? 1/14 Kokkinoulis AMPS 403, +2 372, +5 358, +8 423 PMPS 429 dose advice?

Kokkinoulis

Member Since 2023
Previous post:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...pms-at-175-please-advise.285596/#post-3142979
@Bandit's Mom , @Marje and Gracie , @Wendy&Neko , @tiffmaxee , @Chris & China (GA), @Ale & Bobo & Minnie (GA), @Sienne and Gabby (GA)
Is Kokkinoulis bouncing today? What is your opinion?
Could you please advise when I should change the dose and by how much 0.25 or 0.5 taking into consideration the below TR guidance?
Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
 
Is Kokkinoulis bouncing today? What is your opinion?

Yes, he's probably bouncing because he dropped into blues yesterday. His body isn't used to those better numbers so the liver panics and releases stored sugars and hormones to bring him back up...he "bounces" high. It can take up to 6 cycles for a bounce to clear.

Could you please advise when I should change the dose and by how much 0.25 or 0.5 taking into consideration the below TR guidance?

You could go up to 5.25 tomorrow. He's been on 5U for 11 cycles and only got to 166. (but starting to see some blues is good news! Hopefully you're getting to a "good dose" for him!)
 
Yes, he's bouncing - that is expected.

He's been on 5 units long enough when following TR. As a cat's dose gets larger, we also change the size of the increase. Think of the increase as a percentage of the total dose size - around 10-15%. You can increase to 5.5 units tomorrow. If he was seeing greens and you just wanted to tweak the dose a bit, you could try a 0.25 unit increase, but not now.
 
Back
Top