1/15 Pumbaa AM +12/58 PMPS/61

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pumbaa

Member Since 2012
Previous thread can be viewed here.

I'm still slowly recovering from the flu. I'd probably be over it by now if I didn't overdo it on Sunday because I felt a bit better. *sigh*

If I didn't know better, I would say that Pumbaa is now getting these low numbers just because he knows I'll feed him the much-more-tasty higher carbed food when he's low early in the cycle. *LOL*

Maybe I'm still delirious with fever, but it seems that Pumbaa's bounces are going away quicker, each and every time.

I'm still steering the lows with higher carbed foods, because I'm still sick, and don't want to have to sit here for hours on end, testing every half hour to make sure Pumbaa doesn't drop to a dangerous low level. Even though he started the current PM cycle at 61, I only gave him 14% carbed food, but will bring out the 19% if I need to. I'd much rather deal with the low BG levels with higher carbed foods than by either skipping a shot or giving a BCS, because messing with the insulin affects the numbers for cycles to come, whereas messing with the carbs being eaten only messes with a few hours of a cycle. I wish I knew this in the very beginning of Pumbaa's treatment! (It might have been mentioned to me early on, but all I remember is skipping shots or BCS when pre-shot numbers are low.)

I do need to add some higher than 19% carbs food to my pantry, when the 19% isn't high enough to keep Pumbaa's numbers up without me feeding him that every hour. To me, the idea is to get him to eat enough carbs to bring his numbers up, without his belly getting so full he won't be able to eat later, when he still needs the extra carbs to combat the low numbers.

Hope you all are well, and avoiding the flu. If you have it, or are recovering from it, my heart goes out to you, and I pray you feel much better, soon!

Suze
 
Dyana: Thank you so much for caring about Pumbaa, and noticing that I don't normally test him until +3 or later due to my knowledge of his history. (((HUGS)) I appreciate that you took time to check on this and alert me that Pumbaa needed to be tested earlier than normal.

I was going to wait until PM +2 to test Pumbaa, since he was sleeping calmly next to me, with a full belly, but did test 15 minutes earlier, due to your post. Thankfully the 14% carbs he ate kept him up at 64. He didn't eat after this test, so I will have to test him again at PM +3 to see if I need to give him even higher carbed food, or if he is rising on his own. (He has gone down into the 30's with no signs of going hypo, so I am very calm about his current numbers.)

I would not mind seeing him have his first below 50 reading on this dose, one of three before he gets a dose reduction. But I'd rather steer him above 50, and have a nice, unstressful green surf tonight, and see if his pancreas & liver can start dealing with seeing green numbers without freaking out and bouncing.

Suze
 
I also know that i will be up for hours with Pumbaa, trying hard via higher carbed foods to keep his numbers up until he finally starts heading up on his own. Which could be as late at 6 am. Not conducive to getting sleep and getting over the flu, that is for sure. But, at the same time, I am so happy that he is having these lower numbers at this reduced dose. :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top