1/14 Tiger AMPS 488, +5.5 228,+7 205,+8 150 Pmps 95

Deb and Tiger

Very Active Member
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/1-13-tiger-amps-hi-dose-incr-363-4-280-7-pmps-360.285585/

Good morning

I really thought we would see some action last night with the dose increase but really stayed flat. One low in the 200s and the rest in the 300s. Hopefully it kicks in soon. Whenever it is I am sure it will be the middle of the night!

have a wonderful day everyone and stay warm if you’re like us, setting record low temps!
Hi Deb, sometimes it takes a few cycles to kick in. And you could see him actually go higher for a few cycles. Then he should drop. But you can see clearly by watching the Libre and will know what’s up.
Have a great day and a safe surf, Tiger :bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Deb, sometimes it takes a few cycles to kick in. And you could see him actually go higher for a few cycles. Then he should drop. But you can see clearly by watching the Libre and will know what’s up.
Have a great day and a safe surf, Tiger :bighug::bighug:

oh that is so good to know! He did actually have a couple higher numbers that I was concerned about.
Have you ever had your libre have a brief skip in the graph? This new sensor has had a little skip both days. I hope it doesn’t mean it’s going out!
 
oh that is so good to know! He did actually have a couple higher numbers that I was concerned about.
Have you ever had your libre have a brief skip in the graph? This new sensor has had a little skip both days. I hope it doesn’t mean it’s going out!
Yes they call it NDW, new dose wonkiness. When numbers can go higher before they settle down. So don’t get too crazy. It’s very common.
Yes I’ve had the Libre skip out sometimes. It’s not that common, but it does happen. And yes sometimes it’s an indicator that there’s a problem. It may crap out on you. (Hate when that happens). And then sometimes it just keeps on going. Sometimes the graph fills in. Sometimes not.
You can check the Event Log to see if there’s some weird codes. (Not that I know what the heck they mean). I’ve had some skips like below:
upload_2024-1-14_13-26-34.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2024-1-14_13-26-34.jpeg
    upload_2024-1-14_13-26-34.jpeg
    28.9 KB · Views: 152
Yes they call it NDW, new dose wonkiness. When numbers can go higher before they settle down. So don’t get too crazy. It’s very common.
Yes I’ve had the Libre skip out sometimes. It’s not that common, but it does happen. And yes sometimes it’s an indicator that there’s a problem. It may crap out on you. (Hate when that happens). And then sometimes it just keeps on going. Sometimes the graph fills in. Sometimes not.
You can check the Event Log to see if there’s some weird codes. (Not that I know what the heck they mean). I’ve had some skips like below:
View attachment 68787

Thanks Staci
yep just like that! I hope it hangs on since we’re mid snow storm! Even if we replaced it ourselves we couldn’t get the old one off. Vet used adhesive…

finally seeing some action, low 200s and still going down!
 
Thanks Staci
yep just like that! I hope it hangs on since we’re mid snow storm! Even if we replaced it ourselves we couldn’t get the old one off. Vet used adhesive…

finally seeing some action, low 200s and still going down!
Ugh I’m sorry to hear they used adhesive. If and when you need to try to remove a sensor you should try very gentle things. I have used coconut oil and baby oil on a q tip and very gently with around the sensor. Their skin is so fragile. There’s a spray called Brava spray which helps loosen the device too, order on Amazon

Brava - Adhesive Remover Brava - Spray - 1/Box - McK https://a.co/d/f7n9StD

Stay safe in the storm! :bighug::bighug:
 
Ugh I’m sorry to hear they used adhesive. If and when you need to try to remove a sensor you should try very gentle things. I have used coconut oil and baby oil on a q tip and very gently with around the sensor. Their skin is so fragile. There’s a spray called Brava spray which helps loosen the device too, order on Amazon

Brava - Adhesive Remover Brava - Spray - 1/Box - McK https://a.co/d/f7n9StD

Stay safe in the storm! :bighug::bighug:

The vet put the first one on and didn’t use adhesive and it fell off in just a few days. The tech has done the next and all subsequent ones since. He uses adhesive but by the time it’s due to change, it’s pretty loose and he is so gentle removing it. Skin is a little pink but gone the next day, so I haven’t said anything. He also uses the remover spray. I may get some to have on hand and pre loosen it the day we go for a new one. Ty

Down to 181 with an hour until shot. This is new….
 
