1/14 Kim's Simon AMPS 257, PMPS 260, +2 87

Status
Not open for further replies.

kim and simon

Member Since 2012
Simon was giving me some pretty blues yesterday. Not sure what happened last night as his nadir seemed to come very early. Thought for a minute that he might be going low and I would be up late, but he rose back up sooner than later. I wonder if I gave a fur shot? I'm still trying to understand the "bounce" from the low numbers. Is that what he's doing still? I know I am lacking mid cycle from the last two days--I was in continuing ed dentistry lectures from thursday-saturday (I know you're all jealous!)

By the way, this is what a kitteh looks like after a long day of dental continuing ed:

funny-pictures-teh-toof1.jpg


Yesterday's condo:
http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=61064
 
Re: 1/14 Kim's Simon AMPS 257, +2 234, +8 241

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
that's too funny!

It can take up to 72 hours for them to clear a bounce...
sorry...i've been a little absent the last few days, so i'm a little behind on where individual kitties are in their cycles.

have fun with those classes...they sound, well....like classes :lol:

celi & binks
 
Re: 1/14 Kim's Simon AMPS 257, +2 234, +8 241 Bounce ?

Hi Kim

Yup....with the other tests taken last night, it does appear that he started a bounce. Good job with the testing!!

Celi gave you good info on how long it "can" take a bounce to clear so don't let potentially high numbers make you want to give more insulin until we know the bounce clears. It's always Soooooo tempting to give more juice when the numbers go up.....I'm still that way!! :-D

Your link isn't working to the previous day's condo. To get it to work, you just need click on the "URL" button above the text box and paste the link right smack in between. I've done that for you below so you don't have to worry about it today:

1/13 Condo

I can't remember (duh) if you were asking me how to put a picture in Simon's profile or if it was someone else but if it was you, here are the instructions:

Open your profile from your google docs page. Click on "edit", under "HOME" you will see "Insert". Click on this and then select "image". This will let you browse to the image you want and then it will automatically start to upload the image you select. When it is finished, click on "ok" and it will put the image in your profile. However, it might put it in as a large image but when it adds the image, you'll see a toolbar that says "image link" and three small boxes in the middle "S" "M" "L". Click on "S" for small, "M" for medium, or "L" for large and it will appropriately size your image. Save your edits before you close.
 
Re: 1/14 Kim's Simon AMPS 257, +2 234, +8 241 Bounce ?

This is possibly a bounce. Given what was likely a blue (with maybe some green) cycle yesterday morning, the rise into the yellows may be a bounce. You're right -- without the mid-cycle info it's hard to know. However, just a suggestion to keep an eye on Simon. Some kitties signal an upcoming active cycle by giving you a flat yellow cycle beforehand.
 
Re: 1/14 Kim's Simon AMPS 257, PMPS 260, +2 87 falling fast

All right, +2 is 87. He's at it again! Bring it on! I am watching him.
 
Re: 1/14 Kim's Simon AMPS 257, PMPS 260, +2 87 falling fast

As Sienne said, often flat yellow leads to action. Glad that you're ready!!

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 1/14 Kim's Simon AMPS 257, PMPS 260, +2 87 falling fast

I'd feed some LC to soften the drop and see if it will get Simon surfing. I'd also retest at +2.5
 
Re: 1/14 Kim's Simon AMPS 257, PMPS 260, +2 87 falling fast

I agree, get a +2.5 and keep testing. If you look at Mikey, he does the same thing...but he nadirs early and usually the drop off slows way down. Keep testing, but try to let him lead (and yes, that's easier said than done!) unless he keeps falling at a too-fast rate.
 
Re: 1/14 Kim's Simon AMPS 257, PMPS 260, +2 87 falling fast

Fed LC at +2 and now at +2.5 (more like +2.6) he is 65. Is it time to feed HC or just test again soon?
 
Re: 1/14 Kim's Simon AMPS 257, PMPS 260, +2 87 falling fast

I would give a little HC gravy to slow Simon down. I'd start with about 1/2 a teaspoon or so and test again in 20 minutes.
 
Re: 1/14 Kim's Simon AMPS 257, PMPS 260, +2 87 falling fast

Thanks; fed him a teaspoon of higher carb food; I only had a wet one with 10%, fancy feast elegant medley; tried to get mostly the gravy part and also gave him 3 kibbles of the evil dry food we still have sitting around from pre-diagnosis :) I will check in with the +3 at about 8:40 central!


http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=61076
look at dese picshures too and u will see wut ah meanz
 

Attachments

  • DSC_1519.jpg
    DSC_1519.jpg
    118.4 KB · Views: 601
Re: 1/14 Kim's Simon AMPS 257, PMPS 260, +2 87 falling fast

I am checking in kind of late. Wow, the Simster is pretty impressive this evening. And Kim, you are doing a great job with the monitoring. I usually feed Simon the elegant medleys when he starts dropping. It is mc but usually does the trick.
 
Re: 1/14 Kim's Simon AMPS 257, PMPS 260, +2 87 falling fast

wow kim, you turned into an old pro pretty fast! way to go girl! although simon looks like he's thinking of a mutiny for those clothes! :lol:

just fyi, you can always mix a little karo syrup in with the low/med carb foods, or give it on its own. depending on how simon "works" you might see longer effects from the kibble than you want. or perhaps not - i don't know. just giving you another option.

have a great evening!
 
Looks like his nadir was at +2 but could have actually been later and lower had it not been for the MC/HC bite he had at +2.5. I may be posting in the a.m. if I have questions based on what I see tomorrow morning. If anyone is still up--how low is too low to shoot for Simon based on the data we have? When would one give a reduced dose vs. plugging ahead? Funny. . .a couple of days ago I asked if I should raise his dose. This is all pretty complex. Wish I had more a.m. mid cycle tests, but such is the life of a busy mom. I am happy we are home testing because I have such a better idea of what is going on.
cat_pet_icon
Simon seems happy. He feels better and I actually think he's starting to like his tests. . .or the attention he gets after his pokes.
 
well . . . the lowest you've shot so far is 170. we usually say if you shoot a number lower than you've seen before, please get a +1 and +2 so we see where it's going. especially since simon seems to want to dive after his shots and maybe has an early nadir.

the bottom line question is will you be home to monitor and do you have strips and high carb food or karo/syrup? if so, people with experience will shoot all the way down into the 50's or 60's. usually people work up to that shooting gradually lower numbers, though.

so that's a definitive "depends on a lot of things" sort of answer!

if you are faced with a lower-than-you're-comfy-with preshot number, there are guidelines in the yellow starred sticky at the top of the forum. basically you have the choice of

1. stalling 30 minutes and seeing if the number rises enough that you feel ok shooting. don't feed if you are stalling. retest and then decide if you want to shoot or not.

2. shoot a reduced dose

3. skip the shot (in the case where you can't adjust your schedule to shoot 12 hours later if you stall, for example.) if a cat is prone to ketones or has had diabetic ketoacidosis (DKA) we don't like to have them skip. that can be dangerous. for most cats it's an ok decision - you just call it a fur shot. if it's really low and you won't be home to monitor, for example.

if you're worried, post here and ask for advice. it helps if you give people a little bit of time to look at simon's ss - so posting at +11 or +11.5 is helpful.

kinda an exciting question to have, isn't it?! :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top