1/14 Midas AMPS 431 +6 360 PMPS 550

colin72

Member Since 2014
Hi all

Really need some help on Midas' numbers and dose. He went up to 3 units on 1/3 but we haven't seen much improvement. I was trying to be patient but his numbers are not coming down.

Thanks in advance!
 
Hi Colin,

It looks like Midas needs more insulin. If you are feeding a low carb wet diet and can get at least 4 tests a day (2 pre-shots and 2 mid-cycle), would you be okay to try a more aggressive protocol like TR? That would mean faster increases and you can get Midas into better numbers faster.

Even for SLGS, you are holding doses too long. You want to evaluate the dose every week and increase if needed. When you hold doses too long and the cat stays in higher numbers, there is a chance of glucose toxicity setting in. Glucose Toxicity sounds a lot worse than it is. It's basically a temporary form of insulin resistance. The cat's body gets used to higher numbers and treats them as normal. It then requires much more insulin to break through to lower numbers.

Could you please add what you are feeding and AlpaTrak2 to your signature? Thanks!

Link to your previous post:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-pet-meter-numbers-for-glarine-nadirs.257443/
 
I am feeding a low carb wet food. I read about TR. I could do it if it had to be done but it does not seem easy.

Considering where Midas' numbers are now, what should I increase the dose to? Can I go to up to 3.5 or 4??
 
You could follow TR till you get him to better numbers and then switch to SLGS once you start seeing lower numbers if you think you cannot follow TR.

What aspect of TR do you find challenging?

With nadirs largely over 300, I would suggest you go up to 3.5U. If you follow TR, you would revaluate the dose again in 3 days after the increase.
 
Back
Top