1/14 Mandarin AMBG 60, PMPS 130, +3 62 / Walter AMPS 296, PMPS 232, +3 182

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mandarin'sMom

Member Since 2014
Yesterday's condos

Mandarin is continuing to do things his own way. He managed to drop below 50 again last night - despite the fact that he is only on 0.1 units. I have gone through quite a few syringes making sure that the 0.1 Us is consistent and I am pretty confident that I am just giving him one good sized drop. I had a hard time getting him to come up at all last night - despite lots of gravy and honey. So I ended up skipping his shot this morning.

I reread the information about reductions and OTJ trials and here's the wording:

OTJ TRIALS:

Prior to starting an OTJ trial, one wants to see kitty mostly in the range of a healthy cat (50 - 80 mg/dL), but under 100 overall... with only occasional readings in the 100 - 120 range.

Remission is achieved when kitty can go 14 days without insulin while maintaining normal blood glucose values under 100 overall. Most will stay in the 50 - 80mg/dL range. Although, some will occasionally experience BG numbers up to 120 mg/dL.

Obviously, Mandarin isn't even close to that since he still has too much blue on his ss. But, at the same time, I am nervous about giving him any juice with him dropping that low on a regular basis. So where do I go from here? Should I just see what happens if I don't give him any Insulin for a few days? Worst case scenario, I can start him back up.

Walter's AMPS is most definitely influenced by the yummy HC food that his brother so generously shared with him. So he didn't get a dosecrease - I want to see what he can do with this dose without all the extra carbs.
 
Maybe try "some" insulin by depressing the plunger, inserting it into the insulin, releasing the plunger. It sucks up the tiniest amount of juice...I think it's about half a drop.
 
Maybe try "some" insulin by depressing the plunger, inserting it into the insulin, releasing the plunger. It sucks up the tiniest amount of juice...I think it's about half a drop.
That's an idea too.... I have to experiment with that a bit. Good thing I just got my ADW order yesterday and have plenty of strips and syringes.

So glad Lenny is into water therapy! Would love to see a photo. :)
And here are two pictures of Lenny enjoying his water therapy. :kiss:
Lenny water therapy 1.JPG Lenny water therapy 3.JPG
 
I see mostly green for Mandarin Christina. Because he came back down last night and you had a hard time either try a drop or the trial. Something seriously changed in that boy! He came out of remission quickly and think he can go back into remission just as fast like he's showing you. Those few high blue PMPS shots have resulted in some serious diving so for me it's a clue...mama I'm done, but that's me.
 
Some cats have their own unique way of getting to an OTJ trial. Like Karen, I see mostly green on Mandarin's SS. I think it's time to start a trial.

Love the pictures of Lenny.
 
If you do the suck up method, it is literally a drop. When I was giving it to Bubba, I made sure that while giving the injection , as I pulled it out of his skin, I continued to hold the plunger in to make sure he got the drop otherwise it might suck back into the syringe.

Good luck if you decide to try the trail. I can understand you being nervous since he was hard to bring back up last night.
 
So far so good. Mandarin is staying on the surfboard without any juice... If he's still green by tonight, I might start an OTJ trial. :nailbiting:

....meanwhile, Walter seems to be on his way to a doscrease. :(

Since I had some extra time today, I took one of our shelter dogs on a long hike. Ruger is a young active dog who just came off of a 10-day-quarantine where he wan't allowed to leave the shelter. So he was bursting with energy and loved his special outing.
 
Not the answer I was hoping for, but at least Mandarin's second half of the cycle made it pretty clear that he is not quite ready for an OTJ trial. :( So we are trying the "1 drop" (i.e. the depress, insert, release plunger method).

Since Walter dropped late in the cycle, he once again got himself out of a doscrease.

...and I don't have warm water. :arghh: My water heater started leaking (or, really, it started spewing water all over the place). Luckily, it's in an unfinished basement, but this is not something I want to spend money on right now. At all. Since I definitely can't afford the added weekend rate for the plumber, I just turned everything off for now.
 
Good idea. We had the same thing happen to ours a couple of years ago. Wasn't cheap. You can always heat water or go to the gym at uni.
 
Seriously, Mandarin?!? Could you make up your mind? There's no in between dosage left - it's either nothing or one tiny drop. :confused:

I feel like I am losing my mind...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top