1/14 Maverick PMPS 91 food experiment/squirrel pics

Status
Not open for further replies.

Karrie and Maverick

Member Since 2010
Yesterday http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=34276

Sooo did not expect this AMPS. What does it mean?

Picked up food at +9. But he would only eat a small bite or two. Just could not be tempted at +9. But boy +10 rolled around and he was complaining. Locked him out of the bedroom and he pawed and pawed and pawed. Had to sleep the remaining our on the short loveseat in the living room. Fed him Ocean Whitefish this morning and he was at his foodbowl for quite a long time. I hope he keeps the food down.

So what do these numbers mean? Why would withholding food (and him eating a bit less than he would have picking food up at +10 instead) have such an impact? Stressed not having food? LOL.
 
Re: 1/14 Maverick AMPS 127= FAIL (+9 was 90)

Don't have any great answer for ya Karrie....other than Maverick is a cat with lots of surprises up his sleeve to drive his bean crazy. :mrgreen:

I've finally stopped looking at Curry's daily numbers so much and focusing more on a weekly set of numbers to see if there is a trend. Easier said than done....she still drives me crazy with weird numbers every now and then. And I ask.....what happend???? Hang in there...Maverick is doing so well....
 
Re: 1/14 Maverick AMPS 127= FAIL (+9 was 90)

Wow, wish I knew, but pretty green numbers in your ss - Mannie baby is full of surprises! Let's see what he has up his sleeve the rest of the day.
 
Re: 1/14 Maverick AMPS 127= FAIL (+9 was 90)

Maybe the issue is the way Maverick metabolizes food. Some people are fast or slow metabolizers. I'm not convinced this is the case and it would probably take monitoring every hour for the first and last couple of hours of the cycle to tell. It may also be that it's just taking a while for Maverick's system to adjust to the change in feeding. This does happen with some cats.
 
Re: 1/14 Maverick AMPS 127= FAIL (+9 was 90)

Hi Karrie,
It might mean that Maverick is a cat!!! He didn't like his eating schedule being messed with, apparently! Or it could be any number of factors. The important thing to remember is that the 127 is just one number. See what the rest of the day brings.

Ella & Rusty

p.s. Rusty "beat" you by 2 points: 129. We started a new cartridge this morning. Rusty also eats the remainder of his nighttime food as soon as he gets up (or maybe earlier; I am asleep!). I figure that with Rusty, AMPS almost always is food influenced (not being diligent like you and taking up his bowl at +10). Will Maverick use an auto feeder? Ann (Tess) uses the 5-compartment, rotary-type feeder and sets it so that an empty compartment rotates into the opening at +10. That way, any food that was left in the previous compartment is whisked away under the cover and there is nothing more to eat until after you get up, give his test and shot, and feed him! (You could set the previous compartment to open at +9 so that his snack would be available for an hour, until +10.)
 
Re: 1/14 Maverick AMPS 127= FAIL (+9 was 90)

LOL I think it is that Maverick is a cat :lol:

He won't use an automatic feeder. He's not a cat that I can ration food and depend on him to eat. He's managing to eat enough to maintain 15.4 lbs. This is his lowest weight while healthy and not ill. I wish he was a cat that I had to hold back from eating too much.

Sienne, can you think of a way for me to easily tell how his metabolism works? The +1 +2 +3 even though he eats most of his daytime food prior to +3 - it is influenced by the shot. His nadir seems to be +3 to +4. I can pick up food from say +3 to +6 and try and get him to eat something sufficient at +6. But he only eats .5oz or so at a visit. He seems hungry at +10 +11.

Withholding food before preshots is increasing his meal right after the shot - he's eating more than he normally would at this sitting. Sometimes triple.
 
Re: 1/14 Maverick AMPS 127= FAIL (+9 was 90)

I've got nothing to add but a good morning! I hope you are able to figure out Mav's food issues soon, and I hope he enjoys a nice green surf today!

Christie and Willie
 
Re: 1/14 Maverick AMPS 127= FAIL (+9 was 90)

i don't have much to contribute either...except that 127 is still in the healing range...that's what i tend to focus on with binkster.

come back to green, Mav!
 
Re: 1/14 Maverick AMPS 127= FAIL (+9 was 90)

WOW - can't add anything either that hasn't already been said. But the 127 is nice, and in range. Have a good cycle this morning Maverick - the greens await you.
 
Re: 1/14 Maverick +9 90 AMPS 127 +3.25 64

I'm not worried about his numbers at all just trying to understand why his numbers behave the way they do and following instructions to see how Maverick's pancreas is handling food.

He ate 1.5 oz right after AMPS. I went to test him at +3 and had a problem with the microwave...more on that below. Then I found him eating when I went to test him so I let him eat. By +3.25 he has eaten a total of 2.5oz of special kitty ocean whitefish and tuna. I tested him immediately after he ate. Came in at 64. I think this is the biggest drop in a long time.
 
