1/15 Holley AMPS +276, +1 296, +4 231, +8 190 +11.5 400, PMPS 397, +1 412, +2 389, +9.5 286, +11 316

Its the super fast drops at night that are bothering me :(
I don't like those either!:nailbiting: The good news is that, once you know it's a potential, grabbing a +1/+2 will help you to know if that drop is coming, and you can begin feeding LC snacks to try and flatten out the drop. Here is Wendy's rule of thumb for those fast drops (I have this pasted into my spreadsheet): "A guideline that may help you to decide if you need to pull an all nighter is the +2 value compared to preshot value. If the values are about the same, it's a normal Lantus cycle with some downward movement. If the value of +2 is quite a bit lower, then it's more active and needs more attention paid. If the +2 is higher (such as last night), it's a quiet cycle and you can go to sleep."

I usually look for a 20% or greater drop from the preshot in the +1/+2/+3 tests, and then begin carb manipulating to keep the numbers flat. 8/10 TASHIE pmps=HIGH! +Questions***
 
Last edited:
I don't like those either!:nailbiting: The good news is that, once you know it's a potential, grabbing a +1/+2 will help you to know if that drop is coming, and you can begin feeding LC snacks to try and flatten out the drop. Here is Wendy's rule of thumb for those fast drops (I have this pasted into my spreadsheet): "A guideline that may help you to decide if you need to pull an all nighter is the +2 value compared to preshot value. If the values are about the same, it's a normal Lantus cycle with some downward movement. If the value of +2 is quite a bit lower, then it's more active and needs more attention paid. If the +2 is higher (such as last night), it's a quiet cycle and you can go to sleep."

I usually look for a 20% or greater drop from the preshot in the +1/+2/+3 tests, and then begin carb manipulating to keep the numbers flat. 8/10 TASHIE pmps=HIGH! +Questions***
Last night was a 40 point drop by +2. I was up most of the night. The night before was even worse 😮‍💨 This morning was higher than the PS, but thats been the norm for AM cycles. Just wish the PMs were the same. Im just exhausted, ive pulled all-nighters more than ive slept since starting Lantus. Ive been manipulating the past few nights.
 
Most everyone here understands the sleep deprivation that comes with treating this disease. It's real and miserable. At one point last year, my eyes became so dry from sleep deprivation (I have dry eye disease) that my eyelid stuck to my eyeball and tore my cornea. Things are nowhere near as problematic now because Jude is somewhat regulated, AND I've learned a lot more about how he manages the insulin (and hopefully, the same will happen for you with Holley).

They bounce a lot at the beginning as their bodies acclimate to the lower numbers. If you look at Jude's sheet, you can see that when he came out of remission in late 2024, he was all over the place until Jan/Feb of 2025, and then he began to find a measure of regulation.

I hope that Holley soon begins to settle into a dose. Hang in there :bighug::bighug:

Also, your SS shows a dx date of 2026, but I believe that is incorrect.
 
Last edited:
Any recommendations for this evening if shes lower like she has been? i dont have much flex for stalling. Just keep 0.25 and stay up and feed if needed? Decrease dose?
 
Any recommendations for this evening if shes lower like she has been? i dont have much flex for stalling. Just keep 0.25 and stay up and feed if needed? Decrease dose?
There are too many variables to consider at this point, so It's best to wait until it's closer to shot time. You can always do a +11 test and then test about 15 mins. early of the PM shot to see in which direction she's moving. Then you'll have 15 mins. to post on here and get advice if you need it before the PM shot. She does appear to be breaking a bounce right now (yesterday a.m. she hit the stinky pinkies, came down to the blues, headed back up, and since +1 in the a.m. cycle today, it looks like she is headed down). How far are you from shot time?
 
i get home from work at 11:30 (in 3.5 hours) and she gets her shot at 12 (4 hours). my time constraints are stinkkkkkk.
I asked my roommate to grab a BG before he goes to sleep so he should be checking it any minute. he goes to work at 3 am so i cant get one from him much later than now.
 
Back
Top