1/14 Rocky +15 204 +16 344 +19 401 +23 403

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tina & Rocky

Member Since 2013
Good morning, ~O)

Rocky was AMPS 319 this morning.

Have given the 1.0u of insulin and he is eating now. Good appetite, as usual.

He has scratched the right side of his face very badly again, it's bleeding. I think Rocky's BG went too low again overnight and then started to climb back up.

I'm sorry I couldn't get his Nadir but I was just too tired to stay up.

I will get his +4 reading next and not the +2.

A friend and I are suppose to drive to another city today to pick up a table and a chair. I probably won't be able to re-test Rocky this afternoon, but will get his PMPS.
 
Re: 1/14 Rock AMPS 319

Good morning to you too :-D I'm sorry that Rock is scratching badly still :sad: I hope he slides down for you today, and feels better. Have a nice Tuesday! :-D

We usually link to the previous days post in the condo, so here is the link to yesterdays post :-D : Rock 1/13
 
Re: 1/14 Rock AMPS 319

It looks like Rocky is giving you a break today. Just be sure to get an out the door test before you leave and another when you get back. The more data you get the better you will understand his cycles.

:-D :-D :-D Good, you're getting the hang of filling in the SS. It really helps to be able to look at the SS to get a bigger picture of what is going on. I'm sending those supplies out to you today.
 
Re: 1/14 Rock AMPS 319 itchy and scratching

Good morning Rachael and Ann!

I will get a +2 reading for Rocky after all. I was going to try to catch 2 more hours of sleep but I decided to do a few more things around the house and now I am up for the day.

Hey, I wanted to tell you that I have some data on Rocky from when he was very first admitted into the hospital with DKA. He went DKA at 351mg on December 11 and then I guess without insulin he cycled down to 188... and then I think he skyrocketed when I transferred to a different hospital. I was afraid to let the vets start Rocky on insulin because I strongly believe that another hospital killed my pancreatic cat by giving her insulin when Jomo tested negative for diabetes.

I did not authorize insulin for Rocky until I transferred him to VCA Bradshaw hospital the next day. I think his numbers were very high with their BG machine. Maybe to 500 but I cannot remember. I gave them my Relion Micro and ask them to give me my numbers and their numbers they entire time that he was there-- which was over 7 days.

Anyway, I can get ahold of those numbers too. I don't know if they would be helpful as I think they were using a short-acting insulin on him for a long time, and when they did switch him to the Lantus I remember his BG went too low.
 
Re: 1/14 Rocky AMPS 319 +2 307 +4 196

Hi,

Rocky's +2 was 307 now the +4 is 196. He had the 1.u Lantus this morning.

Is it normal for a cat to drop 111 points in 2 hrs?

Is this maybe just a part of the "every cat is different" truth?

My plans have changed so because of a scheduling snafu so I will be home all day here with Rocky now. I will recheck Rocky at +6.

Thank you!
 
Re: 1/14 Rocky AMPS 319 +2 307 +4 196

Hi Tina Marie,

I don't think it is unusual. The onset of the insulin may have taken place at + 2 or + 3. 196 is a safe number. I think checking at +6 would be a good idea.

He will probably come down some more. My cat went from about 300 to 130 last night.
 
Re: Is it normal for a cat to FALL 111 points in 2 hrs?

Well..... Take a look at Gabby's SS and then ask that question! I've had her drop from 219 to 70 in 2 hours to say nothing of the day where her AMPS was in the 400s, nadir was in the 40s, and her PMPS was back in the 400s. She's not considered a diving dive for no reason!!

If you start looking at other kitties' spreadsheets, you'll see all sorts of patterns. Some kitties dive; some don't.
 
Re: 1/14 Rocky AMPS 319 +2 307 +4 196 +6 151

Thank you all for sharing your kitty's charts with me to see the drops. Now I know that this is kinda normal, for some cats.

