. I wonder why Smokey does it in the winter? Could she be dry and itchy? I hope the rest of your day is calmer than the early part. Zeus, surf safe my man!! hugs and scritches - mary and oliver
 
Re: 1/15 Zeus AMPS 49 +.33 =99

If Smokey's problems are related to allergy or dry skin, these recommendations from my vet may help. Gabby was licking her tummy bald over a year ago.

There are several options—there is a product called Allerderm which is applied once weekly to the skin which can be quite helpful for itchy or dry skin. Additional fish oil omega-3 fatty acids, 200-250 mg daily, are often helpful, but may take up to 2 weeks to really have an effect. Antihistamines are often helpful—we seem to have the best success with Zyrtec, which is over-the-counter, or hydroxyzine which is a prescription medication.

We have Allerderm here, but you may be able to order it online. Zyrtec dosage is ½ of a 10 mg tablet by mouth (in food…) twice daily, or about every 12 hours, try for 7 days. Watch for drowsiness or restlessness, although side effects from Zyrtec are not likely or are very mild. Use plain Zyrtec, or cetirizine, only—no combo meds. The fish oil product we use is AllerG3, or you can use human products.

If your cat is sensitive to fish, the omega-3 may not be a good idea. Gabby didn't like the AllerG3 but did like human fish oil caplets.
 
Re: 1/15 Zeus AMPS 49 +.33 =99

Ugh! Low pre-shot numbers are always so unnerving! Hope Zeus surfs safely while you're away at tbp. And lil Smokey - no need to rip out your fur! Wish I had the answer for that one, poor lil girl. Let us know if you find something that works.
 
Re: 1/15 Zeus AMPS 49 +.33 =99

Hi guys .. wow, another crazy morning for you .. nice job on handling it! Twix, our civvie, plucks out the fur on her front paws .. she's done it consistently for about 4 years now .. took her to the vet, she could not find anything wrong in the area .. Not sure why she does it, but now her little front paws are nearly bald :sad: We snap our fingers at her when she does it in front of us, but she's smart enough now to do it in hiding!
 
Re: 1/15 Zeus AMPS 49 +.33 =99

hi
you wrote that Smokey was hyper-T - is she on methimazole? If so, that could be making the itching worse.
I give Monster 1/4 tab zyrtec and that seems to help.

Denise
 
Re: 1/15 Zeus AMPS 49 +.33 =99 +4 352 +6 409

Ugly red bounce :cry: 409, ugh, hated to see that!

@ Mary - yes, I think Smokey does get dry itchy skin, she is the one that likes to hover over the heat vents. I have tried the feliway diffusers, but it didn't seem to help help.

Thanks Sienne, I will read over the info again later. I did try fish oil one other time, she didn't like it... It was something I had found at the pet store... Maybe the human kind will work better. I might check with the vet too for recommendations.

@ Tara, thanks for your support. I hope I can find something to help Smokey.

@ Devon, Smokey pulls her fur out every year for at least the last 4 or 5 years, but it is really only in the winter time, which is why I think it's dry skin. She is smart too, she doesn't do it in front of me anymore :lol:

@ Denise, yes. smokey is on methimazole. I didn't realize it would make the itching worse. Thanks for the suggestion!
 
Re: 1/15 Zeus AMPS 49 +.33 =99 +4 352 +6 409

Ouch on the bounce ohmygod_smile Hope it clears quickly.

Has Smokey been HyperT long? Some of the methimazole possible side effects (nausea, itching etc.) are transitory and
clear up after a while.
 
Re: 1/15 Zeus AMPS 49 +.33 =99 +4 352 +6 409

Just had to stop by to see what was going on with these numbers--Well, Congrats on the reducie--You really handled yourself well this am & did all the right things :-D :-D :-D Great Job!
Moonie is also on the Hyper T meds & we use the transdermal gel..she hasnt had any side effects thank G-D!
Hope Smokey will stop landscaping herself! Hugs from us!
 
Re: 1/15 Zeus AMPS 49 +.33 =99 +4 352 +6 409

Hi Bruce, i hope Zeus clears the bounce quickly too, fingers crossed. Smokey was just dx hyper-t about two months ago. It would be nice if it would just clear up quickly :smile:

Hi Roni. Thanks for the kind words. How does the transdermal gel work? Our vet mentioned it to me but said it was really hard to get the dosing right and something about it irritating the ear (is that where you put it?). He recommended the pills, but Smokey is not liking that very much, so maybe I should think about switching.
 
Re: 1/15 Zeus AMPS 49 +.33 =99 +4 352 +6 409

Congrats on the reducie. I hope Zeus settles into the new dose quickly. Hopefully you can find something to help Smokey with pulling her fur out.
 
Hooray, Zeus left the red floor. I thought about shooting through the bounce tonight, and then taking the reduction tomorrow... But I am hoping for an AMPS # that I don't have to stall. I'm sure Zeus would feel the same way :lol:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top