1/15 Kay AMPS=173 +2.5=71 - too much or too little insulin? dosecrease guidance please

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mel&Kay

Member Since 2014
Previous condo (1/10)

1/14 Recap:
amps = 172
+6 = 181
pmps = 234
+6 = 208

Hello, LL! I'm ready to pull my hair out. :arghh: I don't know if Kay's getting too much or too little insulin. After 14 cycles on 0.1u, she started giving me high flat blues and I was really starting to miss the lagoon so I upped her to 0.2u to see if it would help - it did and she gave me a 78 two nights ago. Unfortunately, it was short lived. I can't tell whether she's bouncing or needs an increase/decrease anymore. I'm stumped. Was I too impatient and should've stuck with 0.1u for a while longer? Also, for the past few days, she's been eating MC 9% that she loves (she's very picky) - could this be causing the jump in numbers? She's grown bored with the LC (2-5%), but if food is the issue, I'll make it work somehow (add freeze dried treats). I could really use some fresh eyes. Thanks!

WCR: all 5 Ps and incredibly happy appy. Thank you Marilyn, Sienne and Marje for stopping by my last condo. :cat:

Confuzzled in stumpville,
Mel
 
No answers but sending vines that Kay works that juice or gives you a clear indication of what she needs.
 
Thank you, Elise.

Welps, I got the green I so desperately wanted...too bad it was a dive @+2.5! :rolleyes: She caught my attention by meowing at the top of lungs while waiting by her feeder, then desperately trying (and succeeding!) to open her treat drawer. That was my queue to test her BG. Guess the increase wasn't a good idea after all.
 
Looks like she answered that question!

Just for future info, Mel, when you are going up and down in very small increments and giving the insulin time to adjust to the changes, it's really very very difficult to overdose her. The higher numbers were likely due to New Dose Wonkiness and now she is deciding to come down. I don't think that is really that much of a drop in 2.5 hours....we have many who can drop 80-100 mg/dL an hour!!

I do think she was doing just fine on the 0.1u and would have not increased but since you did, I'd just hold onto this dose right now until she earns a reduction.

When Gracie was newly dx and even long after that, I just had an itchy syringe finger all the time. I do think if the nadirs are good, it does pay off to hold the dose even through the bounces. Tough to do but smart. Wish I had listened more as a new member! :)
 
I agree with Marje -- I'd hold this dose. I think an argument could be made for having increased. The lowest you were seeing on the 0.1u dose was a 62 and that was on 1/6. From then on, the nadirs look like there was some room to increase. Given that you test often and Kay seems to have a rather direct way of letting you know that her numbers are dropping, I think it was OK.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top