Re: 1/14 Maverick +9 90 AMPS 127 +3 64

Oh the microwave. I have to go buy a new one today :evil:

I am having trouble getting Maverick's ear to bleed and they are looking sooooo red all along the edges when I put the light up to his ears.

So I decided to make up a fresh rice sock - we haven't used one in a bit. Started the microwave for 25 seconds and was walking away. Zap ZAP ZAPPPPP. I thought it was going to blow up. So I'm thinking is their metal in the sock? Lead paint in the logo? So I get another sock which has no logos and fairly worn. Same thing! Paints peeling off the top of the inside of the freaking microwave. My microwaves toast! It worked fine for popcorn last night and to warm up my coffee this morning. ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile

And for the first time I left his insulin on the counter for 3 hours this morning.
 
Re: 1/14 Maverick +9 90 AMPS 127 +3 64

no answers on the numbers game, it's all so perplexing.
Hope Maverick's ears heal up nicely.

Have a wonderful Friday
 
Re: 1/14 Maverick +9 90 AMPS 127 +3 64

Hi guys .. no answer here on numbers .. just wanted to say they are still looking good in my books .. sorry to hear about your microwave .. hope you find a new one soon .. have a great weekend!
 
Re: 1/14 Maverick Question for Libby

Thanks guys. Bumping up.

EDITED.

Libby our spreadsheet is completely updated for today but I was away for a bit. It shows when he was fed and how much he ate at the feeding, what he ate and what his readings were all the way through PMPS. I'd love some advice based on today, what you think it means for Maverick.

On another note, I'll post this pic again tomorrow along with some others. I used to be a foster for a wildlife sanctuary hand rearing orphaned small animals - raccoons, squirrels (black and reds) and groundhogs. I have a ton of pics. A small handful were released here (squirrels). I've known some amazing animals and their will to survive and seeing instincts in action is absolutely amazing.

GreyGirl was our very first baby squirrel and release. Here she is - she visits us often for peanuts. She is wild for the most part we can't touch her. But she hangs on the screen door to make her presence known. She picked this up about a year after she was released.

Greygirldoor-1.jpg
 
Aww, GreyGirl is a cutie! How cool that she comes back to visit you. My cats would pay to have a squirrel hanging on their door like that!
 
I must be a wildlife helper too as we have 5 feeders, and have all sorts of birds, squirrels, possums, racoons, and other animals that come to visit us..
Been doing this for years & have many families nest & live in our trees & under our deck... Remember they were here first--then we came..Love them all!(not hawks so much)
great pm number for Maverick!!!!!!! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
Great squirrel pics, Karrie! Our Alice (GA) had a squirrel friend who visited her every day and they played (this was when we had a house in Brooklyn).

Sorry that Maverick's ears are sore. Rusty hated the rice sock, so I follow Celi's suggestion and use a small, baby washcloth. I dampen the washcloth and heat it in the microwave for about 17 seconds. Then put it in a plastic bag and fold it gently around Rusty's ear. It is smoother and less "crunchy" than the rice sock and I think it is soothing, also. After the last test of the day I put a little Neosporin creme (not ointment) with pain relief on his ear. I think it helps.

Maverick came down nicely from his 127!!

Ella & Rusty
 
I feed black oil also. Its good for them. Suet also when I remember to put it out. I wish I lived in the country and could just sit in a screened in gazebo in the woods and drink a coffee and wait for real wildlife.

I love seeing the parents bringing their babies around. Cool that you have that in your back yard lol.

Did Alice really play with the squirrel or the squirrel teased her from outside?

I posted this in your condo Roni... http://www.foxnews.com/scitech/2011/01/12/cross-eyed-opossum-star-germany/?test=faces This video made my week :-D
 
awesome pictures!

I would probably give Maverick another couple of cycles on this dose and feeding schedule to see where he goes. It's hard to look at one cycle in isolation and determine much from it.
 
Ok I'll leave it as is, but I have to save his ears so I'll only be doing nadir check and preshot readings. I've coated his ears the last couple days in polysporin ointment. Thanks :)
 
Love the pics - we get alot of squirrels here too. Mannie just sits and watches. He's even let them in the house.... aiyee! some watch cat he is.

Nice pmps for maverick. I hope he has a great cycle tonight. :-D
 
Karrie: great squirrel pics!!!! I have to laugh...and I'm sorry....but I would be so happy to consistently get the numbers you do. I know that we are different places
in this dance and you want to see more consistent greens but you're doing great. And I hope you're feeling well.
 
I love the squirrel pics Karrie, priceless! Maggie's one ear that I prick is also sore. She flinches lately, so I'm trying the other ear, but it's not cooperating.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top