I keep scanning, still under 200. I do have foods on hand and can monitor most of the night. Insulin due in 10 and cat is hungry, lol. At 187 now, going down
 
What was the BG? How do you feel about shooting the full dose?

Also, since this isn't a medical emergency can you please remove the 911 from the thread title?
 
I removed it.
Leary to shoot full dose, really.
Thank YOU!
Understandable that you're nervous but blues and greens are great to have.
That 187 is very close to the 200 number. If it were me, I'd feed (but save some of his food for +1 and +2) and shoot the full dose.
 
No for two reasons , I can’t do it and hubby hasn’t been successful with it yet. And I need to rely on the libre during the night.
 
Not sure bout the libre, it may be. Had the sensor changed on Thursday and had a few errors.
Last was 179.

I kept taking readings and it’s been going down again, so I went ahead and fed him.

now, because of that should we skip or do a partial? Partial would be how much?
 
Last bg before eating was 179.
After eating 188.
That's actually pretty flat considering meter variance. The food would not have effected his readings yet. It takes approximately 30minutes after eating to influence BG #s.
What have you decided to do about his dose and shot?
 
Keep in mind that the depot from the higher dose may still influence the first half of his cycle.

Glad you decided to shoot something, next time, provided you feel the Libre is reliable for monitoring, you'll shoot the full dose :cat:.
 
Keep in mind that the depot from the higher dose may still influence the first half of his cycle.

Glad you decided to shoot something, next time, provided you feel the Libre is reliable for monitoring, you'll shoot the full dose :cat:.

TY Angela. Just when I thought I was feeling less nervous with all this, that 95 popped up! We just upped the dose so it threw me a bit. I immediately went and read the “rules” but I which option to follow. I did try stalling for almost an hour in hopes it would come up. As soon as it came up a bit, it dropped again, so was a bit nervous.

I hope I get more comfortable at this….thx again.
 
Hi Deb, hope you are doing ok. I am just catching up here. I’m sure you were very nervous. You did great and so glad Angela was there to help. She’s awesome.
Now breathe. And watch Tiger. You have the Libre so you can see what’s going on. And remember the Libre tends to read lower in very low numbers than a handheld meter.
And you have carbs in your food if he goes low. Just a teaspoon or 2 at a time. You want to keep him hungry if you need him to eat.

Your new depot could be kicking in so that could be why you saw some new lower numbers.
Good luck tonight. You got this!! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Deb, hope you are doing ok. I am just catching up here. I’m sure you were very nervous. You did great and so glad Angela was there to help. She’s awesome.
Now breathe. And watch Tiger. You have the Libre so you can see what’s going on. And remember the Libre tends to read lower in very low numbers than a handheld meter.
And you have carbs in your food if he goes low. Just a teaspoon or 2 at a time. You want to keep him hungry if you need him to eat.

Your new depot could be kicking in so that could be why you saw some new lower numbers.
Good luck tonight. You got this!! :bighug::bighug::bighug:

Thank you Staci.
Yes I was nervous. I am still wondering why after eating 1.5 hours ago and again at +1, his numbers haven’t come up? It’s like food is having no effect on numbers?
How will the token dose affect his dosage going forward? Start the 7 days over?
Thanks again for checking on us, you are so sweet!
 
Thank you Staci.
Yes I was nervous. I am still wondering why after eating 1.5 hours ago and again at +1, his numbers haven’t come up? It’s like food is having no effect on numbers?
How will the token dose affect his dosage going forward? Start the 7 days over?
Thanks again for checking on us, you are so sweet!
Hi Deb, I would think after the token dose last night his numbers would have shot up overnight. I don’t see it yet on your SS to know.
I will let more experienced members give dosing advice, I don’t want to steer you incorrectly.
Wishing you and Tiger a safe day ahead! :bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Deb, I would think after the token dose last night his numbers would have shot up overnight. I don’t see it yet on your SS to know.
I will let more experienced members give dosing advice, I don’t want to steer you incorrectly.
Wishing you and Tiger a safe day ahead! :bighug::bighug:

it took a while but they finally started going up. Started today’s thread with dosing uestion for this morning.
Wishing you and Ivy a great day and thank you!
 
Back
Top