1/15 Shadoe amps 358 +2 295 +7 95 pmps 205 +11 351

Status
Not open for further replies.

Blue

Member Since 2009
Yesterday’s Condo

Shadoe is lying nicely, but she must be feeling unsettled as she is using her feet to make sure Booboo does not lie right next to her; Booboo doesn't know what's going on and hissed at me for moving her away from Shadoe. Nothing new there; she hates everyone and everything except Shadoe, so she just wants to lie with her buddy.

I am going to stop at the vets in a bit and arrange to bring Shadoe in this morn.
 
Re: 1/15 Shadoe amps 358

hey Gayle,

what I meant about the lip licking is when one of mine feels yucky they would do that - and I expect a hairball or some pukey.
Shadoe did eat a little this morning but threw it up, so the appetite is in there, but it really does sound like she not feeling too hot, the shifting position - restlessness is something I see too.

I take it ur taking a day off? I hope it goes well at the vet and nothing serious - sending good vet vibes and a :YMHUG:
 
Re: 1/15 Shadoe amps 358

I think the vet visit is due. She has not had a recent visit since one after starting Lantus, and we need to get the tests done to rule out any issues that are causing her to need a higher dose.
Maybe a constipation issue, so we can get that cleared up and do the other tests all in one visit.
Those vets are a bit pricey but worth it. One less visit is one less visit charge.
 
Re: 1/15 Shadoe amps 358

Hi Gayle, I didn't see your problem yesterday with Shadoe's not eating but I am having the same thing with Morris right now. ohmygod_smile He acts hungry but turns down anything I serve him...except medium carb Fancy Feast beef in gravy, which I reserve for bringing him up from lower numbers. If that's all he'll eat, by gosh that's what he is getting, the numbers be darned.

One of Morris' problems ended up being his anal glands were full...maybe have the vet check those too??? :o
 
Re: 1/15 Shadoe amps 358 +2 295

Ugh, thanks Brenda; duly noted and added to the list of demands for the vet visit.

Once I add her +2 and print the ss, we are off to the vet.

Man, I swear she is doing this number thing on purpose, getting yellow at +2.
All I want is good numbers AND good health, at the same time please Shadoe :YMSIGH:
 
1/15 Shadoe amps 358 +2 295 - back from vet

Holy moly! Did they give me the wrong cat back?
I may as well open the frig and let her eat everything in there!

I had the appt with one of the vets who actually knows something about FD - bonus!

I gave her the background for Shadoe, provided print of her ss, and also a conversion chart (they need to see 16.4, not 295), a copy of the food list, and a copy of the dosing protocol - just so she knows what we are following.

I told her we wanted to check for pancreatitis first, and also acro and IAA, then cushings if we were still stumped. She agreed that we should be looking for a reason for the high dose, just by ruling out things. She called the lab and they don't have the IAA test, but we will have it done if needed later.

The licking lip thing is most likely just the nausea, but no need for appetite stimulant because she was going to the food, but not eating. Again due to the nausea. I know I don't like to eat when I am nauseous, so no surprise there.

She checked the teeth and said they could use a bit of a clean, but we are not looking at that till we get her back on her feet healthier. That will be about $600-800 and more depending what they find. Ugh. She did say they did not look bad though.

The anal glands were not impacted but were firm; we had them expressed.
She was a wee bit dehydrated since she has not eaten or drunk much for a few days; we gave her subQ fluids, so they said just a small lump on back till settled in.
Bloodwork taken: FADR4 - CBC, CC3, FPL, T4, Fruc, U/A
One Zantac injection.
Instructions provided to start her on pepcid A/C 10mg tablets, 1/4 tab twice a day for 3-4 days starting tonite.
Vet will call me likely tomorrow with the blood results and the FPL may take till Sunday, so she will call again when she has that result.

Everyone there, techs and vets, all commented on how MUSCULAR she was since she does not look it at all, and how well behaved she was. If nothing else, Shadoe is super SOLID and totally easy going and well behaved, even if she is terrified. And speaking of terrified, I guess I should put off testing till later this afternoon since she is likely still stressed from the vet visit and has literally inhaled a half can of tuna and a bunch of other stuff in the various bowls from our attempts to get her to eat this morn.

Now, $400 later, we are home and Shadoe is eating everything that will fit in her mouth, which reminds me, I should finish this off and make sure she is eating only edible things!
What an oinker! No wonder she is so MUSCULAR. :roll:

I am assuming that we stick with our normal dose tonite right?
 
Re: 1/15 Shadoe amps 358 +2 295 - back from vet

Yai $400 dollars later!! :o ...NOT! Yikers, but it's done and u have to be feeling better yes??

Shadoe the Super Muscular Kitty!
 
