1/14 Logan AMPS 348, PMPS 378

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kelly & Logan

Member Since 2009
Yesterday:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=2432

Logan was pretty restless last night, but he seems to be feeling pretty well. He was purring! He was a very good boy about his tube cleaning last night. A couple areas were still sensitive, but I think he's healing nicely. He ate about 3/8 can of FF last night before his last tube feeding. This morning, he ate a little over 1/4 can of FF. He ate lots of salmon treats and then had some baby food with his shot. He loves his room! He didn't even come downstairs this morning. I left him snuggled up in his kitty bed.
 
Re: 1/14 Logan AMPS 348

Good Morning
Sounds like a nice start to the day. I am
so glad Logan wants to eat on his own.
The healing process will continue and now that you
have the results, your stress will come down and Logan
will feel those good vibes from you.
 
Re: 1/14 Logan AMPS 348

That's such great news about Logan's diagnosis! It's really good that you were aggressive now and can get going on treating his IBD while it's still localized. That'll likely help you avoid lymphoma in the future. Some suggest that IBD gone really bad mutates into lymphoma.

Best wishes for his recovery!
 
Re: 1/14 Logan AMPS 348

I'll be interested in hearing about your IBD treatment plans. I think the one thing I would change if I had the whole IBD journey to do over again would be to really put effort into a raw, homemade diet. The second thing would be to do more with Budesonide, and to hold off as long as possible with the hard hitting steroids. The third would be to be more creative with fluids, supplements, and appetite stimulants to control symptoms and flares. It's too late for Bear, but you have a huge education base here to get you started on the right foot.
 
Logan ate the FF left out this morning (about 1/8 can) and this afternoon (1/4 can) along with 1/3 FF appetizer this afternoon while we were gone. Tonight, he ate about 1/8 of a can. He also purred quite a bit...until Morgan came into his room and used his litter box! He had the nerve to poo in it and then put on his zippy pants before covering it up! Logan did not approve of this behavior. He's a firm believer in covering up - zippy pants or no zippy pants. :lol:


ETA: Linda, what treatment plan did you guys start with? Would you advise not using prednisolone to start with? Also, what food does Bear eat. I mentioned the raw diet to the internist once before and she wasn't a big fan.
 
Regarding diet, Cassandra wrote some very good information in Boomer's condo today, which you might want to take a look at. Bear eats Fancy Feast, and some dry Evo (which I don't recommend, but he needs the calories boost to maintain his weight). I doubt that his diet is doing him any favors. In the beginning, the vet had him on some novel protein and hypo allergenic veterinary diets, which were probably not great, and which ended for me when they were implicated in the big melamine pet food recall. What they were trying to do at the time, was feed him a novel protein source that he had not yet been exposed to, like venison or rabbit. See Cassandra's post for more on that.

Bear started being treated for IBD in 2000. He started on Prednisone. We did have good results in the begining. Over the years, he would go into remissions, and have flare-ups. We did try him on Leukeran (commonly used for lymphoma but also used for IBD) but he didn't have good results, and he became inappetant. He did well on Budesonide for a while, but it eventually stopped working. Most times, he ended up back on Prednisone, and it always did seem to help. He has almost always taken Metronidazole, and has tried various appetite stimulants over the years (they were a flop). He has used both Pepcid AC and Omeprazole for stomach acid, and now also takes Ondansetron for nausea. These days he occasionally takes Bupe for pain associated with Pancreatitis, Gastritis, or IBD flareups. In 2005 he became very ill, and was re-scoped (3rd time) and biopsied, and was classed as having severe IBD with extensive scarring and fissures. At that time we changed over to an injectable steroid (Dexamethasone). It helped his IBD but led to a cascade of side effects including Diabetes, Iatrogenic Cushings, and chronic UTI's. He has several other issues now as well. At the moment his steroid is a fairly high dose of Prednisolone. He gets Dex during IBD flare-ups. The Pred is not as hard on the BG as the Dex.

This is probably way more information than you needed or wanted. I am not qualified to recommend one treatment over another. Cassandra is having good success with Budesonide. That was not available as an option to us in when we started out in 2000, or I may have been very tempted to try it. Steroids have given him his life, but also given him a long list of side effects. The argument on the side of moving aggressively early on would be to pre-empt the possibility of IBD morphing into lymphoma. In my experience, once you start them, it is very difficult to ever get off them. But if they are needed, then try to use them in as low a dose, and for as short a term as you can manage, in my inexpert opinion. Cassandra also comments on steroids in her post to Traci.

IBD is treatable, but it may be a long term juggling act. Bear has had long periods of good quality of life, and is still here, snoozing away in his basket, after a lifetime of battling the disease.
 
Kelly, Just seeing about Logan's Dx with IBD now - that's fantastic! It sounds like Logan's IBD and Sasha's are quite similar from what I have read. Sasha mostly had chronic vomiting and inappetance, with almost no large intestine/lower bowel involvement. She's been on Budesonide since September, and she is a completely different cat. No symptoms at all anymore - and this is a kitty that was vomiting almost daily despite daily use of multiple antiemetics and other various treatments. I was often syringe feeding, opening 10 cans of food per day to get her to eat something, etc.

Now that you know it is IBD and not lymphoma, the Budesonide may be a good starting point. It is starting to be used much more in the vet community now for IBD treatment. It is actually stronger than Pred, but is locally acting on the GI tract and is supposed to have fewer systemic side effects. I did notice increases in Sasha's BGs when we first started and her dose did have to be increased systematically until we were at a good working dose again, but she is now on her way back down the dosing ladder and her BGs have remained excellent. There are also very few other side effects that I have seen with her. Some mild skin changes, a significantly increased appetite (yay! :-D ), and perfectly formed stool that doesn't smell.

We love love love love love it. It gave me my kitty back. :mrgreen:

I use the tiny tab version of Budesonide from Wedgewood Pharmacy:
http://www.wedgewoodpharmacy.com/monogr ... sonide.asp

Let me know if you need any more info on food or other treatment options. I tried just about everything under the sun with Sasha before starting steroids - food trials, raw food, TCM herbs, acupuncture, enzymes, meds up the wazoo......would be happy to share any experience you may find helpful.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top