1/14 Zener PMPS 333;+2 286;+4 231;+6 243 US & vet report

Status
Not open for further replies.

Anne & Zener GA

Member Since 2011
Good morning LL. Zener is now fasting for his blood work and abdominal ultrasound this afternoon. No injection this am as we are unable to feed him, so no AMPS. We will get a BG test before we take him to the vet this afternoon. And when we know about what time we can pick him up, we will make a plan for his PM shot. We may be taking testing supplies and insulin to the vet clinic if it will be at PM test and shoot time.

Yesterday
1/13/2012 Zener
AMPS 240, 3rd cycle @0.25u, 0.9oz Wellness chicken 4% syringe
+3 0.9 oz 4% syringe, 2.5 mg pepcid, big burp
+6 148, 0.7oz 4% syringe
~8 0.4oz 4% syringe
~11 201, 0.7oz 4% syringe
PMPS 4th cycle @0.25u
+1 249, 1PP with 2.5mg pepcid, 3mg Zobaline and small piece of FDCK, 1.05oz 4% syringe, followed by a giant belch!
+1.5 0.7oz 4% syringe
~2 0.35oz 4% syringe
+3.5 0.7oz 4% syringe
+5.5 303, 0.7oz 4%

Zener has to fast for 12 hours and the test is at 4pm, so Liz got up at 4am so she could feed him. He ate 2 small bits of freeze dried chicken crushed up and in water, still no interest in his regular food. After a couple of hours, once fasting started, he hopped up on his footstool where we do test, shoot and feed and proceeded to ask for something to eat! :shock: And, of course, we can't feed him anything. :roll:

So, while he is at the vet, we are going shopping for a few other non-allergenic, low carb options, just in case he has developed a food allergy or aversion to what he was eating pre-vomit episode and see if a lower carb option will fly. His BG levels have been good on the 4% syringe fed.

It is so weird for us to not be testing regularly, or at all until this evening, and feeding him. It also feels a little strange not to be syringe feeding him, shocking. I'll be packing while Zener is at the vet so he doesn't feel the need to pee in my suitcase to express his opinion of my traveling and being away.

Hope everyone has a good Caturday, evening condo report on tests and vet visit tonight.
 
Re: 1/14 Zener fasting US today

Lots of vines and prayers for Zener's U/S today. Good idea, Anne, to pack when Zener is at the Vet. Will you get the results fairly soon after the U/S? Hugs to you and Liz.
 
Re: 1/14 Zener fasting US today

Sending lots of healing thoughts today. It must have been hard for you and Liz to not feed Zener when he finally looked like he wanted to eat. I hope you can get the results back quickly.

Anne, happy packing. Has Zener peed in your suitcase before? That is one strong message.
 
Re: 1/14 Zener fasting US today

Ann & Maggie11 said:
Lots of vines and prayers for Zener's U/S today. Good idea, Anne, to pack when Zener is at the Vet. Will you get the results fairly soon after the U/S? Hugs to you and Liz.
Thank you for all the vines and prayers. We won't get the blood work results right away, but we are hopeful the vet doing the ultrasound can tell us what she sees when we pick him up, not sure though. nailbite_smile
 
Re: 1/14 Zener fasting US today

Paws still crossed here for the ultrasound. Zener asked for food?!! And you guys couldn't feed him?!! That must have been hard. Good luck protecting your suitcase, Anne.
 
Re: 1/14 Zener fasting US today

Georgia and Simon said:
Sending lots of healing thoughts today. It must have been hard for you and Liz to not feed Zener when he finally looked like he wanted to eat. I hope you can get the results back quickly.
Thanks Georgia! It was incredibly difficult not to feed him, oh my. Fortunately he has settled down and is afternoon napping now.