Rocky's +6 is 151. Last night I was instructed by the experts to wait for advice and to not feed, and not to shot at 150mg or lower, if I got that BG reading at PMPS.

I wonder where Rocky's BG will go from here at +8 today.. up or down. :roll:
 
Re: 1/14 Rocky AMPS 319 +2 307 +4 196 +6 151 +8 106

At +8 Rocky is at 106mg. His BG has been going lower since his AMPS this morning.

If he gets into the 40-99 range at his PMPS, do you want me to feed him and to give him a shot of 1.0 unit?

I will check back here in 2 hours to see if there is any comment about his continued coming down. Thanks!
 
Re: 1/14 Rocky AMPS 319 +2 307 +4 196 +6 151 +8 106

You could give him just a little snack now....before +10 and see what it does. Not much and pretty low carb. He's clearing a bounce.

When someone is shooting a low number for the first time, one of us stays with you even if it is all night. I'm not sure if one of us is available tonight. Julie and I both work tomorrow so I'll be in bed by 10. Since Rocky likes to drop at night, we need to see here he is but I bet he isn't going to be above 150. You have some data but not a lot for shooting lower.

There are some options just to think about when you get that first low PS (pre shot) number:

1. if you can be off your normal shot time, you can stall without feeding and check every 20 minutes to see if he will come up. When he comes up, you can shoot the rise. We make up time in slowly in increments as described in Getting Back on Schedule. Sometimes, stalling doesn't work and they just keep dropping and you have to skip. I'm not a big fan of stalling except possibly the first time you get a lower number or if a caregiver (CG) gets a BG below 50 at +12. Then you have to stall or skip.

2. Shooting a one-time reduced dose. Possible but because of the depot, you could still see an active cycle and the effect might not come until the next cycle.

3. Skip.

Eventually, we help you learn to shoot lower and lower numbers on time with the full dose. But for tonight, I'm thinking you will either need to do 1 or 3 above.
 
Re: 1/14 ROCKY +4 196 +6 151 +8 106 +10 107

So, Rockys BG went up 1 point in the past two hours ago.

I really don't know what to do now. I fed him a tiny (1) tsp snack of sardine after the poke.

Do you want me to feed him a little before the PMPS is taken?

He seems a little lethargic to me. Not so active or alert right now.

I took his blood at about 6:15PM. Normally I would have taken it at 6PM.
 
Re: 1/14 Rocky +2 307 +4 196 +6 151 +8 106 +10.15 107

No please do not feed him. Let's see what he is at +11.75 ok?

See why I wanted you to reduce his dose to 1u? This could be depot but we wouldn't want to take a chance.
 
Re: 1/14 Rocky +4 196 +6 151 +8 106 +10 107

Hi Tina
We dont feed from +10 until pre shot (no food 2 hours before shot). The reason is because the food spikes their bg number and you want to know his real (not food influenced) number :smile:
 
Re: 1/14 Rocky +4 196 +6 151 +8 106 +10 107

Hi Marje,

OK, I will re-test Rocky at 11.75. You'll let me know if I should feed him his dinner or not, based on his 11.75 reading? Thanks!
 
Re: 1/14 Rocky +4 196 +6 151 +8 106 +10 107

Hi Kim,

A big OOPS then. :oops:

I did give him that small sardine snack after his ear pokey pokey just now. It was about (1)tsp of fish. I believe sardines packed in spring water has zero carbs.
 
Re: 1/14 Rocky +4 196 +6 151 +8 106 +10 107

it's fine, tina. it's early enough and a small enough amount that it won't influence his BGs in any significant way.

no worries!
 
Re: 1/14 Rocky +4 196 +6 151 +8 106 +10 107

I just went in to pet Rocky and say hello, maybe get a feel for how he is feeling. The fur on his spine is sticking up a little which tells me he is either having some kind of pain or stomach upset. The other thing is that after I pet him he started shaking his paws both front and back, as if he was trying to shake something off of them, only, there is nothing on them.

