Squeaky and KT (GA)
Member Since 2011
Good morning World!! Yesterday
+10 - 369
AMPS 361
My extra sweet BIG pink toad today....increased dose by another drop this morning - I'm calling it skinny 2.0. It's one drop more than what I was calling 1.82u's.
Scruffy update - Scruffy has a butt!!! It was just a big blob for the last 2 weeks but today, his bony butt is showing again. We're now having an issue with him NOT pooping - have only had one poop since Thursday morning altho' he's eating things that should make it happen. If I don't see poops today, he's going back in tomorrow to be sure there isn't a blockage that's developed or something.
Jess (& Earl) replied to my email about Congestive Heart Failure in cats in yesterday's condo. THANK YOU JESS!!! It contains a lot of good info so decided to just quote it all here. It's long but all of it is very interesting. She asked a few questions so I'm going to answer those first ahead of the article.
Vet actually CALLED it "CHF with ascites' - even written on the receipt. He tried to get fluid but didn't get any from 2 attempts so no analysis and no, he didn't drain it. He just gave me the pills, said he had CHF and give the lasix and enalapril. I'm not sure he was very confident that I could even save him - I didn't get a very positive feeling from him. With my track record, if it's 'unusual' or 'rare', it probably IS that. I also have a cat with situs inversus and hubby with rare mutant ion channel disease.
Commercial canned - Friskies, 9 lives, Sophistacat, mostly pates. An occasional few pieces of hard food but he doesn't care for it much. I don't have any idea of his medical history altho' I can pretty well guarantee you that his only vet trip in his prior life was to be neutered.
I have a feeling it was his 'best guess'....
Yes we are in a heartworm area but if he has heartworm, it's happened very recently as I use revolution. Last application was in September.
====================
Here is the full quote:
THANK YOU AGAIN JESS!
Hugs for everyone today! ...and an extra one just 'cos....
+10 - 369
AMPS 361
My extra sweet BIG pink toad today....increased dose by another drop this morning - I'm calling it skinny 2.0. It's one drop more than what I was calling 1.82u's.
Scruffy update - Scruffy has a butt!!! It was just a big blob for the last 2 weeks but today, his bony butt is showing again. We're now having an issue with him NOT pooping - have only had one poop since Thursday morning altho' he's eating things that should make it happen. If I don't see poops today, he's going back in tomorrow to be sure there isn't a blockage that's developed or something.
Jess (& Earl) replied to my email about Congestive Heart Failure in cats in yesterday's condo. THANK YOU JESS!!! It contains a lot of good info so decided to just quote it all here. It's long but all of it is very interesting. She asked a few questions so I'm going to answer those first ahead of the article.
Lyresa, you are describing right-sided CHF (fluid in the belly aka ascites) which is very unusual. I'm curious why your vet thought that the fluid was caused by CHF? Did he tap the fluid and analyze it? Did he drain the belly at that time?
Vet actually CALLED it "CHF with ascites' - even written on the receipt. He tried to get fluid but didn't get any from 2 attempts so no analysis and no, he didn't drain it. He just gave me the pills, said he had CHF and give the lasix and enalapril. I'm not sure he was very confident that I could even save him - I didn't get a very positive feeling from him. With my track record, if it's 'unusual' or 'rare', it probably IS that. I also have a cat with situs inversus and hubby with rare mutant ion channel disease.
Does this cat eat a commercial diet or do you cook for him? There are heart defects that can cause R-CHF but it would be strange for this to finally show effects in a 9 yr old cat.
Commercial canned - Friskies, 9 lives, Sophistacat, mostly pates. An occasional few pieces of hard food but he doesn't care for it much. I don't have any idea of his medical history altho' I can pretty well guarantee you that his only vet trip in his prior life was to be neutered.
The other possibility is DCM, which is exceedingly rare in cats eating a commercial diet. So I'm not sure about this being heart disease, though it's possible.
I have a feeling it was his 'best guess'....
Are you in a heartworm area? Heartworm is another disease that can cause R-CHF though these cats usually seem to be quite sick by that time.
Yes we are in a heartworm area but if he has heartworm, it's happened very recently as I use revolution. Last application was in September.
====================
Here is the full quote:
====================Jess & Earl said:Sorry, I know I'm risking a confusion by re-starting yesterday's condo but I wanted to address this out in the open for everyone to see because I think it's important ...
Squeaky and KT said:link to info on furosemide (lasix). There is a drug interaction between furosemide and enalapril and you should get some additional blood tests so there aren't kidney problems due to the interaction effects.
I looked at the Marvista vet article and was a little disappointed, their articles are usually better. Anyway the drugs don't interact with each other, it's more that you worry about them both causing elevations in kidney numbers (azotemia). I say 'azotemia' rather than kidney damage because it is very important to understand that dehydration (caused by Lasix) can cause pre-renal azotemia (azotemia caused by something other than kidney function) but does not damage kidneys. It's possible to permanently damage kidneys through chronic severe dehydration; it's possible to damage any organ that way really. But therapeutic Lasix does not do this.
I'll give a bit of a complicated explanation on enalapril. Enalapril and benazepril are both ACE inhibitors, and they counteract an emergency response we all naturally have to certain kinds of physical stress. When an animal goes into CHF, they have an activation of this http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Renin-angiotensin_system emergency response. This response makes the body hold in more water and sodium, which is exactly what a patient in heart failure wants to get rid of. So in treating CHF, you want to disable this in order to decrease work for the heart. (The more blood volume, the more overloaded the heart gets.) Patients who already have renal disease may not be able to tolerate both Lasix and enalapril/benazepril so the enalapril is skipped, but for otherwise healthy patients, both drugs are given. For animals suffering an acute crisis in hospital, the tendency is to push as much Lasix as they need to start breathing well again, and then add the enalapril.
THANK YOU SIENNE! This is EXACTLY what I was wondering and worrying about - how can you slow down the heart and blood circulation then expect a med like Lasix to get rid of the fluid fast? That just isn't logical.
So you're not slowing it down, instead you're keeping it from speeding up. If I'm an animal who's just fallen into an icy river and finally dragged myself out, I want my RAAS (see wikipedia link) to run at full speed, bringing up my blood pressure and conserving my fluids. If I'm a cat who's in CHF because I'm overloaded with fluid, I do not want my RAAS to run at any speed, as increased pressure and volume is forcing my failing heart to work even harder.
Speaking of CHF ... there are 2 kinds of CHF: left-sided, which causes fluid to build up in and around the lungs in cats, and right-sided, which causes fluid to build up in the belly. Left-sided is much more common in cats and is usually caused by HCM; the hallmark is a cat who is having difficulty breathing. Lyresa, you are describing right-sided CHF (fluid in the belly aka ascites) which is very unusual. I'm curious why your vet thought that the fluid was caused by CHF? Did he tap the fluid and analyze it? Did he drain the belly at that time? Does this cat eat a commercial diet or do you cook for him? There are heart defects that can cause R-CHF but it would be strange for this to finally show effects in a 9 yr old cat. The other possibility is DCM, which is exceedingly rare in cats eating a commercial diet. So I'm not sure about this being heart disease, though it's possible. Are you in a heartworm area? Heartworm is another disease that can cause R-CHF though these cats usually seem to be quite sick by that time.
Sorry again to mess up your condo order. Hope this helps. Please let me know if I've been unclear.
THANK YOU AGAIN JESS!
Hugs for everyone today! ...and an extra one just 'cos....