Georgia and Simon said:
Anne, happy packing. Has Zener peed in your suitcase before? That is one strong message.
I could sure use some help packing. I am usually very organized but things are incredibly chaotic here right now. I am repeating in my head what a friend told me when I was trying to sort out what to pack on my first trip to Germany - "it's an incredibly civilized country and you can buy anything there that you forget to bring. You only really need your passport and a credit card!" :lol:

I have not been a victim of the urinary wrath of Zener in my suitcase, but Liz has been twice I think. And he expressed his displeasure when Liz's great niece was getting ready to leave and staying with us for a few days a couple of years ago. He does not like it when his beans, or visitors he likes, leave him! ;-)
 
Re: 1/14 Zener fasting US today

Sending healing vines and good thoughts for an excellent report.

I can't imagine what it was like to not be able to feed Zener when he asked for food. Maybe he will be good and hungry when he gets home! Good luck with it all.
 
Re: 1/14 Zener fasting US today

I think it's wonderful that he asked for food, though i realize how hard it must have been not to be able to comply!

When Binks had his US, Mandy went over it in detail with me when I picked him up.
(and the groomer gave him the cutest little Hula Skirt shave I've ever seen :-D )

sending the strongest healing energy your way...and smart move on the suitcase...
thinking of you!
 
Re: 1/14 Zener fasting US today

Thanks Melissa & Bailey and Rosalie - it was VERY difficult not to feed him when he was asking for food - for the first time in almost a week! Liz let him outside for his morning patrol and after a few minutes noticed he was munching on something and looking very pleased. He found a small patch of green grass under the pine needles (it's been unusually warm the last few weeks) and was helping himself to a little salad. :o So, no more outside until the testing is over. We take him in about 3 hours and are grateful he has settled down for his afternoon nap. He has been following us around all morning, mewing, then getting up in his test, feed, shoot footstool and looking at us as if to say:
Hey, look at me. This is my I'm hungry behavior. You know what that is right? Will ya do something? Hey, beans - have you lost your minds? I want some food!
 
Re: 1/14 Zener fasting US today

mybuddybinks said:
I think it's wonderful that he asked for food, though i realize how hard it must have been not to be able to comply!
Very hard, we were so happy to have him asking, then thought - if we don't feed him now, will he ever ask again?

mybuddybinks said:
When Binks had his US, Mandy went over it in detail with me when I picked him up.
(and the groomer gave him the cutest little Hula Skirt shave I've ever seen :-D )
Ah, that's good to know. We will be so grateful to know even a little something before I have to leave in the early am. Poor guy, his leg hair has just grown back from the dental. His belly hair is very thin and fine and his little belly was almost bald when he was a kitten.

mybuddybinks said:
sending the strongest healing energy your way...and smart move on the suitcase...
thinking of you!
Thank you so much. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 1/14 Zener fasting US today

I'll be thinking about you and Zener at 4pm and hoping for a positive outcome. Sending you strength and patience and hugs.
 
Re: 1/14 Zener fasting US today

i think we're all thinking of your family today! what a wonderful sign that he was asking to be fed, even if you couldn't give him anything. maybe he's feeling a bit better.

we'll be watching for your post. anne, i'm sure it's hard to take off when he's not 100% - good thing Liz is very experienced! personally, i'd trust her! ;-)

smart move protecting the suitcase! punkin has made his opinion known about things too. rather hard to salvage a suitcase that's been peed in. i don't remember if it was punkin or felix that peed & pooped in my youngest daughter's backpack when she was in early high school. i cleaned the mess up and washed it in the washing machine, but there was nothing i could do in her eyes to make it usable again. :roll:
 
Re: 1/14 Zener fasting US today

Also glad to hear he was acting hungry and like he wanted to eat. Maybe when he gets back he will chow down...paws crossed.

Good luck with the packing....and with the trip. Will be standing by to hear the report. Sending you both love and hugs.
 
Re: 1/14 Zener fasting US today

It's about time for Zener's test. I'm sending prayers your way. I hope you get some answers to ease your trip Anne. I can't wait to hear the post US report of how he is finally eating.
 
Re: 1/14 Zener fasting US today

Prayers for our friend sweet Zener today that all will be fine in his US! We are thinking of you & sending comfort Hugs! You are the greatest beans!! He is a lucky Boy! Paws & fingers crossed for the healing to begin!
 