I can't ask Rocky, but I think he might be experiencing some numbness or tingling in he extremities. He is going to be upset if he doesn't get to eat.
 
Re: 1/14 Rocky +4 196 +6 151 +8 106 +10 107

you usually feed him at 8 when you shoot, right? at this point, we don't know that you'll need to delay, but even if you do we're talking about minutes not hours.

just don't feed him from now til you recheck at +11.75 so we can see what he is without it being food influenced.
 
Re: 1/14 Rocky's +11.75 91mg

He went down, 107 to 91.

Rocky is actually very happy and active. flip_cat I was reading him all wrong. Tail in air and ready to eat! I had just woken him from a deep sleep in a dark room at the +10 poke.

However he was shaking his paws.
 
Re: 1/14 Rocky's +11.75 91mg

ok - none of us regulars would be able to stay up with you tonight. i think the consensus is to encourage you to skip his shot tonight. with you not having enough sleep and not being sure someone could stay with you, it's probably best.

what do you think about it?
 
Re: 1/14 Rocky's +11.75 91mg

To me it seems Rocky body has always reacted swiftly to the Lantus, so skipping a dose is probably better otherwise I would probably be up all night trying to raise his BG.

He may be way up in the morning from not having any insulin all night long, but I think it should be OK. I'm only a little scared, but more afraid of him going to low.

Can I go ahead and feed him now?
 
Re: 1/14 Rocky's +11.75 91mg

I agree with Julie. I would skip. Otherwise, you'll be up all night dealing with low numbers on your own.
 
Re: 1/14 Rocky's +11.75 91mg

yes, go ahead and feed him. i'd still check him in another hour to make sure he's bottomed out and not dropping further.

then in the morning, stay at the 1.0u dose. you can shoot early if you want to, but then your evening shot would be 12 hrs later.

he'll get back on track quickly. it won't hurt anything and you probably need the sleep.
 
Re: 1/14 Rocky's +11.75 91mg

Julie and Marje,

What do you suggest if that even after I feed him, Rocky continues to drop? Should I slows give him the carbs/gravies again?

Now, if he goes up to 400s by +16 because he hasn't received his evening insulin shot, what should I do? What if it keeps going up?

If he continues to drop after eating and no shot, and then I have to give him carbs and he goes way up, what should I do?

Going to feed him right now.

Thank you!
 
Re: 1/14 Rocky's +11.75 91mg

he probably won't do either of those scenarios. his BG changes from +8 to now are basically flat (106, 107, 91) so he's likely to be at the bottom of the cycle and probably will rise. if he does go low, ie, below 50, you would give him a little bit of carbs, just like you've done the last couple of times.

if he goes high in a few hours, you have the choice of shooting then - knowing that you have to continue with 12 hr cycles, so if you shoot at midnight then you're committed to noon tomorrow and midnight tomorrow night, etc. you can move him back a little per cycle - like 1/2hr or so per cycle.

If he goes high immediately, like he's 200 in an hour, you could shoot then and not be very off-schedule. Just know that Marje is only good for another hour, me for less than 3 hrs and Wendy for 4ish hours. We're the usual volunteers who are on the west coast and on most evenings. there might be someone else on and most everyone can help with low numbers, but we don't know for sure that someone would be on.

Or you can just skip this one and not worry about it. he might go high, but if he does, he'll come down. That's what i would do.

but it's your choice. just want you to know the options.
 
Re: 1/14 Rocky's +11.75 91mg

OK, I have decided to skip the dose. He's eaten it all now.

I will re-test him in one hour and ONLY if he is at 200 or above, I will give him the 1.0 u shot at that time. I know it means I will need to re-arrange his shot time.

If he stays low but then at my midnight, (+16 on the SS because I skipped the dose, right?), he is at 400, I will want to give him the 1.0 u. I just don't want him to suffer those highs. However, if he goes high after 2AM I will not know it because I'll be in bed by then.
 
