1/15 Gobbles PMPS 334

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 1/15 Gobbles AMPS 149 & 174 *DO I SHOOT / DOSE

Hi, Yes, I would shoot this number (your normal dose), especially since you have already fed him and since you will be home for much of the day. In general, if you get a number that you worry is too low, you stall, do not feed, and test again in 1/2 hour. If you then get a rising number, shoot. If not, stall some more. (And remember to adjust your shot time accordingly to make PMPS 12 hours later than when you shot AMPS). Another alternative would be to give a reduced dose. Please review the "Stickie" on what to do about low preshots.

If you have not yet shot this morning, the number is noted as AMBG (not AMPS, which means that you gave the shot).

I'm sorry that I am not familiar with Gobbles' health issues, but he seems to have some. I hope that Sienne or Marje will be along later to go over your particular set of problems.

Hang in there and be sure to test frequently until you have to leave the house. If he seems low, leave out food.

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 1/15 Gobbles AMBG 149 & 174 *DO I SHOOT / DOSE

I can rush my beautician and be away from home at his +2 +3 & +4.
 
Re: 1/15 Gobbles AMBG 149 & 174 *DO I SHOOT / DOSE

YOu would have a better idea of how his cycle is going if you stick around this morning to get that +2 and +3. If you see a drop at +2, it is likely to be an "active" cycle and it would be desirable to keep an eye on him. Once you get past about +6, it will be pretty safe to go out. Perhaps you can schedule your beautician for the later part of the afternoon?

Ella
 
Re: 1/15 Gobbles AMBG 149 & 174 *DO I SHOOT / DOSE

179 and 149 are pretty much the same number. You've also shot a 189. Ella said pretty much what I would have said.

If Gobbles shot time is at 9:00, you do not want to feed then test. You want to test first, then feed. That way, if you want to stall, the test is not influenced by food which can artificially raise the numbers.

Please look over this post on dealing with low pre-shot numbers[/b]. It will go into greater detail about your options and the rationale. The information is also in the Shooting & Handling Low Numbers sticky.
 
Re: 1/15 Gobbles AMBG 149 & 174 *DO I SHOOT / DOSE

Sienne and Gabby said:
179 and 149 are pretty much the same number. You've also shot a 189. Ella said pretty much what I would have said.

If Gobbles shot time is at 9:00, you do not want to feed then test. You want to test first, then feed. That way, if you want to stall, the test is not influenced by food which can artificially raise the numbers.

Please look over this post on dealing with low pre-shot numbers[/b]. It will go into greater detail about your options and the rationale. The information is also in the Shooting & Handling Low Numbers sticky.
the ambg was before he ate and right before is shot, but the other numbers were after he ate......i was getting my hair dyed/styled but i think i'm just going to go to the beauty shop and tell my beautician (my sister!) to put the dye on and i'd rinse it out when i get home (which i am more than capable to do as i've dyed it at home in the past) and therefore would be gone from about 11:45-1:15...i'll test him here in a few minutes (10 am)....hopefully, the insulin dose is now where it should be and he is finally beginning to come around
 
Re: 1/15 Gobbles AMBG 149 +1 295

tested @10 and was 295, so i gave him his shot. 295 was 1 hour after he ate. i will test him again @11
 
Re: 1/15 Gobbles AMBG 149 295

Nice safe numbers. Go and get your hair done!! Since you did give the shot and since it was pretty much "on time", I think it is OK to change your subject line back to AMPS so that it is clear to everyone who might be following along that he did indeed get a shot. In the future, if you have to stall, use "AMBG [bg number], stalling". When you give the shot, provide the number that immediately precedes the shot as "AMPS" and carry on from there.

Ella
 
Re: 1/15 Gobbles AMPS 295 +1 338

+1 == 338

please review SS and keep in mind that on 1/8 i switched meters from true result to reli on prime
 
Re: 1/15 Gobbles AMPS 295 +1 338 +2 355

Hi guys .. Well it looks like gobbles is enjoying the higher floors today .. Now we just need him to turn it back around and head on down to the lagoon! have a great day guys!
 
Re: 1/15 Gobbles AMPS 295 +1 338 +2 355 +4 245

updated SS - looks like he is heading in the right direction? I am going to do a curve on Cycle 1 -- good idea, right?
 
Re: 1/15 Gobbles AMPS 295 +1 338 +2 355 +4 245 +6 288

updated SS -- doing Cycle 1 curve...I guess...anything think that's a good idea?
 
Re: 1/15 Gobbles 295 +1 338 +2 355 +4 245 +6 288 + 8 287 +10

Shot his am shot one hour late today (due to low-ish BG & waiting on advice)-- 10 am instead of 9 am. Now it is 8 pm and he is at 494! Can I shoot a little earlier than 10 pm? That high number is scaring me :(

(ignore my first post because i deleted the information from this morning and replaced it with the information that is in this post)

Yesterday's Condo
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=86949
 
Re: 1/15 Gobbles 295 +1 338 +2 355 +4 245 +6 288 + 8 287 +10

Should I do the dose increase tomorrow morning? (from 1.75 to 2.0)?
 
Re: 1/15 Gobbles 295 +1 338 +2 355 +4 245 +6 288 + 8 287 +10

Personally, I would be inclined to go with an increase tomorrow morning, especially if you're going to be able to monitor closely...but, I'm bumping you for more experienced eyes to weigh in...
 
Re: 1/15 Gobbles 295 +1 338 +2 355 +4 245 +6 288 + 8 287 +10

Amy&TrixieCat said:
Personally, I would be inclined to go with an increase tomorrow morning, especially if you're going to be able to monitor closely...but, I'm bumping you for more experienced eyes to weigh in...
I tested him PMPS and he was 344. So I gave him the 1.75 that he has been getting (10th cycle since his increase). Thank you Amy! That's what I was leaning towards. As you suggested, I would like some additional input from others and see what they think as well. Unless he's in the greens tomorrow morning, I think I should go ahead and do the .25 increase, thus 2.0 U. I will be home most of the day tomorrow (I just have to run to the store sometime in the morning or afternoon, and shouldn't be gone longer than 2 hours.)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top