1/15 Leo AMPS 90, +4 126, +7 60, +5 99, PMPS 153 & p-titus

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tracy & Leo

Member Since 2011
Yesterday
Good Morning LL,

So it seems my lil buddy is suffering from another pancreatitis attack, we had some major barfing last night at around +5, we also had some diarrhea as well. My poor baby :sad: He ate supper alright, but just seemed lethargic and didn't want to be bothered, then the poop happened and then the pukus. I have some injectable cerenia on hand so i gave him a dose of it last night, about an hour later he was playing, purring and batting everything that was in his range. I also caught him trying to munch on my plant, oh how i wish i had some cat grass for him but its currently growing!! Shortly after the pukus his BG was 68 :o :shock: it was a real nail biter last night, i made him wait a bit then fed him a bit, waited and fed him a bit more. Needless to say i did not get much sleep last night. He's very hungry this morning and i shot a reduced dose, he's eaten a bit and i'm waiting to see if all is good to feed him some more.

I emailed Dr. Andrea late last night and she's already responded. She says that my fluids are still good and that i should give him 100mls this morning. So, i'll have to watch Marje and Gus' video again for a refresher.

Have i ever said how much i hate pancreatitis, i hate watching Leo suffer from it and feeling so very helpless while its happening.

Heres hoping we have a better day.
 
Re: 1/15 Leo AMPS 90

Morning Tracy and oh my, on Leo and the pancreatitis attack. So sorry he and you are going thru it, poor baby. You sure knew what to do and had control and got him thru it, lucky Leo to have you as his loving Bean. How nice you can E-mail the Vet and she responds right away. Marje's video is great! If I can give fluids, anyone can! :lol: Sending lots of healing vines and hugs to Leo and you, too.
 
Re: 1/15 Leo AMPS 90 - p-titis again

I'm so sorry Leo isn't feeling good....poor little guy! It's a good thing you've got everything on had...feel better, Leo!!!
 
Re: 1/15 Leo AMPS 90 - p-titis again

Lisa, I'm sorry Leo isn't feeling well. It's almost as hard on you as him, poor little guy. I hope it's short lived and he's better very very soon. take good care - mary and oliver
 
Re: 1/15 Leo AMPS 90 - p-titis again

Morning Tracy ~O) ~O) ~O)

I am sorry to read that Leo has p'titus again,. poor little guy. I know how it is when you have to watch them feel bad and are kinda helpless through it all. We do what we can, hope they feel better soon. It is wonderful that you have all the supplies on hand. sure does make it a bit easier. Nice too that your vet responded so quickly. :cool: I hope too that you can catch up on some sleep today.

Be good Leo, surf well today. :-D :mrgreen:
 
Re: 1/15 Leo AMPS 90 - p-titis again

Hi Tracy & Leo,

Bummer on the pancreatitis! Leo, Rusty is sending you a nice pot of healing grass, in addition to the usual healing vines. Feel better, buddy! Hope you get in some sleep today, Tracy. So sorry to hear about the pancreatitis recurring. Interesting that Leo's numbers are good. When Rusty has a flare, his numbers are higher than usual.

Hugs from us,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 1/15 Leo AMPS 90 - p-titis again

You did a great job intervening. Whatever you can do to figure out what the subtle signs of an onset are, will help so you can intervene early. I hope Leo feels even better.

Any chance this was some sort of bug? It's a very quick turn around for p'titis.
 
Re: 1/15 Leo AMPS 90, +4 126 - p-titis again

So far so good this morning, he's been very hungry and eaten close to 2 cans of FF but i'm trying not to feed him too much. He's eaten only 10% this morning and so far his numbers are pretty good, fingers, toes and paws crossed here.

Leo has never had a bug that i've known of, but wouldn't the treatment be the same if he was suffering from a bug?
 
Re: 1/15 Leo AMPS 90, +4 126 - p-titis again

Hi guys .. aww poor leo .. sorry to hear he was not feeling well last night .. sounds like you took care of him and got him feeling better in no time though! Hopefully that was the last "attack" for a long long time! Have a great day!
 
Re: 1/15 Leo AMPS 90, +4 126 - p-titis again

Nice on the aearly catch, and you are right, whether P-titis or something else your treatment seems to have worked like a charm!