Re: 1/14 Rocky's +11.75 91mg

Did you see that Sandy posted she will be around? She can help you if you want to shoot in an hour but don't feed him a lot of food. You don't want to shoot a food spike.
 
Re: 1/14 Rocky's +11.75 91mg

I just saw these two post. HI SANDY! Thank you!

I already fed him his full evening dinner so I won't shoot at 200s, if he goes there in one hour. I know I will be awake and up at least until midnight (that is my pattern :oops:), so if Rocky was in the 400s then I would probably want to shot.

My timing on his tests is a little off tonight, so one hour after he's dinner is in about 1/2 hr from now.

Sandy he just ate 3/4 can of Instinct Venison with 2 tbs of water added to it. I have added water to my kitties food, even the canned foods, since about 2006.
 
Re: 1/14 Rocky's +11.75 91mg

Happy to help :cool:

So you shoot at 8a & 8p , and you are in the western time zone?

I'd like to hear about the DKA episode last month.
 
Re: 1/14 Rocky's +11.75 91mg

Tina

He should not get a food spike of 100 mg/dL from NV venison which is zero carbs.

I'd test in an hour and if he's at 200, IMHO, I'd shoot 1u and get a +1 and +2. Sandy can weigh in as well.

Off to bed! Good night.
 
Re: 1/14 Rocky's +11.75 91 +13.15 106

Hi Marje, Sandy, and Julie,

Rocky didn't get a food spike one hour after he ate his dinner without having his PM insulin. He is only at 106. So I'm not going to give him a shot right now.

Thank you for staying up with me Sandy! :YMHUG: You must be exhausted. What time is it now out there on the East Coast?

I am thinking about not testing Rocky again until +15. Do you think that would be OK? That is one hour and a half from now.
 
Re: 1/14 Rocky's +11.75 91 +13.15 106

TinaMarie8 said:
I am thinking about not testing Rocky again until +15. Do you think that would be OK? That is one hour and a half from now.

I went through periods with BK when I did a lot of stalling and the rule of thumb was once you reach +14 (a 2 hour stall) best to skip.
Your schedule gets so very messed up if you stall longer.

It's important to establish consistency - Lantus likes consistency. :cool:

I recommend you skip this shot, however a test at +15 would be great information to add to the ss. Then get some rest.

You can test him at +22 and shoot then, as long as you can give the PM shot 12 hours later.
If you do so, to get back to your desired schedule you can either:

  • 1-delay the AM shots only, on 01/16, 01/17, 01/18 and 01/19 by 1/2 hour
OR
  • 2-delay both AM and PM shots by 15 minutes beginning on 01/16/AM until you get back to your desired shot time

What do you think?
(BTW - I am a very slow typer - apologies :oops: )
 
Re: 1/14 Rocky's +11.75 91 +13.15 106

I think probably better to skip the dose all together for tonight then since we are already at +14. My life is already crazy enough as it is without trying to work in a new routine.

I will retest at +15, that's 11PM my time, and post it.

I would like to write about Rocky and his DKA episode. I see a lot of people use Google Docs but I've been so overwhelmed and tired since this past Friday that I haven't done it yet. I see that there is kind of a format for doing it? Certain types of information categories are provide to do it? Do you know anything about this?
 
Re: 1/14 Rocky's +11.75 91 +13.15 106

almost everyone has a profile in their signature line. you can open a couple of them and see what info is covered and then do one. some people have a template but i looked the other day for someone else and couldn't find one. i just put the data into a google doc. it works. it's just helpful to have the info available.
 
Re: 1/14 Rocky's +11.75 91 +13.15 106

Thank you Julie, that's the word I was looking for too,, "template." When I'm feeling a little more bright-eye and bushy tailed I can write a little or a lot about Rocky and his journey.

