1/15 Ole PMPS 540 +3 462 +8 408

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rebekah

Member Since 2013
Good Morning,
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=111870

Last night we had a red surf and this morning we awoke in the penthouse. Booooooo!

I don't remember, but I don't think I have ever had an AAHA! moment at 4am, but I had one last night! Thank you Sandy, for clarifying that the 10 cycle count begins at the last green cycle! I hadn't realized that, thus my confusion. I appreciate your patience as you help me help Ole. Uff-da! sometimes I can be a little thick!

Ole was energetic this morning for his breakfast, no surprise there. Next he usually has his food spike lethargy, which I hope he is able to skip this morning. He had a good washing up after his chow down like a good kitty. He is also minding his pees and poos. He has been sleeping with us over the last several nights, not quite cuddling, but at the foot of the bed. Right now he is napping on the sofa, which is so very tempting ....

I hope you all have a good day! I am able to work from home today until a late afternoon meeting, so I'll keep you posted!

Thanks again for all of your help and understanding!

Come on down Ole!

Rebekah
 
Re: 1/15 Ole AMPS 560

Hi guys .. well boo on this mornings number but oh what a feeling when that aha moment comes through! So glad there are such kind people on this board to work with those of us who struggle with this .. Have a great day guys!
 
Re: 1/15 Ole AMPS 560

Whoa Ole!!! There's no need for you to be up on that floor today! I hear there's some good sales on the lower floors so come on down and take a look!!

Looks like Ole may be a very bouncy kitty. Hey Mr. Liver!! Those pretty blue numbers are GOOD for Ole! Stop panicking and you'll get used to them too!
 
Re: 1/15 Ole AMPS 560 +4 294 +6 259

Thanks for taking the elevator down Ole. Yellow is a much nicer color on you!! :lol: :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 1/15 Ole AMPS 560 +4 294 +6 259

Well, that looks better, Ole! Nice slide today :-D I have lots of Uff Da! moments, so funny to see you say that...my dads side is Norweigan so I hear that one all the time :lol: I just looked at your profile, and Ole is so pretty! I'm glad he is feeling so good today. Have a nice evening!
 
Re: 1/15 Ole AMPS 560 +4 294 +6 259 +9 302 +10.5 373

Hi all!

Thank you for all of your encouragement! It means so much to know that there are good people out there pulling for us!

I've been in and out all day, so I feel as though I have a decent curve for Ole, and it looks just like a bell! I would rather it look like a diving board, the low kind... but hope springs eternal!

Any guidance is appreciated, oh wise ones. I'm embarrassed, but I feel like I need to be told what to do and when to do it!

I'm of Swedish heritage. I was raised in a very Scandinavian community in Minnesota. When we moved away from Minnesota in 2000, I really missed my winters and my lefse and all things Scandi. When we adopted Ole, his name was Schwartz, named at the shelter. It wouldn't do, so Ole he became. Uff-da, what a lover he is!

Thanks again!
Takk
Rebekah
 
Re: 1/15 Ole AMPS 560 +4 294 +6 259 +9 302 +10.5 373

Rebekah said:
I'm embarrassed, but I feel like I need to be told what to do and when to do it!
Don't be embarrassed. I was in the same boat. . . for the entire ride! :cool:

Being that ECID, it can take a while to really 'know thy cat'. Then, just when you think you do, the picture can change. :roll:

I'm thinking if tonights cycle, (cycle 10 since Ole first saw green at this dose) does not show much action it's time to increase. I'm on the fence regarding how much - 0.25u or 0.5u. Let's see what others think. . .

You guys up for any PJ parties, that may occur after the increase?
 
Re: 1/15 Ole AMPS 560 +4 294 +6 259 +9 302 +10.5 373

Hi Sandy, Hi all,

Yes, I can be up either tonight or tomorrow night and tomorrow I have to be out of the house from 11:00 on, but I can stop home quickly after 2. My inclination is the .25. No suprise there! Let me know what you think asap as his PMPS is in 10 minutes and his shot is 15 minutes later.

Thanks again!

Rebekah
 
Re: 1/15 Ole AMPS 560 +4 294 +6 259 +9 302 +10.5 373

I wondered if you were Scandinavian, with a kitty named Ole :-D That was my best friends grandpas name, so it's a good one! And oh, oh, I miss my grandma who has gone ahead, she used to make the best lefse! I tried to find it at the farmers market...no dice. I'd make it myself, if I were good at that sort of thing...but it's so much work :shock: Mmm, and krumkake, and scrull (I don't know if I spelled those right). Anyways, now I'm hungry!

I know everyone is pulling for you, and eager to help when they can. It's quite a sugar dance! :-D Hopefully some others can help with the increase info, all I'm doing is talking about food :lol:
 
Re: 1/15 Ole AMPS 560 +4 294 +6 259 +9 302 +10.5 373

Since tonight will be cycle 10, no increase tonight. Shoot the current dose of 5.5u and see how the cycle plays out.
Ya never know. . . :cool:

If it's unremarkable, then increase with tomorrow mornings shot. (I'm still on the fence about how much, however there is still time to ruminate. . .)