Re: 1/15 Shadoe amps 358 +2 295 - back from vet

Poor sweet li'l Shadow is so hungry now. That's the good news. Hope that blood test is normal.
You Bean girl can relax now after $400! ( i would have to hide a bill from my DH to escape additional stress))
 
Re: 1/15 Shadoe amps 358 +2 295 - back from vet

Yay, she's eating!! That's great news! :RAHCAT We've got all fingers and paws crossed here for good news on all those tests! :thumbup
 
Re: 1/15 Shadoe amps 358 +2 295 - back from vet now +7 95!

Ok I am sure she is feeling alot better after being poked and expressed and subQ'd but come on!
Now, you go green?

OK ideas anyone? What is she up to and what can I expect later? A rocket blast up to red/black?

She is acting just fine, so I guess she is over any stress from the vet visit! :lol:
 
Re: 1/15 Shadoe amps 358 +2 295 - back from vet +7 95 7.5 100

OK I have to go out and will be home again around +9.5.

She better not do any funny business with the numbers, but boy, is she ever looking happy right now.
 
Re: 1/15 Shadoe amps 358 +2 295 - back from vet now +7 95!

quick friendly fyi~SQ fluids bring down BG numbers so that is why you have a touch of green there.
glad you got the tests done. i'll have some one page me when the results come back, k?

~jojo
 
Re: 1/15 Shadoe amps 358 +2 295 - back from vet now +7 95!

holy crap! I just got home from an errand - why's everything happen when I go out? lol

that fluid stuff Shadoe got - was for dehydration right?
so does that mean she'd been dehydrated all this time?

or is this fluid stuff really powerful ass kicking magic fluid? :lol:

Inquiring minds wanna know.

now I'm gonna go drool at Shadoe's spreadsheet...
 
Re: 1/15 Shadoe amps 358 +2 295 - back from vet now +7 95!

Gayle
So happy you brought Shadoe to the vet today and got some worries off your mind for now.
Glad she is eating and feeling better and maybe give you some better numbers.
You see we shold have a play date cuz Max went to vet today. Gee, mine only cost
260? for like what. urine testing an I know it will be neg.
ttyl
 
Re: 1/15 Shadoe amps 358 +2 295 - back from vet now +7 95!

wow - that green sure looks pretty.

I would put what they gave Shadoe in ur comments section of ur SS so we all know what happened with those fluids.

How is she doing?
 
Re: 1/15 Shadoe amps 358 +2 295 - back from vet now +7 95!

Ronnie
Good idea to add the info onto her ss; I was so focused on the offline stuff that I never thought about it. I am pretty good at adding her test numbers, but the comments are still not automatic.
The fluid was given I am not sure because I said that I had not seen her drinking and there had been no urine for the whole day, or because Shadoe was dehydrated, or because both.
I don't know a thing about these SubQ fluids, so all I thought was she was no longer as thirsty and the green was from something else like the expressing her anal glands. Now that's what I was calling magical poop!
I, too, want to know what's in this fluids that it has such a big effect!

Randi,
A play date would be great, but I would bet that the two of them would swap tricks, then you and I would have double troubles! What all did Max have done at the vets on last visit?

Jojo,
Thanks so much for taking the time to comment/advise/suggest on Shadoe's results when I get them.
Tomorrow when I am advised that the results are in, I'll go and pick up a copy.
I can post both the ones from her initial tests in October, and also the new ones from today's blood/urine draws.

I will be quizzing this vet tomorrow because I want to hear what she has to interpret the results.
I am afraid I was a bit rough on her; the first thing I said to her is that Shadoe is a high dose insulin diabetic with no other known health issues, so exactly how much do you know about FD. :lol:
I think she was a bit taken aback, but I don't care. I gave her a copy of the protocol to show her what I intend to continue to follow and also the food lists so she could use them as a reference.
I liked her reply was "Actually, I know quite a bit." I had taken notes and told her what tests I wanted done, so she went off to talk to the lab about what tests they had and could do and I also liked her attitude - she is taking the one step at a time approach, which I am piss poor at being. She says first we take these tests, see if it's pancreatitis, start working on that issue, and see where we get. The teeth won't be done till later if we are dealing with pancreatitis, and Shadoe's teeth don't look bad. The IAA we could get done if we decide to, later, and the cushings is something that she seems to think we can rule out, or rather consider as not likely, at the moment.

Yes, I am very relieved that we have started the process to see what issues Shadoe has and maybe find a reason for the need for the high dose.
Who knows, maybe she just needs it or likes it. Right now, Shadoe and I are just enjoying her first green and now a sunshiny yellow.

It's one hour till her pmps; she is looking soo comfy and sleeping, I won't test +11.
Let her enjoy.
 
Re: 1/15 Shadoe amps 358 +2 295 +7 95 +10 153 pmps 205 +2 234?

OK just what am I expecting to see here?

Shadoe's numbers have been going up ever since her low after the vet visit and her receipt of the SubQ fluids which apparently resulted in her very first green.