As it is right now, my eyes actually sting, burn, and water from not getting enough sleep. :-|
 
Re: 1/14 Rocky's +11.75 91 +13.15 106

:!: Being that the DKA episode was only a month ago, you must be vigilant about testing for ketones.
Please check Rocky a minimum of once per day.
 
Re: 1/14 Rocky +11.75 91 +13.15 106 +15 204

Looks like we are on the ride back up now. At +15 204. I wonder how high he will go tonight. :sad:

I didn't know I should check for keytones every day for him. I took him to the vet the evening that his BG was in 400s all day and had them test for keytones and he was negative.

My nose is not very good. I take allergy medicines. Constantly having sinus issues.
 
Re: 1/14 Rocky +13.15 106 +15 204 +16 344

I was afraid of this outcome.

No insulin shot tonight for Rocky and now at +16 he's 344.. It's midnight. Rocky gets his insulin shots 2x a day at 8AM and 8PM. He has to wait 8 hours until his next shot.
 
Re: 1/14 Rocky +11.75 91 +13.15 106 +15 204

You will have to stalk him at the litter box. The urine must be fresh. If it sits the ketones will evaporate .
BK didn't mind me stalking him. I learned to move really fast and dip the ketostix into the urine that pooled on the litter before it soaked in.

Without knowing the details, just based on his recent episode being one short month ago; I believe he is at greater risk.
 
Re: 1/14 Rocky +13.15 106 +15 204 +16 344

TinaMarie8 said:
It's midnight. Rocky gets his insulin shots 2x a day at 8AM and 8PM. He has to wait 8 hours until his next shot.
You don't have to wait 8 hours.

If you have the flexibility you can test him at +22 and shoot then, as long as you can give the PM shot 12 hours later.
If you do so, to get back to your desired schedule you can either:

1-delay the AM shots only, on 01/16, 01/17, 01/18 and 01/19 by 1/2 hour
OR
2-delay both AM and PM shots by 15 minutes beginning on 01/16/AM until you get back to your desired shot time

Alternatively you can back up one hour and shoot at +23.

In the mean time, think of tonight as being a 'fur shot' cycle. Fur shots happen.

I'm going to call it a night - you should as well.


Get some rest. I-)
 
Re: 1/14 Rocky +13 106 +15 204 +16 344

Rocky lives in my unfinished guest bathroom for now. There is no way to stalk him when he pees as I never see him pee.

He is totally tame and was a recent rescue from a T-N-R. He was suppose to go up for adoption but then this happened while being fostered at a friends house who fed him Venti sized cups of Meow Mix kibble for many months, as much as he would eat. And Rocky was a big eater. He is still a good eater. I haven't had time to write up a profile about Rocky as I have 30 other cats that need care and he has been an emergency case for me, zapping up all of my time and energy. In fact, the others have even been neglected some.

Rocky presented with a terrible ear infection at the hospital and it is my believe that it is this ear infection (of both ears), plus the undiagnosed and not treated diabetes that triggered the DKA. I don't believe he has any infections right now. The vets wanted me to put him on Clavamox to prevent an infection of his skin because he has been scratching himself so badly that he has big, bloody, patches of skin on his face, throat, and feet. I don't believe in giving antibiotics to prevent an infection. They should only be used during an active infection.

Rocky was treated with Revolution at the hospital so fleas are not the problem. If anything, I think he might have an allergy to the Revolution.

I am worried about the ketones though. The plastic wrap on the box is the best I can do.
 
Re: 1/14 Rocky +15 204 +16 344 +19.75 401

Up to feed the rest of the kitty crew. If everyone makes a kitty pile on my bed then I'm forced to get up and feed them their breakfast. Thought I would take Rocky's BG too.

He's 401 at nearly +20. (that would be 4AM my time)

I'm back to bed for another nearly 4 hours. Up again at +23.45 for Rocky's AMPS.

Will I still be giving him 1.0 u this morning?

Thanks. I-)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top