Re: 1/14 Zener fasting US today

Hi guys,
I hope that Zener will be home soon and that everything went well. We are all thinking good thoughts tonight.

I think Zener may well be a little hungry!!

Hugs,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 1/14 Zener fasting US today

nailbite_smile nailbite_smile nailbite_smile nailbite_smile

Hoping to hear soon. Sending prayers.
 
Re: 1/14 Zener PMPS 333 US "unremarkable" :-)

1/14/2012 Zener
AM no shot, 0.75oz 4%
PMPS 333, 1st cycle @0.5u, on his own: FDCh, 1/2 PP, 2.5 mg pepcid, 0.15oz 11%/ syringe: 0.35oz 4%

Phew! The vet said there was nothing remarkable about Zener's ultrasound, a slight thickening of the intestinal wall and his spleen looked a little funny but otherwise fine. He's going to be on reglan and cerenia (for a few days, I get to give the shot)

He ate a tiny bit on his own and then I gave him 1 syringe of food. I think I'd better take it slow. He is now in his man cave (under the chair by my desk) as far back as he can get. He did chase Tillie a bit when he came in from the yard. Definitely feeling better! Anne is out shopping for food alternatives. She put together a long list. She will give a more thorough vetty report when she gets back.

Thank you for all your thoughts, prayers and good wishes! We surely do appreciate everyone's help with all of this. BIG HUGS to everyone. :-D :-D
Liz
 
Re: 1/14 Zener PMPS 333 US "unremarkable" :-)

Unremarkable is good! Catch you later for the report. Come on out from your "cave", Zener. The vetty appt. is over!

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 1/14 Zener PMPS 333 US "unremarkable" :-)

I've been waiting to see if you had results. This is a big relief. And it's sounds promising that Zener is wanting food.
 
Re: 1/14 Zener PMPS 333 US "unremarkable" :-)

HOORAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

wonderful news :-D :-D

when Wheatie Buns got his US, Mandy said "he has a remarkably large bladder!"

Ya think, Doc?? :roll: :lol:
 
Re: 1/14 Zener PMPS 333 US "unremarkable" :-)

Sounds like promising news so far. I've been thinking about Zener's US all day! Hopefully his appetite will kick back in soon!
 
Re: 1/14 Zener PMPS 333 US "unremarkable" :-)

Fantastic!!!! This is good news. I'm hoping he will eat the smorgasbord of food I know Anne is buying.

Sending more eating vines.
 
Re: 1/14 Zener PMPS 333 US "unremarkable" :-)

There might have been nothing remarkable in his US but Zener is for sure a remarkable cat.

Now prove it Zener and lets have a quick turnaround back to good health.
 
Re: 1/14 Zener PMPS 333 US "unremarkable" :-)

Anne, that is awesome news! LL vines and prayers came thru for Zener. So great to hear he's wanting the fuds. Will be awaiting more news. Hugs.
 
Re: 1/14 Zener PMPS 333 US "unremarkable" :-)

Glad the U/S was unremarkable for Zener and that he is somewhat interested in food. Way to go, Zener. :-D
Have a great trip Anne!
 
Re: 1/14 Zener PMPS 333 US "unremarkable" :-)

Been thinking about you guys all day - awesome news. Now Zener...show MamaBean some luv and eat all the lovely noms she went out and got you today!!
 
Re: 1/14 Zener PMPS 333 US "unremarkable" :-)

*whew* what a relief! hopefully he's past whatever was bothering him and is now on his way to chowing down. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 1/14 Zener PMPS 333 US "unremarkable" :-)

Unremarkable is good news! Now Zener, you need to start eating your fuds. Hope y'all get a little rest tonight.
 