I temporarily worried about giving her full dose at pmps, but apparently for no reason because it's as if she had no pm shot at all!

Anyone have some sort of explanation?
 
BUMP

u might wanna get a +3 since that is usually the onset

+2 is known as a number similar to ur preshot number, plus ur getting the food spike too from dinner.

hang on and let's see what other feedback u get
 
Re: 1/15 Shadoe amps 358 +2 295 +7 95 +10 153 pmps 205 +2 234?

a +3 should tell you if it's the beginning of a bounce. after seeing her first green, i'd be surprised if she didn't bounce...
 
Re: 1/15 Shadoe amps 358 +2 295 +7 95 +10 153 pmps 205 +2 234?

Jill & Alex said:
a +3 should tell you if it's the beginning of a bounce. after seeing her first green, i'd be surprised if she didn't bounce...

Yeah, those green numbers really scare the bejesus out of them the first few times! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 1/15 Shadoe amps 358 +2 295 +7 95 +10 153 pmps 205 +2 234?

yea! what they said! lol!

oh a little bounce? I peeked :mrgreen:
 
Re: 1/15 Shadoe amps 358 +2 295 +7 95 +10 153 pmps 205 +2 234?

So far no bounce.

That's cuz she is well behaved and MUSCULAR, according to the vet tech :lol:
As of +4.5, she is not rising and is instead strolling through some sunshiny yellows! :RAHCAT

That's my tough Shadoe, all sprawled out on top of Booboo, happy as all get out.

Is there such a thing as a late bounce?
 
Re: 1/15 Shadoe amps 358 +2 295 +7 95 +10 153 pmps 205 +2 234?

Gayle and Shadoe said:
Is there such a thing as a late bounce?
unfortunately, yes. sometimes a bounce may not show up until her next cycle.
 
Re: 1/15 Shadoe amps 358 +2 295 +7 95 +10 153 pmps 205 +2 234?

Aw crap; OK, I'll keep a close eye on her.
Good thing it's a weekend - I will be around to do some extra tests tomorrow.
I just need to go out and get the pill pockets to hide her pepcid pieces.

thanks Jill.
 
Re: 1/15 Shadoe amps 358 +2 295 +7 95 +10 153 pmps 205 +2 234?

about those pill pockets...
they're loaded with carbs. you can tear them into a smaller piece... just big enough to coat the pill. they last longer that way, too. :-D
 
Re: 1/15 Shadoe amps 358 +2 295 +7 95 +10 153 pmps 205 +2 234?

Gayle -Boy I wish someone would tell me I'm muscular!! :lol: :lol: :lol: Or Moonie even :lol:
Glad your vet is compliant! I also went to my new vet Armed with my SS & the Tilly protocol, and all the info I had that would be pertinent--She was so d*mned impressed!! And happy I hometest!
AND a green number -What a day! I know the pepcid will help--Hoping for a good report tomorrow & Shadoe, dont worry your momma bean-OK?
Have a good night!
 
OK I am sure the pepcid would work, but the trick is to get it INSIDE the cat. That 1/4 tablet is small so I mashed it and put it into a pinch of food and put the food in the side of her mouth. I doubt that much stayed in, so I got another 1/4 tab and slipped it into the side of her mouth. She was on her back on my lap so I could check, and by now all you experienced pill givers are :lol: because you know what she was doing - staring at me with her mouth closed, giving me the impression that it's all good, the pill is gone. NOPE, I check and naturally it is just sitting there and she spits it out as soon as I open her mouth, so I put it back, she spits it out, and we continued until the saliva was helping me by dissolving it a bit and it was getting smaller :lol: so I think I got a 1/4's worth of a pepcid into her, between the mashed up stuff that sort of went into her mouth and the bit that dissolved in our on the back battle.

UGH. If the pill pockets I get later don't work, I will be begging on here for some other suggestions.

Once, the pepcid battle was over, we moved onto the +11 and sadly, I was feeling better to see her in the middle of pinks again, so she did not zoom up to red or black while I slept. Yes, I will still watch for a possible late bounce, but I have my fingers crossed for no bounce.

I gave Shadoe a bit of some tuna and that tuna juice mixed with water from yesterday to tide her over to amps. She seems OK and happy.

Roni,
I firmly believe that we cannot expect dr's and vets to be experts at all things, and so our sharing with them will be valuable other patients because our info will add to the vet's knowledge and he/she will have info that can be shared with their patients.
I spent alot of time shaking my finger at the vet about the dry food and how the kinds they offered were more bad than good for their diabetic patients. Again, I like the vet I had yesterday because appreciated the info and hopefully will share the food info with others. She did say she had an appt after me for a little kitty with pancreatitis already dx, so I suspect she saw more of the FD cases than other vets in the office/hospital.

Scratches for Moonie and have a good day.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top