Make sense?
 
Re: 1/15 Ole AMPS 560 +4 294 +6 259 +9 302 +10.5 373 PMPS 54

Hi!

PMPS 540, I checked twice, 539. I gave him 5.5uL.

Thank you,
Rebekah
 
Re: 1/15 Ole AMPS 560 +4 294 +6 259 +9 302 +10.5 373 PMPS 54

Well, Ole did have a nice curve today...he just needs to curve it down a bit lower, ok, little guy? I hear a dosecrease threat is on the table...better start working it!

Have a great evening, Rebekah!
 
Re: 1/15 Ole AMPS 560 +4 294 +6 259 +9 302 +10.5 373 PMPS 54

i'd go with Sandy's first thought - you've got plenty of cycles of the 5.5u and he's had some nice blue evenings, but i agree that it's time for an increase.

because he's at 5.5u, i'd go with a 0.5u increase. with the higher doses, 0.25u is like fattening a dose. plus, as wendy pointed out, that keeps you on a line on the syringe, which is always kinda nice! :lol:

if you want to go up 0.25u, you can think of it as data-gathering and answering the question "what will Ole do with just a nudge more insulin?" Actually, you want to try to notice that if you increase by 0.5u too. Even when punkin was at 15u, i kept most of his dose increases at 0.5u or 0.25u because they still made changes in his blood sugar. One of your jobs is to figure out what Ole does at different dose increases.

don't be embarrassed at ALL to ask for help about the dose. you'll get to the point where you feel confident deciding what to do, but it takes some experience to get there. we have all been in your shoes and we totally get it.
 
Re: 1/15 Ole AMPS 560 +4 294 +6 259 +9 302 +10.5 373 PMPS 54

Hi there :cool:

Considering his current dose, the tenaciousness of 'the colors that shall remain nameless' and what it took to get Ole to crack through all that R&B, I think an increase of 0.5u is the way to go.
 
Re: 1/15 Ole PMPS 540 +3 462

Hi Back!

hahahaha

So, tomorrow morning I'll give Ole a .5U increase.

Just to clarify, it will be impossible for me to test Ole between 11-2:30 and 3-6:00. Would a .25u be a safer dose? Friday I can be home, as well as the weekend. Tell me what you think.

Also, is plain baked salmon a good snack for Ole? He loves it. Then again, he loves plastic bags... I checked the package, no salt or sugar, nothing but salmon.

I hope everybody is having a grand evening!

Rebekah
 
Re: 1/15 Ole PMPS 540 +3 462

i'd think you just need to test him before you go out. compare to the previous test and do a calculation of the points per hour drop. i don't know what those + numbers are. the concern would be if he's before his nadir and dropping. if it looks like he might get low, you'll want to leave him a lot of food - probably just canned low carb unless it's pointing towards him getting under 50.

i've heard some discussion about calculating points/per hour because drops can be more all at once and then flatten out in some cats. But Ole' is fairly flat, and punkin was fairly flat, and it worked well for us to look at it that way. Michelle/Mannie suggested that tactic to me and it really helped us to look ahead and predict where punkin might go, so i'll pass it along for you to consider, for what it's worth.

it's hard to be able to say now what to do then, so i'm not sure if that's much help. Ole' is in uncharted territory still.

you could wait til tomorrow night after your outings tomorrow to increase. or Friday morning. we just don't want him to get used to high numbers any more than necessary.

sometimes fish can cause urinary tract difficulties for male cats, so i'd keep the fish at a minimum, just as a general plan. There's nothing wrong with salmon, though. perhaps fish is fine for Ole', i don't know. Dr. Pierson on http://www.catinfo.org recommends primarily giving cats poultry because that is the most likely to be their natural diet. not too many cats bring down mastadons, and beef can be an allergy problem for some cats, and usually cats don't catch fish. they mostly eat birds and mice on their own. i've always wondered why no one has done a mouse cat food. :shock: :lol:
 
Re: 1/15 Ole PMPS 540 +3 462

Rebekah said:
Just to clarify, it will be impossible for me to test Ole between 11-2:30 and 3-6:00.
:?: At which 'plus' hours will you be able to test ?

It's unlikely that Ole will see action on the first cycle of a new dose since the depot has to adjust, however you never know.
If you are not comfortable shooting 6u in the morning, I agree with Julie - best hold at 5.5u for the AM shot and start 6.0u at the PM shot.
Although they are an improvement, we don't want Ole getting too cozy with his current numbers.
julie & punkin (ga) said:
i've always wondered why no one has done a mouse cat food.
Now there is an idea ! :idea:
 
Hi!

Sorry about the timing The times that I couldn't test are +5-+8.5 and +9-+11.5.

Thank you
Super funny Julie, even at +8am!

Rebekah
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top