Re: 1/14 Zener PMPS 333 US "unremarkable" :-)

THANK YOU LORD!!! I am so happy to hear this news!!! Your LL family was so worried!!
Now Zener--EAT!!!!!!!!! \M/ \M/ \M/
Sending Hugs & Love to Anne & Liz!! Now you can go to Germany with a clear head
~~~~~~~~Have a good Night!! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 1/14 Zener PMPS 333;+2 286 US & vet report

All we can say is "oh my"! The love and support from Zener's LL family is overwhelming in a really good way! Thank you all! :YMHUG:

So, this is Anne with the longer version of the vetty report, so if you were tickled with Liz's short report, then you can skip this one. She did a great job highlighting the important parts! :-D

When we arrived, Zener's vet came out almost right away and we were really relieved. We weren't sure she was working today. She told us they were ready to go and we did not need to drop him off and come back. We could wait if we wanted and it would be less than an hour. So, we decided to wait. A different vet was doing the u/s, one trained in doing this sort of testing and our vet was there to watch as well. Zener got his spiffy new belly shave and he was such a good boy, they did not have to sedate him or anything, he was a real star. The vet and staff all said he is the sweetest and easiest cat to handle ever. :razz:

After all was done, the u/s and blood draw, we met with her in an exam room and she went over the u/s results and even had still images for us to take away, not that we could tell anything by them. Looked like all those fuzzy images you see of "it's a baby" when it just looks like a big lima bean. :lol: She went over each organ and what tells them if it looks "normal" or not. Zener's spleen had few spotty like areas that can be seen in an aging spleen or sometimes can be seen with inflammation such as IBD. Stomach, liver, pancreas, kidneys all looked "perfect". No GI obstructions, no enlarged lymph nodes. The upper part of the small intestine looked "slightly" thickened in a few places, which again can be aging or possible very mild IBD, no other evidence in other parts of the small or large intestine. She said if Zener didn't get back to his regular self in 4-6 weeks, they might want to repeat the u/s again just to be sure that all was looking the same with the spleen and upper small intestine. She looked pretty darn relieved, as was I, because of course, we were thinking of the worst case scenarios.

Based on these results, as well as Zener's remarkably different morning today - wanting to eat and feeling much better - she felt confident that our plan for now should be management of the decreased motility and nausea that can go along with that. So, cerenia injections for 5 days plus reglan to increase motility - 3x day at the dosage we read about here in LL (I'm blanking on the dosage right now). Liz decided she would prefer to do the cerenia injections rather than take him in and they were great about it, in fact, suggested it. So, Liz did his first injection while they watched. They drew up the dosage and sent us home with 4 more syringes for the next 4 days. They also gave him a reglan injection and tomorrow Liz will start the pills (well, quarters of the pills) ~8 hours. Whew. Also, continue to syringe feed as needed to get the necessary amount of food and calories, and see if he will gradually start to eat on his own. Poor guy was more than ready to come home. He was such a trooper.

We got home, tested his BG, and offered him some FDCK, which he ate, and then he ate a PP with pepcid and zobaline, then a smidge of his regular 11% food. We were :shock: ! We increased up to 0.5u since he was up in the 300s at shot time and did not have a shot this AM and will have to see how he eats, etc and how his numbers are to decide about any other dose changes for now. Liz syringe fed him a bit after his PMPS and at +1. We thought it best to keep syringe feeding him and try not to "push" food on him until he was ready. Right around his +2, he hopped up on his test, feed and shoot footstool and asked for more. So, we gave him a small amount, CPC and he asked for more. So, Liz gave him a little more of his regular 11%, again CPC. So, he ate a typical amount, so no syringe feeding at +2. Looks like that will be the pattern for a couple of days. Offer food, if he eats great, if not, Liz is a pro with the syringe feeding.

