1/15/15 Keiko AMPS 61, +2 149

Status
Not open for further replies.

KeikosHuman

Member Since 2014
Last post:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/1-12-15-amps-66.131350/#post-1350962

Working on reducing Keiko's insulin dose from 11 to ?. I updated his SS. Not completely sure what's going on other than very welcome green numbers! :cat: Maybe he needs 10.25 or ? I was concerned about giving him that much this am at 61 but maybe that's my problem. Will see what happens but I would think he won't go up too high since he's been getting more than 10 units until today.

He's been more alert and involved. Right now he's snoozing and listening to classical music. A friend told me some classical music may help blood sugar. No harm in trying!
All help appreciated - Thank you!
 
Wow Keiko is looking really good! :D Great news that he's more alert and interactive too. :) Maria - how about trying 10.0U with Keiko? And try to stick to giving the same dose for at least 6 cycles, unless he gives you another under 50 number. Lantus works best if you give a consistent dose and lately you've been mixing it up a bit. When you do that, you can get some wonky numbers and it's hard to tell what's happening and what you should be dosing. Lantus is a depot insulin. It takes a 4-6 cycles to build (on an increase) or decrease (when you reduce).

One other thing - I notice that Keiko gave you a 49 a couple of nights ago. It's really important to feed higher carb food when you see numbers below 50, and keep testing to make sure he is coming up and safe. Here is the post on Handling Low Numbers. It's a good one to have handy and printed out in case anything should happen to your power. And anyone else who cares for/feeds Keiko should know what to do too.
 
Quite a change in his ss! Nice to see all of that blue and green now. Wendy's given you great advice - both about keeping the dose consistent so you can know how to adjust it, and about the 49.

The only thing I'd add about the 49 is that when a kitty is in the 40's, you don't want to go more than 30 minutes until your next test, just in case he's going down and not up. Just want to keep little Keiko safe!

If you think of the insulin depot as being timed release, that might help understand it a little better. The size of the depot is relative to the size of the dose - so a cat on a high dose can sometimes skip a shot, and not have the next cycle even show that the shot was skipped. That's because the depot is still "giving" more insulin out. This is how cats on Lantus/Lev can get long flat cycles like you're seeing now with Keiko. With a 10.0ish unit dose when you adjust by a little here or there, it's not going to be enough to significantly change what BG numbers you get in the next 12 hours. The shot you gave this morning is potentially still influencing his blood sugar through Saturday night's cycle.

Not sure if that makes sense, but here's some info that might help make it clearer. Even after 4 years, I still go back and reread it to keep things fresh in my mind.

It's really exciting to see Keiko doing so well! This is fantastic.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top