Take it easy both of you and get some rest after last night.

ETA: Phooey! Smilies aren't working! :roll: :?
 
Re: 1/15 Leo AMPS 90, +4 126 - p-titis again

Glad he is feeling better. Poor guy. Sending all kinds of healing vines your way. Give him some scritches from Auntie Melissa. Big hugs Tracy!
 
Re: 1/15 Leo AMPS 90, +4 126, +7 60 - p-titis again

Oh geez this cat is trying his hardest to give me a heart attack :shock: :shock: :shock:

We just finished up fluids, it was definitely a challenge. Leo kept moving, the needle kept coming out once that little pocket filled with fluids, the needle was huge and Leo tried biting me while i put the needle in. Just a gentle bite, more of a tooth clamp to let me know that needle hurts. I ended up giving him a little less than 50mls. I'm supposed to go to his vetty to pick up more cerenia syringes, maybe i'll see if they have any smaller gauge sub-q needle tips. I think we have 21 gauge, but i don't see it written on the needle anywhere.

I tested him afterwards and he throws me a 60 :shock: :shock: i'm done messing around trying to keep him up and not knowing if he's going to barf at any second, so i gave him a big healthy drop of karo mixed in with his food, which he's been gobbling all morning (the food, not the karo) so i think i'm just being a worrywart and totally overreacting. I'm seriously going to have a heart attack, if i don't check back in please call 911 for me!!!
 
Re: 1/15 Leo AMPS 90, +4 126, +7 60 - p-titis again

Yes you should be able to get smaller needles, it will take longer for the fluids to go in though. Cleo was always more cooperative w/ the smaller needles.
 
Re: 1/15 Leo AMPS 90, +4 126, +7 60 - p-titis again

Awww Tracy......all I can do is send cyber hugs to you, and scritches to Leo. cat_pet_icon

Hope he gets all better quickly. You are such a good caretaker of your sweetie boy...even if he does try to bite the hand that helps him. :smile:
 
Re: 1/15 Leo AMPS 90, +4 126, +7 60, +5 99, PMPS 153 & p-tit

Well the karo drop seems to have worked its magic and he came up a bit. I did get out to see and talk to Dr. Andrea, she thinks after seeing Leo's b/w results come back with elevated white blood cells that Leo's pancreas was smouldering, and the stress from the blood work probably set it off. She recommends 3 days of cerenia, 100mls of fluids everyday should get rid of this bout. She said she would check up on my dad to see how Leo is doing once i leave for work on Thursday.

She did end up giving me 2 different choices of needles for fluids 19 and 21 gauge, she also gave me a butterfly tube set to try instead of using the regular fluids tube, she said it might be easier for me to handle. With the butterfly tubing, its a syringe that you draw fluids with, connect the butterfly tube, insert and use the syringe to inject fluids. This is the method i've seen her give fluids with and she makes it look so easy and its done and over in less than 5 minutes.

We discussed why Leo's sugars always fall when he suffers from pancreatitis, we both came to the conclusion that its because cerenia has some pain relieving properties as well as controls nausea and vomiting and he feels better, so his numbers come down. Makes sense to me!
 
Re: 1/15 Leo AMPS 90, +4 126, +7 60, +5 99, PMPS 153 & p-tit

That's the method I used to give fluids -- butterfly needle on tubing attached to a 50 mL syringe. I have quite a few tubing sets left over if you'd like to have them. These are the thin ones (23g), so require a lot of strength to push fluids through. I held the back end of the syringe against my chest and pushed since it was too hard to use just my thumb. Insert needle, keep one hand on the cat and one hand on the syringe barrel, and PUSH. For 100 mL, I just had another full 50 mL syringe ready nearby and switched when the first one was empty (same butterfly needle still in cat, unless she decided to walk off and pull it out :roll:).

MJ
 
Re: 1/15 Leo AMPS 90, +4 126, +7 60, +5 99, PMPS 153 & p-tit

Poor Leo. Nasty P'titis, no wonder you hate it. :evil: But good catch on getting it early. I'm glad he's starting to feel better and was playing, although maybe not so much the middle of the night. Sending lots of healing vines his way so he gets over it fast.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top