We are both so relieved, and I feel like I can leave in about 8 hours without feeling so terrible. Liz has a lot on her plate with the daily cerenia injections and the addition of the 3x/day reglan, plus active feeding and possible syringe feeding. So, we appreciate all the support you can send to her. I will have internet access in Germany and we will be in regular contact that way, but the 8 hour time difference will be a challenge. Zener is feeling pretty good tonight considering his day and so are his beans! :-D

Again, we are so grateful and thankful for LL and all of you. Words cannot express how wonderful you are.
 
Re: 1/14 Zener PMPS 333;+2 286 US & vet report

oh that is the best report ever! i like all the details! :lol:

it'll be a lot easier for you to leave, anne, having this good vet visit today.
 
Re: 1/14 Zener PMPS 333;+2 286 US & vet report

NOW THAT ZENER IS SAFELY HOME...

time to share the downside of Binksy's U/S...
which we refer to as "The Infamous & Unfortunate Nipple Shaving Incident"

:lol: :lol: :lol: that pretty much tells the tale, doesn't it??

Lil Guy didn't really care much, but the poor vet clinic folks felt so bad...
and you KNOW we gave them no end of razzing about the 'slipping razor attack"
I even called the next morning and told them Binks was anxious to know if the cleaning crew was through...
and had they found his missing nipple? :lol: :lol:

SAFEST OF TRAVELS TO YOU, ANNE!!
 
Re: 1/14 Zener PMPS 333;+2 286 US & vet report

Poor Binks! Makes me want to check Zener's tummy but he's a little self-conscious, not to mention cold. I just noticed today that his shaved leg from the dental is now black again. I guess it will take a month for his belly to get covered.
Liz
 
Re: 1/14 Zener PMPS 333;+2 286 US & vet report

:-D :-D :-D :-D Good news on the US, and that he wanted to eat. I'm so glad you can leave on your trip with that off your mind. Now to find the new fuds that he will eat. Still sending eating vines and good blood work vines too.
 
Re: 1/14 Zener PMPS 333;+2 286;+4 231 US & vet report

He's eating! dancing_cat

PMPS 333, 1st cycle @0.5u, on his own: FDCh, 1/2 PP, 2.5 mg pepcid, 0.15oz 11%/ syringe: 0.35oz 4%
+1 0.35oz 4% syringe
+2 286, 0.55oz 11%, eating on his own - CPC
~3 0.4oz 11%, eating on his own
+4 231, 0.5oz 11%, eating on his own

Zener has been getting up on his foot stool and asking for food. :o Liz gets the syringe food out and ready, then looks over and there sits Zener on his foot stool with his paw out. Syringes are prepared with food and ready to go, if his appy falters.

I'll get one more test and feed a little before bed. Then computer and all gets shut down and packed up for my trip. T - 6.5 hours and counting...
 
Re: 1/14 Zener PMPS 333;+2 286;+4 231 US & vet report

Hooray for Zener eating! What a great going-away present for you, Anne. Safe travels. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 1/14 Zener PMPS 333;+2 286;+4 231 US & vet report

w00t! Zener is eating on his own! dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat That is great news :-D

Your ultrasound report also sounds really good! Anne, you can feel better about leaving now - have a safe trip!
 
Re: 1/14 Zener PMPS 333;+2 286;+4 231 US & vet report

What amazingly awesome news!!!! Dancing in Tucson tonight for Zener eating!
 
Last test before bed for me, then up to the airport shuttle in about 4 hours. @-)
PMPS 333, 1st cycle @0.5u, on his own: FDCh, 1/2 PP, 2.5 mg pepcid, 0.15oz 11%/ syringe: 0.35oz 4%
+1 0.35oz 4% syringe
+2 286, 0.55oz 11%, eating on his own - CPC
~3 0.4oz 11%, eating on his own
+4 231, 0.5oz 11%, eating on his own
~6 243, 0.5oz 11%, eating on his own!
He's still eating! Small amounts and frequent, with syringe feeding only needed at PMPS and +1! dancing_cat

Anne signing off and turning it all over to Lizbean. :YMHUG:
 
woot.gif
woot.gif
woot.gif
woot.gif
woot.gif
woot.gif
woot.gif
woot.gif
woot.gif
woot.gif
woot.gif
woot.gif
woot.gif
woot.gif
woot.gif
woot.gif


:lol: on bink's missing nipple! :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
 
Your updates have absolutely made my day. Zener is telling you not to worry your little heart silly - that he's gonna be a-okay!!!!

When I was dosing the reglan for Maverick it was recommended to give it 20 minutes before food. He was on the pills and not the injection though. Cerenia - remember to stop at the five days. I still have to look up how many days off. I bet when you have the motility worked out he won't need the cerenia after this.

Go Zener!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top