Mandarin'sMom
Member Since 2014
Yesterday's condos
Mandarin is continuing to do things his own way. He managed to drop below 50 again last night - despite the fact that he is only on 0.1 units. I have gone through quite a few syringes making sure that the 0.1 Us is consistent and I am pretty confident that I am just giving him one good sized drop. I had a hard time getting him to come up at all last night - despite lots of gravy and honey. So I ended up skipping his shot this morning.
I reread the information about reductions and OTJ trials and here's the wording:
Obviously, Mandarin isn't even close to that since he still has too much blue on his ss. But, at the same time, I am nervous about giving him any juice with him dropping that low on a regular basis. So where do I go from here? Should I just see what happens if I don't give him any Insulin for a few days? Worst case scenario, I can start him back up.
Walter's AMPS is most definitely influenced by the yummy HC food that his brother so generously shared with him. So he didn't get a dosecrease - I want to see what he can do with this dose without all the extra carbs.
Mandarin is continuing to do things his own way. He managed to drop below 50 again last night - despite the fact that he is only on 0.1 units. I have gone through quite a few syringes making sure that the 0.1 Us is consistent and I am pretty confident that I am just giving him one good sized drop. I had a hard time getting him to come up at all last night - despite lots of gravy and honey. So I ended up skipping his shot this morning.
I reread the information about reductions and OTJ trials and here's the wording:
OTJ TRIALS:
Prior to starting an OTJ trial, one wants to see kitty mostly in the range of a healthy cat (50 - 80 mg/dL), but under 100 overall... with only occasional readings in the 100 - 120 range.
Remission is achieved when kitty can go 14 days without insulin while maintaining normal blood glucose values under 100 overall. Most will stay in the 50 - 80mg/dL range. Although, some will occasionally experience BG numbers up to 120 mg/dL.
Obviously, Mandarin isn't even close to that since he still has too much blue on his ss. But, at the same time, I am nervous about giving him any juice with him dropping that low on a regular basis. So where do I go from here? Should I just see what happens if I don't give him any Insulin for a few days? Worst case scenario, I can start him back up.
Walter's AMPS is most definitely influenced by the yummy HC food that his brother so generously shared with him. So he didn't get a dosecrease - I want to see what he can do with this dose without all the extra carbs.





My water heater started leaking (or, really, it started spewing water all over the place). Luckily, it's in an unfinished basement, but this is not something I want to spend money on right now. At all. Since I definitely can't afford the added weekend rate for the plumber, I just turned everything off for now.
